The below options are designed for self-motivated students with good reading and comprehension skills. Average study time for each independent study option is approximately 10 hours and also require the successful completion of additional 6-7 hour field day.
The below online courses are done by outside vendors. This option requires a mandatory ODFW field day class.
- Students must complete online course and bring the online course completion certificate to the mandatory ODFW field day.
- Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife chose Today's Hunter in Oregon for its classroom hunting safety course.
- Students can choose to listen to lessons in Spanish as well as English.
- Students can take this course on any device, including smartphones and tablets.
- Pick your online learning style: listen, read or both!
- Exam Questions are read aloud, with pictures to trigger your memory - a Hunter-Ed.com exclusive.
- Hundreds of realistic illustrations - you'll feel like you're outdoors.
- Learn exactly how firearms work with detailed animations.
- No payment until you're ready to print your online Field Day Qualifier Exam results Internet Course Voucher.
- Cost: $24.50 - paid to Hunter-Ed.com
Go to: Hunter - Ed.com
- Covers 100% of the material you need to know for the Oregon Department of Fish & Wildlife Field Day.
- Sit back, listen, play and learn with the fully interactive and professionally narrated course.
- Includes hundreds of images and interactive animations - more than ANY other online course!
- Every single exam question is accompanied by helpful visual aids.
- Includes Bow, Shotgun, and Rifle shooting ranges!
- Pay only when you pass the course and want to print your Oregon Field Day Voucher.
- Cost: $24.95 - paid to HunterCourse.com
Go to: HunterCourse.com
- Features Easy Learning System™ that uses photos, narration that matches the printed word and interactive exercises, a proven method of learning.
- Detailed animations show you how to load firearms and how they work.
- If you don’t pass, you get your money back.
- The only course to use photos throughout so what you learn is what you see in the field.
- Same high quality ODFW required hunter safety content as the other courses at almost half the cost.
- Does not work on mobile devices.
- Cost - $13.00 – paid to HunterEdCourse.com
Go to: HunterEdCourse.com
Hunter education field day classes are taught by volunteer instructors. Class availability close to the hunting seasons may be limited.
Consider the Mentor Youth Hunter Program if you can’t finish a hunter safety class before hunting season.
Field day instruction includes a review of course topics, Oregon hunting regulations, ethics, conservation, firearm safety field exercises, a live-fire exercise and a sixty question written final exam.
- Students must study the Today’s Hunter in Oregon student manual and complete the provided 32-page workbook. Workbook will be graded by an approved instructor. The completed workbook is required for admittance to the field day.
- Must attend mandatory field day: to register or view the available field days https://or.outdoorcentral.us/or/license.
- Student manuals, workbooks and materials may be obtained from the ODFW Hunter Education Program.
- Email firstname.lastname@example.org to order workbook packet.
Cancellation Policy (pdf)
How to Register Online for a Hunter Education Class or Workshop (pdf)
These programs are funded by the Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Act (Pittman-Robertson) and the Federal Aid in Sport Fish Restoration Act (Wallop-Breaux).
The Oregon Outdoor Skills Program is subject to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, Title IX of the Education Amendments 1972, the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and offers all persons the opportunity to participate in programs and activities regardless of race, color, national origin, age, sex or disability. No individual will be turned away from or otherwise be denied access to or benefit from, any program or activity on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, sex or disability. Complaints of discrimination should be sent to the Civil Rights Coordinator for Public Access, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: WSFR-4020, Arlington, VA 22203.