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ATTENTION 
This publication lists the commercial fishing 

regulations in condensed form for the convenience of 
the commercial harvester and is not intended to replace 
the laws or administrative rules. Laws (ORS) and rules 
(OAR) are cited in parentheses to help the reader refer to the 
original sections that were condensed. For detailed informa-
tion refer to these laws and rules. Copies of specific laws and 
rules may be obtained from Oregon Department of Fish and 
Wildlife (ODFW) offices. The ORS and OAR are also 
available in most public libraries, and may be found on the 
internet at www.oregon.gov. Commercial fishery laws not 
listed here are still applicable. Any person participating in any 
commercial fishery in Oregon must abide by all applicable 
state and federal laws and rules. 
 

NOTE: Sections in this synopsis with new or revised 
text have a halftone background as shown here. 

 
Related Publications: 

1. Federal Regulations Applying in the Exclusive 
Economic Zone (3-200 miles) for the U.S. Commercial and 
Recreational Groundfish Fisheries off the Coasts of 
Washington, Oregon, and California. 

2. Emergency Federal Regulations Applying in the 
Fishery Conservation Zone (3-200 miles) for Commercial 
and Recreational Salmon Fisheries off the Coasts of 
Washington, Oregon, and California. 

These publications are available from: 
Pacific Fishery Management Council 

7700 NE Ambassador Place 
Suite 101 

Portland, OR 97220-1384 
(503) 820-2280 

FAX (503) 820-2299 
Toll Free: 1 866-806-7204 

www.pcouncil.org 
3. Pacific Halibut Fishery Regulations. 
This publication available from: 

International Pacific Halibut Commission 
P.O. Box 95009 

Seattle, WA 98145-2009 
(206) 634-1838 

FAX (206) 632-2983 
www.iphc.washington.edu 

Alternate Contact: 
Current information relating to the Exclusive Economic 

Zone (EEZ) groundfish and salmon regulations are 
available at the website for the NOAA Fisheries NW 
Regional Office in Seattle: 

www.nwr.noaa.gov 

http://www.iphc.washington.edu/
http://www.nwr.noaa.gov/
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GENERAL REGULATIONS 
IT IS ALWAYS UNLAWFUL: 
• For a guest on board a commercial fishing vessel to assist 
in any way in either taking food fish or operating the boat or 
fishing gear unless licensed as a commercial harvester. 
• To have on board a commercial fishing vessel while 
fishing for or landing food fish, any gear that is not legal for 
use in commercial fishing under Oregon law. 
• For commercial harvesters to transport their catch of food 
fish in this state to a fish dealer away from the point of 
landing without first completing a transportation report or 
invoice indicating: date; harvester’s name; commercial 
fishing license number; boat identification number; name and 
address of the licensed fish dealer to whom food fish are 
being delivered; and number and species of food fish and 
their estimated weight.  The transportation report must be 
retained by the fisher for a period of six months and is 
subject to inspection by ODFW personnel or Oregon State 
Police at any time during that period. See the example at the 
end of this booklet. 
• For commercial harvesters to sell their food fish catch, 
transported away from the point of landing, to other than an 
Oregon-licensed wholesale fish or bait dealer. 
• To take any food fish from waters of the state or to land 
food fish without first procuring the necessary license and 
permit. 
• To sell catch to other than a licensed wholesale fish 
dealer, bait dealer, canner, or buyer, except under a Limited 
Fish Seller Permit. 
• To retain fish or shellfish taken under commercial license 
for private use without first selling it to a wholesale fish dealer 
or bait dealer, except as authorized under a Limited Fish 
Seller Permit. All commercially landed fish must be reported. 
• To intentionally kill marine mammals except for the 
protection of human life. All fishers are required to report any 
incidental injury or death of a marine mammal while fishing. 
Under an agreement developed between NOAA Fisheries 
(NOAA) and ODFW, information collected for licensing 
purposes by the State of Oregon will be provided to NOAA in 
lieu of NOAA requiring a separate MMAP registration. Vessel 
owners who apply for and obtain a Developmental Fisheries 
Permit to harvest and land swordfish using drift gillnet gear 
or a Developmental Fisheries Permit to harvest and land 
swordfish or blue shark using surface longline gear will 
automatically receive an authorization for the incidental take 
of marine mammals at the time of permit issuance. Vessel 
owners will receive marine mammal injury and mortality 
reporting forms along with their fisheries permit and 
Authorization. For further information on marine mammal 
Authorizations and reporting requirements contact the NOAA 
Fisheries, Protected Resources Division at (206) 526-6733. 
• To wantonly waste or destroy any food fish or shellfish. 
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DEFINITIONS: 
1. Pacific Ocean — Inland Waters 
The Pacific Ocean and inland waters lie respectively 

west and east of a line drawn between the ends of jetties 
and/or shorelines at high tide at river mouths except the 
Columbia River where they are separated by a line drawn 
between the knuckle of the south jetty and the in-shore end 
of the north jetty. 

2. Resident 
An actual bona fide resident of this state for at least one 

year prior to application for a license. 
 
RESTRICTIONS — AREAS CLOSED TO ALL 
COMMERCIAL FISHING (ORS 511.106-511.806) 

In addition to closed seasons, the following waters are 
closed to all commercial fishing: 

Rogue River — Closed to taking of all food fish except 
shellfish from Rogue River and its tributaries and within a 
radius of 1 mile from the center of the mouth of the Rogue 
River. 

Curry County Rivers — The following are closed to 
taking any food fish: Floras Creek, Hunters Creek, Sixes 
River, Pistol River, Elk River, Chetco River, Euchre Creek, 
Winchuck River. 

Umpqua River — Unlawful to take sturgeon from the 
Umpqua River or any of its bays or tributaries. 

Nestucca Bay — Unlawful to take any food fish except 
shellfish from Nestucca Bay or any of its tributaries. 

Willamette River — Unlawful to take salmon, shad, 
striped bass or sturgeon from the Willamette River or any of 
its tributaries or sloughs. 

Columbia River — Unlawful to take all food fish in all 
tributaries of the Columbia River, as well as within several 
sanctuary areas designated in OAR 635-042-0005 and 
635-041-0045. These include areas at and adjacent to the 
mouths of the Sandy, Hood, Deschutes, John Day and 
Umatilla rivers and each of the Columbia River dams. 
 
BOAT RESTRICTIONS, COMMERCIAL FISHING 
   (ORS 508.025, 508.030, 508.035, 508.235, 508.260, and 
    508.285) 

There are no restrictions on the type or size of vessel 
which may be licensed for commercial fishing. 

Identification of Commercial Fishing Boat 
   (OAR 635-006-0140) 
A pair of decals bearing the last two numbers of the year is 

issued with the boat license. The decals are to be affixed to 
the licensed boat in a conspicuous place on each side of the 
boat on the superstructure as near amidships as practicable. 

Licensed boats which are federally documented must 
display their document identification number in not less than 
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3-inch high block figures adjacent to the current year license 
decal (vessels over 25 feet fishing for groundfish in federal 
waters are subject to additional federal vessel identification 
restrictions). 

Licensed boats which are state registered must have 
their identification number displayed on each side of the bow. 

For gear restrictions see the specific regulations relating 
to type of food fish or shellfish to be harvested. 
NOTE: Commercial fishing boats operating in the Pacific 
Ocean and estuaries of Oregon must comply with safety and 
other federal boating restrictions enforced by the US Coast 
Guard, NOAA Fisheries, and/or the Oregon State Marine 
Board. 

Commercial harvesters may use their boats for sport 
fishing as long as they decide to do so before they go out, 
use only sport gear, and all passengers and crew stay within 
sport bag and size limits. Current year International Pacific 
Halibut Commission (IPHC) rule changes may create 
exceptions in the Pacific halibut fishery. Contact IPHC for 
status (see pages 1 and 15). 
 

COMMERCIAL LICENSES AND PERMITS 
Temporary commercial fishing licenses and single 

delivery licenses are issued at selected Wholesale Fish 
Dealers and ODFW offices in Brookings, Charleston, or 
Newport. ALL other commercial fishing licenses are issued 
only at ODFW offices in: Salem, Newport, or Charleston. 
Call ahead for sales hours. Application forms are available 
from all ODFW coastal offices. 
 
INDIVIDUAL AND CREW LICENSES: 
• Resident Commercial 

Fishing License ..........................................  Fee $50 
• Nonresident Commercial Fishing 

License (regardless of age) .......................  Fee $290 
• Commercial Crewmember 

Fishing License ..........................................  Fee $85 
• Juvenile Commercial Fishing License 

Resident - 18 years of age or younger1 ........  Fee $25 
_________ 
1 Persons 18 years of age or younger may be subject to state and 

federal labor laws which prohibit them from working for someone 
on a commercial fishing vessel. 

Every individual operating or assisting in the operation of 
any commercial fishing gear or commercial fishing boat must 
have a commercial fishing license or crewmember fishing 
license. Every member of the crew on a commercial fishing 
boat must be licensed. Commercial harvesters must sell 
their catch to an Oregon-licensed wholesale fish dealer, bait 
dealer, canner, or buyer, except under a Limited Fish Seller’s 
Permit, or a Columbia River gillnet harvester delivering to a 
licensed Washington fish dealer by boat. 
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BOAT LICENSES: 
• Resident Commercial 

Fishing Boat License ...............................  Fee $200 
• Nonresident Commercial 

Fishing Boat License ...............................  Fee $760 
Required of any boat, vessel, or floating craft used in 

taking food fish or shellfish for commercial purposes, except 
clams and crayfish. Boat licenses are not required to take 
fish for bait under a bait fishing license. This license is not 
transferable to another boat. See: BOAT RESTRICTIONS, 
page 3. 

The residential status of the vessel owner determines 
whether the vessel qualifies for a resident or nonresident 
boat license (see DEFINITIONS, page 3). 

As a license condition, owners or operators of commercial 
fishing vessels must cooperate with ODFW or Federal fishery 
observers, or observers collecting data for ODFW or a Federal 
agency. For additional information refer to OAR 635-006-0140 
or contact the ODFW Marine Resources Program office in 
Newport at (541) 867-4741. 
• Single-Delivery License ...........................  Fee $100 

Only one single-delivery landing license per vessel may 
be obtained and used in lieu of commercial fishing and boat 
licenses in a 12-month period, except: 

1. Prohibited for landing ocean troll salmon unless 
vessel has current Oregon troll salmon vessel permit. 

2. Prohibited for landing ocean pink shrimp unless 
vessel has current Oregon pink shrimp vessel permit or 
appropriate permit or license issued by another state for 
landing shrimp.  Use is limited to one shrimp delivery per 
year when dependent on a license or permit issued by 
another state. 

3. Prohibited for landing ocean scallops unless vessel 
has current Oregon scallop vessel permit or unless and until 
Washington and California implement a limited entry system 
for scallop fishing and the vessel has a current permit or 
license issued by California or Washington for landing 
scallops. 

4. Prohibited for landing ocean Dungeness crab 
unless vessel has current Oregon crab vessel permit. Use is 
limited to 2 ocean Dungeness crab deliveries in any one crab 
season. 
NOTE: This license must be obtained prior to fishing in state 
waters. If an unlicensed vessel catches food fish outside of 
state waters, a single-delivery license must be purchased at 
the time of landing. Licenses are available at most large 
wholesale fish dealers and ODFW’s Marine Program offices 
in Newport, Charleston, Brookings, or Astoria. 



 

[ 6 ] 

OTHER LICENSES AND MISCELLANEOUS 
PERMITS: 
• Albacore Tuna Landing License ...............  Fee $20 

May be obtained in lieu of commercial fishing and boat 
licenses when landing only albacore tuna. Application for this 
license may be made and the fee paid at time of landing, on 
an ODFW license application form. This license allows 
unlimited landings of albacore tuna by the vessel during the 
calendar year of issue. 
• Bait Fishing License ..................................  Fee $60 

May be obtained in lieu of a commercial fishing and boat 
license to take food fish or shellfish for sale only to fish bait 
dealers and not for human consumption. A bait harvester 
cannot sell to a wholesale fish dealer. 
• Juvenile Commercial Jig License ................... Free 

May be obtained from ODFW’s Marine Program office in 
Newport for taking herring, pilchard, perch, anchovies, and 
candlefish by a hand or jig line and selling to wholesale fish 
or bait dealer. 
• Permit to Take Nongame Fish ................  Fee $4.50 

Required of any person using other than gear authorized 
for personal use, to take nongame fish in freshwater. 
• Experimental Fishing Gear Permit ..............  Fee $3 

Required of any person using gear other than that 
authorized for commercial use, to take food fish or shellfish 
other than nongame fish above. 
• Snagging Permit ............................................... Free 

Required of any person to operate a snagging net for the 
purpose of removing snags or obstructions from fishing 
areas. This snagging permit does not confer exclusive rights 
to fish any area of the Columbia River. 
• Live Fish Transportation Permit ..................... Free 

Required for any person to transport live marine fish into, 
out of, or within Oregon. This includes transporting live fish 
from the first point of landing to an Oregon licensed whole-
sale dealer, fish buyer, or bait dealer. Contact ODFW’s 
Marine Program office in Newport for an application form. 
 
RESTRICTED FISHERIES PERMITS: 
   (ORS 508.760 through 508.960) 
   (OAR 635-006-1005 through 635-006-1210) 

These permits are required in addition to a Commercial 
Fishing Boat License to participate in the following fisheries. 
Permits must be renewed annually to remain valid for 
renewal in the next year (i.e., applications for renewal in 
2007 must be received by 12-31-07). Sea urchin permits, 
brine shrimp permits, and bay clam dive permits must be 
renewed by January 31 of the permit year. Black/Blue 
rockfish permits and Black/Blue permits with nearshore 
endorsement must be applied for by January 1 of the permit 
year or by April 1 of the permit year accompanied by a $150 
late fee.   
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Transferable permits are bought and sold by vessel 
owners and the transactions must be recorded by ODFW. 
ODFW has no knowledge of which permits are available for 
sale. We suggest checking fisheries trade magazines, 
coastal newspapers and harvesters’ associations as possible 
sources of information for permits available for purchase. 
• Ocean Troll Salmon Vessel Permit ...........  Fee $75 

Required in addition to a boat license for salmon 
trolling. No new permits are available. 
NOTE: A Boat license must be purchased prior to or at the 
time of permit renewal. Permit holders may transfer a permit 
to another person or vessel only if statutory requirements are 
met. For more information contact ODFW Licensing Services 
in Salem at (503) 947-6100 for specifics. 
• Ocean Pink Shrimp Vessel Permit ............  Fee $75 

Required in addition to a boat license for shrimp fishing. 
No new permits are available. Prior year’s permit 
renewable upon application and payment of fees. 
NOTE: A Boat license must be purchased prior to or at the 
time of permit renewal. Permit holders may transfer a permit 
to another person or vessel only if statutory requirements are 
met. For more information contact ODFW Licensing Services 
in Salem at (503) 947-6100 for specifics. 
• Columbia River Gillnet Salmon Permit .....  Fee $75 

Required in addition to a boat license for gillnetting 
salmon and sturgeon in Columbia River. No new permits 
are available. Prior year’s permit renewable if gillnet permit 
fees are paid by December 31 of permit year. Permit holders 
may transfer a permit to another person or vessel only if 
statutory requirements are met. For more information contact 
ODFW Licensing Services in Salem at (503) 947-6100 for 
specifics. 
• Ocean Dungeness Crab Permit .................  Fee $75 

Required in addition to a boat license to participate in the 
ocean Dungeness crab fishery. No new permits are avail-
able. Prior year’s permit renewable if crab permit fees were 
paid by December 31 of permit year. A Dungeness crab 
permit which is not renewed will lapse, and may not be 
renewed for subsequent years. Permit holders may transfer 
a permit to another person or vessel only if regulatory 
requirements are met. For more information contact ODFW 
Licensing Services in Salem at (503) 947-6100 for specifics. 
• Scallop Vessel Permit ................................  Fee $75 

Required in addition to a boat license for ocean scallop 
(weathervane scallop) fishing. No new permits are avail-
able. Prior year’s permit is renewable if vessel was used in 
prior year to land at least 5,000 pounds of food fish in 
Oregon. Permit holders may transfer a permit to another 
person or vessel only if statutory requirements are met. For 
more information contact ODFW Licensing Services in 
Salem at (503) 947-6100 for specifics. 
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• Yaquina Bay Roe-Herring Permit ..............  Fee $75 
Required in addition to a boat license for participating in 

Yaquina Bay roe-herring fishery. No new permits are avail-
able. Prior year’s permit renewable if permit fees are paid by 
December 31 of permit year. Permit holders may transfer 
permit to another vessel. For more information contact 
ODFW Licensing Services in Salem at (503) 947-6100 for 
specifics. 
• Sea Urchin Permit ......................................  Fee $75 

Required in addition to a commercial fishing license for sea 
urchin harvest. No new permits are available. Prior year’s 
permit renewable if diver harvested 5,000 pounds of sea 
urchins in the prior year. For more information contact ODFW 
Licensing Services in Salem at (503) 947-6100 for specifics. 
• Black/Blue Rockfish Permit ........................  Fee $75 

Required in addition to a boat license to participate in 
the black/blue rockfish limited entry fishery. No new 
permits are available. Prior year’s permit is renewable if 
the vessel made a minimum of five commercial fish 
landings in Oregon during the calendar year prior to the 
request for renewal. Permit holders may transfer a permit to 
another person or vessel only if statutory requirements are 
met. For more information contact ODFW Licensing Services 
in Salem at (503) 947-6100 for specifics. 
• Black/Blue Rockfish Permit with a Nearshore 

Endorsement ..............................................  Fee $75 
Required in addition to a boat license to participate in 

the black/blue rockfish nearshore limited entry fishery. 
No new permits are available. Prior year’s permit is renew-
able if the vessel made a minimum of five commercial fish 
landings in Oregon during the calendar year prior to the 
request for renewal. Permit holders may transfer a permit to 
another person or vessel only if statutory requirements are 
met. For more information contact ODFW Licensing Services 
in Salem at (503) 947-6100 for specifics. 
• Brine Shrimp Permit ...................................  Fee $75 

Required in addition to a boat license and commercial 
fishing license for brine shrimp fishing. Three permits are 
available. Prior year’s permit is renewable if vessel used in 
prior year to land at least 5,000 pounds of brine shrimp in 
Oregon. Permit holders may transfer a permit to another 
person or vessel only if statutory requirements are met. 
For more information contact ODFW Licensing Services in 
Salem at (503) 947-6100 for specifics. 
• Coast-wide Bay Clam Dive Permit ..................  Free 

Individual or vessel permit required in addition to 
commercial fishing license for harvesting bay clams from 
subtidal areas in Oregon estuaries using dive gear.  Prior 
year’s permit renewable if five landings of at least 100 
pounds each or an annual total of 2,500 pounds of bay 
clams using dive gear were landed in Oregon in prior 
calendar year.  For more information contact ODFW 
Licensing Services in Salem at (503) 947-6100 for specifics. 
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• South-coast Bay Clam Dive Permit .................  Free 
Individual or vessel permit required in addition to 

commercial fishing license for harvesting bay clams from 
subtidal areas in Oregon estuaries south of Heceta Head 
using dive gear.  Prior year’s permit renewable if five 
landings of at least 100 pounds each or an annual total of 
2,500 pounds of bay clams using dive gear were landed in 
Oregon in prior calendar year.  For more information contact 
ODFW Licensing Services in Salem at (503) 947-6100 for 
specifics. 
• Sardine Permit ..................................................  Free 

Required in addition to a boat license and commercial 
fishing license for sardine fishing in the Pacific Ocean.  No 
new permits are available.  Prior year’s permit is renewable 
if the vessel made minimum landing requirements in Oregon 
during the calendar year prior to the request for renewal.  
Permit holders may transfer a permit to another person or 
vessel up to two times a year.  For more information contact 
ODFW Licensing Services in Salem at (503) 947-6100 for 
specifics. 

 
DEVELOPMENTAL FISHERIES PERMIT 
   (ORS 506.450 through 506.465) 
   (OAR 635-006-0800 through 635-006-0950) 
Fee $75  

Required in addition to commercial fishing and/or boat 
license to harvest species on Developmental Fisheries list, 
Category A (Table 1), except as bycatch in another estab-
lished fishery. Before applying for a permit, an applicant must 
obtain an appropriate commercial fishing boat and/or individ-
ual fishing license for the year the permit will be issued. Prior 
year’s permit is renewable by January 1 except, December 1 
for box crab permits if minimum renewal requirements were 
met. Renewal requirements listed in Table 1 are expressed 
as a minimum of: deliveries, or pounds, or deliveries and 
pounds per delivery. For example, renewal of the blue shark 
permit requires a minimum of 5 deliveries of 500 pounds 
each or 1 landing of 5,000 pounds. 
NOTE: Permit is not transferable. The number of available 
permits will vary with the fishery. If the number of applicants 
is more than the number of available permits, a lottery will be 
held to issue permits. Unsuccessful lottery applicants will 
receive a preference point to apply to future lotteries of the 
same species/gear category. Preference points are lost 
when a permit is obtained or if an applicant does not apply 
for that species/gear category for two consecutive years. 
Permit holders are required to maintain a logbook provided 
by ODFW’s Marine Program office in Newport. 

Contact the Marine Program office in Newport or License 
Sales at the Salem office for applications and information on 
permits available. 
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Table 1.  2006 Developmental Fisheries Species, 
Category A. 
 
 
Species 

 
No. of 

Permits 

Renewal
Requirement
(landings/lb)

Pacific hagfish 25 5/1000 or 25000 
lbs./year

blue shark 10 5/500 or 1/5000

 
swordfish 

20 floating 
longline & 10 

other gear 

 
5/500 or 1/5000

anchovy & herring 15 ocean 5/500 or 1/5000

box crab 25 5/100

Oregon hair 
crab, scarlet 
king crab, & 
grooved tanner 
crab 

10 5/100

spot prawn 10 pot gear 5/100 or 1/1000
(round weight)

Coonstripe 
shrimp, & 
sidestripe shrimp 

10 pot 
gear 

5/100 (round
weight)

giant octopus 10 5/100

marine snails 10 5/100

flat abalone 1 10/20
 
HIGH SEAS FISHERY PERMIT 

The High Seas Fishery Compliance Act (HSFCA) which 
became law on March 3, 1996, requires vessels of United 
States registry, that fish on the high seas to have a HSFCA 
permit. High seas are defined as those waters beyond the 
Exclusive Economic Zone of any country. Permits are valid 
for 5 years. Information and an application for a permit can 
be obtained from: 

NOAA Fisheries (NWR) 
7600 Sand Point Way NE 
Seattle, WA 98115-0070 
Ph. (206) 526-4353 
Fax (206) 526-6736 
www.nwr.noaa.gov/Permits/Other-Permits/High-Seas-
FCA-Permits.cfm 
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FISH DEALER LICENSES: 
• Wholesale Fish Dealer License, Fee $350 
• Food Fish Canner License, Fee $350 
• Shellfish Canner License, Fee $350 

Required for any person who: 
1. Buys food fish or shellfish from a commercial har-

vester, regardless of its disposition. 
2. Regardless of the source from which received, sells 

food fish or shellfish to other wholesalers, canners, or 
retailers. 

3. Processes food fish or shellfish by smoking, reduc-
tion, or fresh packaging requiring freezing or refrigeration for 
sale through retail outlets. 

A Canner license is required of any person who proc-
esses commercial food fish or shellfish in hermetically sealed 
containers. It is used in lieu of a Wholesale Fish Dealer 
license, and carries the same requirements. 

Except for activities authorized under a “Limited Fish 
Sellers Permit,” a commercial harvester must have a whole-
sale license in order to sell catch to anyone other than an 
Oregon-licensed Wholesale Fish Dealer or Canner. 

Wholesale Fish Dealers, Canners, and Bait Dealers pay 
a landing fee which is a percentage of the value of the food 
fish purchased from commercial harvesters: 

3.15% for all salmon and steelhead; 
5.00% for Black/Blue Rockfish and Nearshore fish as 

defined on page 23; 
1.09% for all other species of fish and shellfish. 

In addition, there is a restoration and enhancement fee of 
5 cents per pound (round weight) for salmon and steelhead 
landed. 

A bond, assigned savings, or deposit of at least $1,000 
and in many cases more, guaranteeing payment of fees, is 
required. Applications and bond forms may be obtained from 
ODFW in Salem. A Wholesale Fish Dealer License must be 
obtained for each location where fish is processed. 
• Fish Buyer License ..................................  Fee $150 

This license is required of a Wholesale Fish Dealer or 
Canner to purchase or receive food fish or shellfish from 
commercial harvesters at locations other than the licensed 
premises of any licensed Wholesale Fish Dealer, Canner or 
Buying Station. The fish or shellfish must be weighed and a 
fish ticket prepared at the buying location before the fish 
are transported. No processing activities are allowed at a 
Buying Station. 
• Fish Bait Dealer License ............................  Fee $60 

The Fish Bait Dealer License is designed for the small 
volume dealer who sells or uses food fish or shellfish for bait, 
scientific or educational purposes, or live public display. Fish 
Bait Dealers are required to sell all fish and shellfish for bait 
and may buy from either a licensed bait harvester or 
commercial harvester. Sale for human consumption under 
this license is prohibited. A minimum cash deposit of $25 is 
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required to assure payment of landing fees. The landing fees 
are the same as those listed in the Wholesale Fish Dealer 
and Canner License section. 
• Limited Fish Sellers Permit .......................  Fee $20 

This permit authorizes licensed commercial harvesters to 
sell their catch of food fish and shellfish directly from their 
boat, but only to the ultimate consumer, defined as a person 
that will ultimately consume the fish. 

All Limited Fish Seller Permits are issued from ODFW’s 
Salem Office. It is recommended that applicants telephone 
ahead to obtain details of licensing requirements. A Limited 
Fish Seller Permit can usually be issued over-the-counter if 
applying in person at the Salem headquarters. Applying in 
person at the ODFW Newport or Charleston offices can take 
up to two weeks to accommodate for processing of applica-
tions and bonds, and return mailing of licenses, forms, and 
instructions to applicant. Renewals handled through the mail 
can take as much as three weeks. Permit renewals may take 
longer if the prior year’s fish tickets, monthly reports, or 
account balances are not in order. 

Landing fees are the same as for wholesale fish dealers. 
A minimum of a $200 bond or cash payment is required to 
assure payment of landing fees. The amount may be higher 
in subsequent years if renewing a permit. 

Limited Fish Seller Permit holders must notify ODFW, at 
503-947-6247, if the holder is going to sell from a vessel or 
at a port other than the one listed on the Limited Fish Seller’s 
application. A fish ticket must be started prior to sales and 
include the estimated number of food fish on board the 
vessel and the location where sales are to take place.  
A certified scale is required to weigh the fish. It is unlawful to 
fillet or loin any fish prior to recording on a fish ticket the 
round weight, or the dressed weight for those species with 
an approved conversion factor listed in OAR 635-006-0215. 
A numbered, generic receipt is needed for each sale to the 
public. Permit holders must keep receipt copies of food fish 
or shellfish sales on board their vessel for six months and 
available for three years. Receipt copies are subject to 
inspection by an authorized ODFW agent or the State Police. 
 
COLUMBIA RIVER GILLNET PILOT PROGRAM 
   (OAR 635-006-0133) 

In addition to the rules listed under the Limited Fish 
Sellers permit, a person with a valid Columbia River Gillnet 
permit and a limited fish sellers permit may sell their catch 
away from their vessel or designate other persons to sell the 
catch away from the vessel. 

The permitted person and all designees must carry a 
copy of the permit and a copy of the fish receiving ticket or a 
signed statement for transporting and/or selling any portion 
of the catch. 

Prior to selling their catch away from the vessel a fish 
receiving ticket must be completed and forwarded to ODFW. 
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FISH DEALER REPORTING REQUIREMENTS: 

1. Fish Receiving Tickets — Must be immediately 
completed by wholesale fish dealers upon purchase of fish 
or shellfish from harvesters. Fish tickets reporting troll caught 
salmon must be forwarded within four consecutive days of 
the landing to ODFW, 3406 Cherry Avenue N.E. Salem, OR 
97303-4924. All other fish tickets must be forwarded within 
five working days of the landing to the same address. 

2. Monthly Fee Reports and Landing Fees — Must 
be received or postmarked by the 20th of each month for 
purchases in the preceding month. A penalty charge of $5.00 
or 5%, whichever is greater, is assessed with a one per cent 
per month interest on any delinquent fee payments. Monthly 
reports must be submitted even if there are no purchases for 
the month. 
 
FISH DEALER GENERAL INFORMATION 

All dealers must have an Oregon address where records 
reporting food fish or shellfish purchases are maintained. All 
such records must be maintained for not less than three 
years and are subject to inspection by an authorized ODFW 
agent or the State Police. 

Any licensed wholesale fish dealer, canner, or buying 
station whose licensed premises include a receiving or 
docking facility for unloading the catch from a commercial 
fishing vessel shall be considered as the receiver and 
purchaser and shall have the responsibility for weighing the 
catch (including weighbacks), reporting and paying fees on 
such catch. 

For additional license and permit information call: 
ODFW License Sales in Salem at (503) 947-6100 

 
This publication lists the commercial regulations in 
condensed form for the convenience of the 
commercial harvesters and is not intended to 
replace the laws or administrative rules. 

 
FISHERIES 

COASTAL RIVERS SHAD FISHERY 
   (OAR 635-004-0055 through 635-004-0065) 

Season 
It is unlawful to take shad for commercial purposes from 

coastal rivers (see pg. 16 for Columbia River shad) except: 
Siuslaw, Umpqua, and Smith River, a tributary of the 
Umpqua River, from 6 a.m. May 10 to 6 a.m. July 1 of each 
year. In addition, the following areas of the Siuslaw, 
Umpqua, and Smith Rivers are closed: 

1. In the Siuslaw River; 
• Above a line across the river drawn at right 

angles to the thread of the stream at the lower end of the 
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mouth or confluence of Morgan Creek with the Siuslaw 
River; and 

• The North Fork of the Siuslaw River above the 
state highway bridge crossing the north fork between 
Cushman and Florence in Lane County; and 

• Duncan Inlet or South Inlet or tributaries. 
2. In the Umpqua River; 

• above the confluence of Mill Creek, outlet of Loon 
Lake with the Umpqua River in Douglas County. 

3. In the Smith River; 
• above the confluence of the North Fork of the 

Smith River with the Smith River. 
Gear 
See OAR 635-004-0060 or contact the Southwest 

Regional Office, (541) 440-3353, for a copy. 
COLUMBIA RIVER FISHERIES 
• Columbia River Anchovies and Herring 

   (OAR 635-042-0100) 
Anchovies and herring may be taken for commercial 

purposes at any time in the Columbia River seaward of the 
Megler-Astoria Bridge with purse; lampara; and round haul 
seines of a mesh size not less than one-half inch and not 
over 1,400 feet in length. All other species taken in operation 
of such gear must immediately, with care, be returned to the 
water. 
• Columbia River Carp and Other Nongame Fish 

   (OAR 635-042-0154) 
It is legal to fish commercially for carp and other 

nongame fish in the Columbia River only: 
1. With an approved permit issued by the ODFW, at 

3406 Cherry Avenue N.E., Salem, OR 97303-4924; or 
2. During open commercial fishing periods with gear 

authorized for those open fishing periods. 
• Columbia River Gill-Net Salmon and Sturgeon 

   (OAR 635-041-0005 through 635-042-0190) 
Regulations for the Columbia River gillnet fisheries 

change frequently. Consult the latest Oregon Administrative 
Rules covering these fisheries before fishing. Restricted 
fishery permit required for salmon and sturgeon. For more 
information see page 7 (salmon) and page 36 (sturgeon). 
• Columbia River Shad Fishery 

   (OAR 635-042-0105) 
Season 
During salmon seasons with gear authorized for taking 

salmon. See OAR 635-042-0110 and 635-042-0115 for 
special shad seasons. 
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32 inches (81.3 cm) with head on

PACIFIC HALIBUT FISHERY 
   (OAR 635-004-0005) 

Seasons and Gear 
The 2007 commercial season, regulations, and restrictions 

will be set early in 2007 by the International Pacific Halibut 
Commission (IPHC). It is unlawful to take halibut for 
commercial purposes except as set by the IPHC and in 
accordance with a valid permit issued by the IPHC. Contact 
either the IPHC, Seattle, Washington, (206) 634-1838 or the 
ODFW Marine Program office in Newport, for current 
regulations. 

A free license is required for all commercial vessels and 
charter vessels which retain Pacific halibut. Applications may 
be obtained from the Halibut Commission; US Customs 
offices; and ODFW offices in Astoria; Brookings; Charleston; 
Newport; or Salem. 
 

Pacific Halibut 

Size Limit 
No person, firm, or corporation may retain or have in 

possession any Pacific halibut that with head on is less than 
32 inches as measured in a straight line, passing over the 
pectoral fin, from the tip of the lower jaw with the mouth 
closed, to the extreme end of the middle of the tail. 

All Pacific halibut caught in IPHC Area 2A (Washington, 
Oregon, and California) must be landed with their heads on. 

Retention of Tagged Pacific Halibut  
Exception to Rules 
A vessel may retain and land at any time, any Pacific 

halibut that has a Halibut Commission tag attached to it at 
the time of capture, if the halibut with tag still attached is 
reported at time of landing to a representative of the Halibut 
Commission or to an officer of a state or provincial (Canada) 
government. 
 
OCEAN FOOD FISH FISHERY 
   (OAR 635-004-0018 through 635-004-0052) 
NOTE: Directed fisheries on some species require posses-
sion of a Developmental Fisheries Permit. See page 10 for a 
listing. 
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DEFINITIONS 
1. Ocean Food Fish 
Includes all saltwater species of food fish except salmon, 

Pacific halibut, and shellfish whether found in freshwater or 
saltwater. 

2. Land, Landing, or Landed 
To begin transfer of fish from a fishing vessel. Once 

transfer begins, all fish aboard the vessel are counted as part 
of the landing. 

3. Trip Limit 
The total allowable amount of a groundfish species or 

species complex, by weight, or by percentage of fish on 
board, that may be taken and retained, possessed, or landed 
per vessel from a single fishing trip. A vessel which has 
landed its cumulative or daily limit may continue to fish on 
the limit for the next legal period as long as the fish are not 
landed until the next period. 

4. Daily Trip Limit 
The maximum amount that may be taken and retained, 

possessed, or landed per vessel in 24 consecutive hours, 
starting at 0001 hours local time. Only one landing of 
groundfish may be made in that 24-hour period. 

5. Cumulative trip limit 
The maximum amount that may be taken and retained, 

possessed, or landed per vessel in a specified period of time, 
without a limit on the number of landings or trips. Cumulative 
trip limits may apply to calendar months or two calendar 
month periods. For two calendar month cumulative limits, the 
periods are: Jan.-Feb.; Mar.-Apr.; May-Jun.; Jul.-Aug.; Sept.-
Oct.; and Nov.-Dec. 

6.  Rockfish Conservation Areas (RCA) 
Large-scale closed areas that extend along the entire 

length of the U.S. West Coast.  RCA boundaries are lines 
that connect a series of latitude/longitude coordinates 
intended to approximate particular depth contours.  The 
locations of the RCA boundaries are set in order to minimize 
opportunities for vessels to incidentally take overfished 
rockfish by eliminating fishing in areas where and times 
when those overfished species are likely to co-occur with 
more healthy stock of Groundfish.  RCA boundaries for 
particular gear types are likely to differ between the northern 
and southern areas of the coast.  RCA boundaries are also 
likely to change at different times of the year. 

Area 
The Pacific Ocean is open to the commercial harvest of 

ocean food fish described in this section, except for the 
Rockfish Conservation Areas (RCA) described in the Code 
of Federal Regulations, Title 50 Part 660, subpart G which 
restricts most directed groundfish fishing activities and state 
black rockfish management areas (page 25). 
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Additional closures may be imposed via state rule.  
Information on closed or restricted state fishing areas is 
available ODFW’s Marine Resources Program website: 
www.dfw.state.or.us/MRP 

Information of federal closed fishing areas is available at: 
www.nwr.noaa.gov/Groundfish-Halibut/Groundfish-Fishery-
Management/Groundfish-Closed-
Areas/Index.cfm#CP_JUMP_30272  

It is unlawful to take ocean food fish for commercial 
purposes from Oregon coastal bays, estuary waters of the 
Columbia River, or from man-made structures that extend 
from coastal bays, or within 200 yards of any man-made 
structure, except as allowed by OAR 635-004-0025(2). 

Gear 
Categories 1 through 6 of this section, describe gear 

which is legal for use in the ocean fishery, with restrictions as 
noted under each gear type. 

Trawl nets and longlines may not be fished in any 
estuary and use of seines is permitted only in specific 
estuaries. Pots, traps, and gear listed under category 6, 
Other Gear (see below), may be fished in estuaries (with the 
exceptions noted for seines). 

1. Trawl Nets 
Limited entry trip limits may vary depending on the type 

of trawl gear that is on board a vessel during a fishing trip: 
large footrope; small footrope; or midwater trawl gear. 

Definitions of the four trawl gear types are: 
 (a) Large footrope trawl gear is bottom trawl gear 
with a footrope diameter larger than 8 inches (including 
rollers, bobbins, or other material encircling or tied along the 
length of the footrope. The net shall have a minimum mesh 
size of 4-1/2 inches (between the knots) throughout 
the net.  It is unlawful for any vessel using large footrope 
gear to fish for groundfish shoreward of the RCAs. The use 
of large footrope gear is permitted seaward of the RCAs 
coastwide. 
 
 (b) Small footrope trawl gear is bottom trawl gear 
with a footrope diameter 8 inches or smaller (including 
rollers, bobbins, or other material encircling or tied along the 
length of the footrope), except chafing gear may be used 
only on the last 50 meshes of a small footrope trawl, 
measured from the terminal (closed) end of the codend. 
Other lines or ropes that run parallel to the footrope may not 
be augmented or modified to violate footrope size 
restrictions. The net shall have a minimum mesh size of 
4-1/2 inches (between the knots) throughout the net.  For 
enforcement purposes, the footrope will be measured in a 
straight line from the outside edge to the opposite outside 
edge at the widest part on any individual part, including any 
individual disk, roller, bobbin, or any other device. it is 
unlawful for any vessel using small footrope gear (except 
selective flatfish gear) to fish for groundfish or have small 
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footrope trawl gear (except selective flatfish gear) onboard 
while fishing shoreward of the RCA.  Small footrope gear is 
permitted seaward of the RCA coastwide. 
 
 (c) Selective flatfish trawl gear is a type of small 
footrope trawl gear. The selective flatfish trawl net must be 
a two-seamed net with no more than two riblines, excluding 
the codend.  The breastline may not be longer than 3 ft  
(0.92 m) in length. There may be no floats along the center 
third of the selective flatfish trawl net’s headrope or attached 
to the top panel except on the riblines.  The footrope must be 
shorter than 105 ft (32.26 m) in length.  The headrope must 
be at least 30 percent longer in length than the footrope.  An 
explanatory diagram of the selective flatfish trawl net is 
provided as Figure 1 of Part 660, Subpart G in Title 50 Code 
of Federal Regulations. 
A selective flatfish trawl is the only on bottom trawl gear that 
may be fished shoreward of the federal rockfish conservation 
area beginning January 1, 2005.  
 (d) Midwater trawl gear is pelagic trawl gear. The 
footrope of midwater trawl gear may not be enlarged by 
encircling it with chains or by any other means. Ropes or 
lines running parallel to the footrope of midwater trawl gear 
must be bare and may not be suspended with chains or 
other materials. The net shall have a minimum mesh size of 
3 inches (between the knots). 

Other trawl gear requirements: 
For at least 20 feet immediately behind the footrope or 

headrope, bare ropes or mesh or 16-inch minimum mesh 
size must completely encircle the net.  A band of mesh 
(“skirt”) may encircle the net under transfer cables, lifting, or 
splitting straps. It must be over riblines and restraining 
straps, of the same mesh size, coincide knot-to-knot with the 
net to which it is attached, and be no wider than 16 meshes. 

Double-walled codends are not permitted on any trawl 
nets. Manufactured double-ply mesh is not considered 
double-walled. 

Chafing gear may encircle no more than 50 per cent of 
the net’s circumference, except as provided in above 
paragraph on description of band of mesh immediately 
behind the footrope or headrope. No section of chafing gear 
may be longer than 50 meshes of the net to which it is 
attached. Except at the corners, the terminal end (the end 
farthest from the mouth) of each section of chafing gear must 
not be connected to the net. 

Chafing gear must be attached outside any riblines and 
restraining straps. There is no limit on the number of sections 
of chafing gear on a net. 

Minimum trawl mesh size requirements are met if a 
20-gauge stainless steel wedge can be passed with thumb 
pressure only through 16 of 20 sets of two meshes each 
(meshes are to be doubled over) of wet mesh. The wedge 
used to measure 3-inch mesh is 2.975 inches (75.5 mm) 
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wide and 0.025 inches (1 mm) thick. The wedge used to 
measure 4.5 inch mesh is 4.451 inches (113.5 mm) wide and 
0.025 inches (1 mm) thick. 

2. Pots or Traps, and Longlines 
Pot and longline gear which is fixed or anchored to the 

bottom shall not be left unattended for more than seven 
days. Longline and pot gear shall be marked at each 
terminal surface end with a pole and a flag, light, and radar 
reflector, and buoy showing clear identification of the owner 
or operator. 

Pot gear used for other than Dungeness crab and 
hagfish shall have a biodegradable escape panel con-
structed with #21 or smaller, untreated cotton twine in such a 
manner that an opening at least 8 inches in diameter will 
result when the twine deteriorates. 

Pot gear used for hagfish shall include a biodegradable 
escape exit of at least 3 inches in diameter constructed with 
120 thread size or smaller, untreated cotton twine or mild 
steel not to exceed 1/4-inch (6mm) in diameter or other 
materials approved by ODFW. All other finfish and shellfish 
caught in hagfish pots must be returned immediately to the 
water. 

3. Vertical Hook-and-Line 
Vertical hook-and-line gear that is closely tended may be 

marked only with a single buoy of sufficient size to float the 
gear. “Closely tended” means that a vessel is within visual 
sighting distance or within ¼ nautical mile, as determined by 
electronic navigational equipment, of its vertical hook-and-
line gear. 

If gear is not closely tended, rules cited in first paragraph 
under no. 2, directly above, apply. 

4. Set Nets 
Set nets are permitted in the ocean outside state waters 

for groundfish taken south of latitude 38° N (Pt. Reyes, CA). 
The use of set nets is prohibited in all areas of the Pacific 
Ocean north of latitude 38° N except when permitted by an 
experimental gear permit. 

5. Drift or Set Gill Nets 
Allowed for ocean food fish under Developmental Fisher-

ies or Experimental Fishing Gear Permits only. Applications 
available at ODFW’s Marine Program office in Newport. 
(Note – for some species a Federal Experimental Fishing 
Permit is required before a state permit can be issued.) 

6. Other Gear 
Other gear lawful for taking ocean food fish includes 

handline, pole-and-line, pole-reel-and-line, longline, dipnets, 
spear, and seines. In the Columbia River downstream of the 
Astoria-Megler Bridge seines with a mesh size 1/2-inch or 
larger and not over 1,400 feet in length may be used to take 
herring and anchovy. Seines are permitted in the ocean for 
ocean food fish other than groundfish. Seines are permitted 
for the taking of herring, sardine, smelt, and anchovy from 
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the following inland waters: Tillamook Bay; Yaquina Bay; 
Alsea Bay; Winchester Bay; and Coos Bay. 

Logbook Required 
The skipper of a boat fishing by trawl, pot, longline or 

hook & line for shrimp, scallops (weathervane), or groundfish 
(including sablefish) must keep an accurate and truthful log 
on ODFW forms. In addition, a log is required of each vessel 
fishing for squid, regardless of gear and for each individual or 
vessel permitted to harvest developmental fishery species 
(see note on page 9). 

Logs shall be completed as per instructions provided in 
the logbook. A log should be completed for a fishing trip 
within one week of landing. The skipper or authorized agent 
shall, upon request, surrender one of the two copies of each 
completed logbook page to ODFW personnel. 

Logbooks are available from ODFW offices in Newport, 
Astoria, Charleston and Brookings. Logbook information is 
considered confidential by the ODFW. 

Maintenance of Cumulative Catch Records 
Vessels landing groundfish under a cumulative catch limit 

must have on board copies of fish landing receipts for inspec-
tion by authorized enforcement officials for a minimum of 90 
days from date of delivery. Receipts must be signed and dated 
by both the dealer and vessel captain. Landing receipts may 
be in the form of ODFW Fish Receiving Tickets; fish dealer 
“dock tickets” identified with official dealer logo or letterhead; or 
official Fish Receiving Tickets from other states. 

Seasons and Trip Limits 
The season for most species of ocean food fish is open 

year-round, until catch quotas are met (where applicable). 
Regulations for the following species of ocean food fish 
change throughout the season and Oregon Administrative 
Rules and federal regulations should be consulted before 
fishing: 
 Groundfish Management Groups 
 Black Rockfish (see page 23) Pacific Ocean Perch 
 Canary Rockfish Longspine Thornyhead 
 Darkblotched Rockfish Shortspine Thornyhead 
 Tiger Rockfish (see page 23) Arrowtooth Flounder 
 Vermilion Rockfish (see page 23) Dover Sole 
 Widow Rockfish Petrale Sole 
 Yelloweye Rockfish Rex Sole 
 Yellowtail Rockfish Other Flatfish 
 Minor Nearshore Rockfish (see page 23) Lingcod 
 Minor Shelf Rockfish Sablefish 
 Minor Slope Rockfish Pacific Whiting 

These species may be subject to seasons, trip limits, and 
quotas which are set annually by the Pacific Fishery 
Management Council. These limits are subject to change 
as the season progresses and are not published here. 
When a vessel legally carries or fishes two or more types of 
trawl nets on board, the vessel will be required to meet the 
most restrictive trip limits. Contact any of the offices listed on 
the following page for current trip limits and regulations: 
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Oregon Dept. of Fish and Wildlife 
Marine Program Office 
2040 SE Marine Science Drive 
Newport, OR 97365 
Telephone: (541) 867-4741 
Oregon Dept. of Fish and Wildlife 
63538 Boat Basin Drive 
P.O. Box 5430 
Charleston, OR 97420 
Telephone: (541) 888-5515 
Oregon Dept. of Fish and Wildlife 
2001 Marine Drive, Room 120 
Astoria, OR 97103 
Telephone: (503) 325-2462 
Oregon Dept. of Fish and Wildlife 
16217 Hoffeldt Lane 
P.O. Box 480 
Brookings, OR 97415 
Telephone: (541) 412-7364 
Information on recent changes to catch allowances or trip 

limits may also be found at ODFW’s Marine Resources 
Program website:  www.dfw.state.or.us/MRP 

Sorting Required 
It is unlawful to fail to sort prior to the first weighing after 

offloading those groundfish species or species groups for 
which there is a trip limit, harvest guideline, quota, or harvest 
cap. 

1. Herring 
 A. In inland waters, except Yaquina Bay: 
  (1) It is unlawful to take herring from January 1 
through April 15 without a permit issued by ODFW's Marine 
Program office in Newport at (541) 867-4741; 
  (2) Herring taken January 1 through April 15 with 
a permit issued by the Marine Program office may be sold 
only for bait. 
 B. In Yaquina Bay: 
  (1) Herring may be taken only from January 1 
through December 31 and may be sold for any purpose. 
Restricted Fishery permit required (see page 7). 
  (2) During the period January 1 through April 15: 
   (a) It is unlawful to take herring without a 
permit from the Marine Program office in Newport; 
   (b) Herring may not be taken with nets from 
midnight Friday through midnight Sunday of any week; 
   (c) Purse seines may be no larger than 
50 fathoms by 7 fathoms. 

2. Thresher Shark 
It is unlawful to take thresher shark for commercial 

purposes with gillnets, except as bycatch in the swordfish 
fishery. Thresher shark, taken with gear legal for other ocean 
food fish and within catch and season restrictions for other 
food fish, may be landed in Oregon. 
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Rules regarding the harvest of highly migratory species 
can be found in the Code of Federal Regulations, Title 50 Part 
660 subpart K. 

3. Surfperch 
It is unlawful to take surfperch for commercial purposes 

from Oregon’s bays and estuaries the entire year and from 
the Pacific Ocean August 1 through September 30. 

Length Limits 
1. Lingcod 
It is unlawful to take lingcod smaller than 24 inches total 

length with trawl gear. It is unlawful to take lingcod smaller 
than 22 inches total length with open access fishing gear. 
The size limit applies to the longest measurement of the fish 
without mutilation of the fish or the use of force to extend the 
length of the fish. 
 A. For whole lingcod, total length will be measured 
from the tip of the snout (mouth closed) to the tip of the tail in 
a natural relaxed position. 
 B. For a lingcod with the head removed, the length 
(19.5 inches for trawl and 18.0 inches open access gear) will 
be measured from the origin of the first dorsal fin to the tip of 
the upper lobe of the tail; the dorsal fin and tail must be left 
intact. 
 2. Sturgeon 

It is unlawful to take white sturgeon for commercial 
purposes which are less than 48 inches or more than 
60 inches in length or to take green sturgeon which are less 
than 48 inches or more than 60 inches in length. See 
page 37 for a picture and description of the correct way to 
measure the fish. 

3. Black Rockfish/Blue Rockfish/Nearshore Fishery 
It is unlawful to take China, Copper, Grass, and Quillback 

rockfish or Greenling smaller than 12 inches in length with 
non-trawl fishing gear. It is unlawful to take Cabezon smaller 
than 16 inches in length with non-trawl fishing gear. 
 
Far Offshore Fishery 
   (OAR 635-004-0125 through 635-004-0150) 

“Far Offshore Fishery” is defined as a fishery where the 
fish are taken outside the United States 200-mile fishery 
conservation zone. 

The vessel operator of any vessel participating in a far 
offshore fishery intending to land fish products in Oregon 
shall notify ODFW of any such fishing trip at least 48 hours 
prior to leaving port. This requirement applies only to a 
groundfish target fishery. Vessel operators of any vessel 
targeting albacore tuna or swordfish in the far offshore 
fishery are not required to make a far offshore declaration. 
The notification provides opportunity for ODFW to conduct a 
hold inspection to certify that the hold is empty of fish 
products and that the vessel is authorized to participate in 
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the far offshore fishery. See page 10 for information on the 
High Seas Fishery Permit. 

A declaration (either written or verbal) to leave for a far 
offshore fishery shall include: 
 1. Intended area to be fished; and 

2. Intended port and processor of delivery. 
The vessel operator will also be asked to provide: 
1. Vessel name and documentation number; 
2. Date and time of departure; 
3. Intended gear; 
4. Intended target species; and 
5. Estimate of date trip will be completed. 
The operator of a vessel participating in, and intending to 

return from, the far offshore fishery must notify ODFW at 
least 24 hours prior to delivery and include the following 
information: 

1. Vessel name and documentation number; 
2. Date and time of delivery; 
3. Port and processor of delivery; and 
4. Estimated weight of fish on board. 

Vessel operators may contact any ODFW Marine Program 
office during regular office hours. 
 
Black Rockfish/Blue Rockfish/Nearshore Fishery 
   (OAR 635-004-0160 through 635-004-0170) 

Permit Required 
Restricted fishery permit required for Black Rockfish; 

Blue Rockfish; and Nearshore Fishery (see page 8). 
Area 
The Pacific Ocean is open to the commercial harvest of 

black rockfish except for the areas described as Black 
Rockfish Management Areas on page 25, and the non-trawl 
Rockfish Conservation Area (RCA) described in the Code of 
Federal Regulations, Title 50 Part 660, subpart G which 
restricts most directed groundfish fishing activities.  

Information on federal closed fishing areas is available at:   
www.nwr.noaa.gov/Groundfish-Halibut/Groundfish-Fishery-
Management/Groundfish-Closed-
Areas/Index.cfm#CP_JUMP_30272  
      Additional closed or restricted areas may be 
imposed via state rule. Information on closed or restricted 
fishing areas is available at the ODFW Marine Resources 
website: www.dfw.state.or.us/MRP 

Gear 
It is unlawful to take black rockfish / blue rockfish / near-

shore fishery species by any means other than: 
 1. Hook and line gear (including pole and line; troll; 
longline; and stick gear). 
 2. Pot gear may be used if a Developmental Fisheries 
permit for nearshore species using pot gear was issued in 
2003. Pot gear shall be limited to a maximum of 35 pots. 
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Length 
See  page 22. 
Seasons and Trip Limits 
The season for black and blue rockfish and nearshore 

fish is open year-round until catch quotas are met. Regula-
tions for these species change throughout the season and 
Oregon Administrative Rules and federal regulations should 
be consulted before fishing. 

 
 Nearshore Species List: 
 Cabezon Grass Rockfish 
 Kelp Greenling Kelp Rockfish 
` Painted Greenling Olive Rockfish 
 Rock Greenling Quillback Rockfish 
 Whitespotted Greenling Tiger Rockfish 
 Black and Yellow Rockfish Vermilion Rockfish 
 Brown Rockfish Brown Irish Lord 
 Calico Rockfish Red Irish Lord 
 China Rockfish Buffalo Sculpin 
 Copper Rockfish Treefish 
 Gopher Rockfish 

A person without a permit may catch black rockfish / blue 
rockfish / nearshore fish if the person: 

1. For only one landing per day, lands no more than 15 
pounds of black rockfish, blue rockfish, nearshore fish or a 
combination thereof and if the black rockfish, blue rockfish 
and nearshore fish: 

(a) Make up 25% or less of the total poundage of the 
landing; and 

(b) Are landed with fishing gear that is legal to use in 
the fishery in which the black rockfish, blue rockfish or 
nearshore fish are landed; 

2. Operates a vessel in the ocean troll salmon fishery 
and the person lands black rockfish, blue rockfish or a 
combination thereof in the same landing in which the person 
lands a salmon under the permit required by ORS 508.801 to 
508.825. All black rockfish and blue rockfish described in this 
paragraph must be landed dead. A person who lands black 
rockfish and blue rockfish described in this paragraph may 
land up to 100 pounds of black rockfish, blue rockfish or a 
combination thereof per landing. 

3. Lands no more than 15 pounds per vessel of black 
rockfish, blue rockfish, or a combination thereof after the total 
amount of black rockfish and blue rockfish combined landed 
in the salmon troll fishery reaches 3000 pounds in any 
calendar year. 

4. Operates a vessel in the west coast groundfish trawl 
fishery and lands no more than 1,000 pounds of black 
rockfish, blue rockfish or a combination thereof per calendar 
year and if the black rockfish and blue rockfish: 

(a) Make up 25% or less of the total poundage of 
each landing; and 

(b) Are landed dead; or 
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5. Is a nonprofit aquarium or has contracted with a 
nonprofit aquarium to land black rockfish, blue rockfish or 
nearshore fish for the purpose of displaying or conducting 
research on the black rockfish, blue rockfish or nearshore 
fish. 
Black Rockfish Management Areas 

The following trip limit applies to black rockfish (Sebastes 
melanops) taken with a black rockfish / blue rockfish permit 
or a black rockfish / blue rockfish permit with a nearshore 
endorsement: 

1. It is unlawful to take or retain more than 200 pounds 
of black rockfish, or 65 fish, whichever is greater, per vessel 
from a single fishing trip within one of the following areas: 

(a) Tillamook Head (45° 56’45” N. latitude) to Cape 
Lookout (45° 20’15” N. latitude); 

(b) Cascade Head (45° 03’50” N. latitude) to Cape 
Perpetua (44° 18’ N. latitude); 

(c) From a point (43° 30’ N. latitude), approximately 
8-1/2 nautical miles north of the Coos Bay north jetty to a 
point (43° 03’ N. latitude) adjacent to the mouth of Fourmile 
Creek, approximately 4-1/2 nautical miles south of the 
Bandon south jetty; 

(d) Mack Arch (42° 13’40” N. latitude) to Oregon-
California border (42° N. latitude). 

2. No vessel shall take, retain, possess, or land more 
than the allowed trip limit when fishing occurs for any species 
of fish within one of these restricted areas. 
 
SARDINE FISHERY 
   (OAR 635-004-0011 through 635-004-0016) 

Permit Required 
Restricted fishery permit required for ocean sardine 

fishery (see page 9) 
Gear 
A grate with spacing no larger than 2-3/8 inches 

between the bars must be placed over the intake of the 
hold of the vessel to sort out larger species of fish. 

Bycatch 
All groundfish and salmon must be returned to the 

water immediately.  Every effort must be made to dipnet 
salmon out of the seine net before they go through a pump 
system. 

No Directed Reduction Fishery Allowed 
No more than ten percent of a sardine landing may be 

used for the purposes of conversion into fish flour, fish 
meal, fish scrap, fertilizer, fish oil, other fishery products or 
by-products for purposes other than human consumption or 
fishing bait.  Exceptions to this rule may be granted due to 
unforeseen circumstances with written authorization by the 
ODFW Director to avoid wastage of fish. 
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SALMON, OCEAN TROLL FISHERY 
   (OAR 635-003-0003 through 635-003-0085) 

Permit Required 
Regulations for the ocean troll salmon fishery change 

frequently. Consult the latest Oregon Administrative Rule 
and federal regulations covering this fishery before fishing. 
For further information, contact the Pacific Fishery Manage-
ment Council at (866) 806-7204 or NOAA Fisheries at 
(206) 526-6140, or ODFW Marine Program Office in Newport 
at (541) 867-4741. For a recorded message that summarizes 
inseason changes to date, call the ocean salmon telephone 
hotline at (206) 526-6667 or (800) 662-9825. Restricted 
fishery permit required, see page 7. 

Area 
Pacific Ocean only. See DEFINITIONS on page 3. 
Gear 
Commercial troll gear only, which is defined as one or 

more lines that drag hooks behind a moving fishing vessel. 
In that portion of the fishery management area off Oregon 
and Washington, the line or lines must be affixed to the 
vessel and must not be intentionally disengaged from the 
vessel at any time during the fishing operation. It is unlawful 
to engage in recreational fishing while aboard a vessel 
engaged in commercial fishing. 

Length 
The length of a salmon is the shortest distance between 

the tip of the snout or jaw (whichever extends furthest while 
mouth is closed) and the tip of the longest lobe of the tail 
when in line with the backbone. 

All salmon must be landed with the head on, except 
heads may be removed from salmon which are to be frozen 
and will remain frozen until landed and which do not have the 
adipose fin removed (coded-wire tagged fish). 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
The head-off length of a salmon is the distance between 

the midpoint of the clavicle arch and the fork of the tail. 
Steelhead and striped bass cannot be taken for 

commercial purposes. 
 



 

[ 27 ] 

SMELT FISHERY 
   (OAR 635-004-0070 through 635-004-0075, 635-042-0130) 

Seasons 
It is unlawful to take smelt for commercial purposes 

except during those times specified: 
Pacific Ocean at all times; 
Umpqua River at all times in those areas not closed by 

ORS 511.506 (closes Umpqua and Smith rivers upstream 
from about river miles 21 and 15, respectively); 

Sandy River at all times downstream from and north of 
the highway bridge at Troutdale, Oregon US 30 Alternate; 
NOTE: Rule changes are pending for the Columbia River 
smelt fishery. For current regulations, contact Columbia 
River Management at ODFW in Clackamas, (971) 673-6000. 

Gear 
It is unlawful to take smelt for commercial purposes from 

the: 
Pacific Ocean by any means other than fishing gear 

authorized for the taking of ocean food fish; 
Umpqua River by any means other than dip nets and by 

gill nets not more than 600 feet in length and of a mesh size 
no more than 2 inches; 

Sandy River by any means other than dip nets; 
Columbia River by any means other than gill nets with a 

mesh size of no more than 2 inches, dip nets having a bag 
frame no more than 36 inches in diameter or trawl nets with: 

Head rope not more than 25 feet; 
Foot rope or groundline not more than 25 feet; 
Door size not more than 3 feet by 4 feet; 
Mesh size not more than 2 inches; 
Bag length not more than 35 feet; 
Breast rope not more than 5 feet; 
Bridle rope not more than 8 feet. 
Upstream from Tongue Point trawl vessels may not 

exceed 32 feet. 
 
SHELLFISH FISHERIES 

Directed fisheries on some shellfish species require 
possession of a Developmental Fisheries Permit. See page 10 
for a species listing. Some of the shellfish fisheries listed below 
also require other types of permits. Requirements are noted at 
the beginning of each fishery description. 
• Abalone 

   (OAR 635-005-0005, 635-006-0850) 
No commercial harvest except as provided under a 

Developmental Fishery Permit, see page 9. 
• Clam Fishery 

   (OAR 635-005-0001, 635-005-0015 
     through 635-005-0035) 
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Permit Required 
Restricted Fisheries Permit required for subtidal 

estuarine harvest of cockle, butter, gaper, littleneck, and 
softshell clams using dive gear (see pages 8-10). 
Commercial Shellfish Harvest Permit required (no fee 
required) to take bay clams from intertidal areas and razor 
clams. Contact ODFW in Astoria at (503) 325-2462 for more 
information. 

Diggers of clams for human consumption must also 
obtain a shellfish sanitation certificate ($75 fee) from the 
Oregon Dept. of Agriculture (ODA). Call (503) 986-4720 for 
information. 

Seasons, Closures, and Restrictions 
1. Gaper clams may be taken: 

(a) from July 1 through December 31; and 
(b) holders of a bay clam dive permit may take gaper 

clams from January through June as incidental catch at a ratio 
of 25 pounds of gaper clams per 100 pounds of butter clams 
or one gaper clam per eight butter clams, whichever allows a 
greater incidental catch of gaper clams. 

2. Razor clams may be taken year-round, except from 
July 15 through September 30 in the area north of Tillamook 
Head in Clatsop County. 

3. It is unlawful to take clams from Little Nestucca Bay, 
Big Nestucca Bay, Netarts Bay (except cockles may be 
taken from an area extending 500 feet to the north adjacent 
to Oregon State University’s shellfish reserve and across the 
entire width of the bay), Salmon River and Bay, Siletz River 
and Bay, All state parks south of Tillamook Head. 

4. Bay clams may be taken in Tillamook Bay, under a 
bay clam dive permit except from the following areas: 

 (a) The “Ghost Hole” from the floating toilet site south 
to Sandstone Point and 500 feet westward from the Highway 
101 shoreline; 

 (b) The area east of a line connecting the Coast 
Guard tower on the north jetty and buoy marker 13; 

 (c) The area above mean lower low water near 
Kincheloe Point 

5. Bay clams in Coos Bay may be taken in Coos Bay 
under a bay clam dive permit except from the following 
areas: 

 (a) In depths less than 10 feet from mean lower low 
water; 

 (b) The area of South Slough east of the Charleston 
bridge. 

6. Posted shellfish preserves in Netarts and Yaquina 
bays are closed to all clam digging (see page 39). 

Gear 
It is unlawful to take any species of clams (except razors) 

for commercial purposes by any means other than hand or 
hand-powered tool except as provided by OAR 635-005-
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0016.  It is unlawful to take razor clams for commercial 
purposes by any means other than by hand or by shovel. 

Size 
The minimum legal size of razor clams taken for 

commercial purposes is 3-3/4 inches shell length, measured 
tip-to-tip.  All undersized razor clams must be immediately 
returned to the hole from which they were dug with the hinge 
oriented towards the ocean. 

The minimum legal size of cockle clams taken for 
commercial purposes under a bay clam dive permit is 2-1/4 
inches at the widest dimension. 

The minimum legal size of gaper clams taken for 
commercial purposes under a bay clam dive permit is 4 
inches at the widest dimension. 

Time of Sale 
Clams being sold as bait must be sold within 48 hours of 

harvest or leaving the digging area, whichever comes last. 
Clams being sold for human consumption must be sold 

within 24 hours of harvest or leaving the digging area, which-
ever comes last. 

Logbook Required 
Each commercial digger harvesting clams must keep a log 

on forms provided by ODFW. All clam diggers shall fill out 
logbooks prior to leaving the digging area. Submit monthly 
report forms for bay clam harvest to ODFW, Newport and for 
razor clam harvest to ODFW, Astoria, within 10 days following 
the end of the month that clams were harvested. 

Restrictions - Oregon Dept. of Agriculture (ODA) 
1. It is unlawful to take clams or mussels for any 

commercial purpose from a health closure area closed due 
to the level of biotoxins (which are naturally occurring 
shellfish toxins monitored by ODA). 

2. It is unlawful for any person to sell shellfish for human 
consumption: 

(a) taken from an area designated as restricted by 
ODA; or 

(b) taken without a shellfish sanitation certificate from 
ODA. 

3. Health closure information, warnings and alerts can 
be obtained by calling the ODA shellfish telephone hotline at 
(503) 986-4728 or (503) 986-4720. Also available on the 
Internet at www.oregon.gov/ODA/FSD/shellfish_status.html. 
• Clams and Mussels for Bait 

Clams and mussels taken as bait must be visibly dyed 
with an ODFW-approved dye (Red #40). 

1. Dyeing must occur before leaving the harvest area, 
before being transported by vehicle, or before the time of 
docking of the vessel used in harvesting. 

2. Clams and mussels taken for bait may not be 
possessed aboard a vessel while clams and mussels for 
human consumption are on board.  Upon leaving the vessel 
or the harvest area, clams and mussels taken as bait may 
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not be mixed with clams and mussels taken for human 
consumption. 

3. Prior to sale, clams or mussels taken from restricted 
areas and live boxed must be stored in a restricted area 
pending sale. 

4. Clams or mussels taken for human consumption and 
later sold as bait must be dyed at the time of sale to a bait 
dealer. 
 
OCEAN DUNGENESS CRAB FISHERY 
   (OAR 635-005-0045 through 635-005-0060) 

Permit Required 
Restricted fishery permit required for ocean fishery, see 

page 7. 
Oregon ocean Dungeness crab permits are valid only in 

Oregon state waters and the Pacific Ocean in federal 
waters south of the Oregon/Washington border and north 
of the Oregon/California border, extending 200 nautical 
miles westward.  Landing Dungeness crab legally taken 
from the Pacific Ocean and Columbia River is allowed in 
Oregon with a valid Oregon Dungeness crab permit. 

Seasons and Trip Limits 
It is unlawful to take, land, or possess Dungeness crab 

for commercial purposes from the Pacific Ocean or Columbia 
River from August 15 through November 30 (see Pacific 
Ocean definition page 3). It is illegal to place or leave pots in 
the ocean or Columbia River during the closed season 
except baited pots may be set up to 64 hours prior to the 
season opening; and unbaited, open pots may be left in the 
ocean (not including the Columbia River) for no more than 
14 days after the season closure. It is unlawful for any vessel 
to take, land or possess more than 1,200 pounds of ocean 
and Columbia River Dungeness crab per week beginning the 
second Monday in June through August 14. Crabbers must 
maintain copies of all landing receipts on board the fishing 
vessel during this period. A Dungeness crab permit is not 
required for vessels that are engaged solely in setting gear 
for a permitted vessel and which do not retrieve, retain or 
possess Dungeness crab. Vessel holds must be inspected 
before crab can be landed in Oregon. At the time of the hold 
inspection, the vessel operator must declare and certify on 
the Oregon hold inspection certification form the maximum 
number of pots that will be used in that season’s fishery 
before fishing. 

Season openings may be delayed if preseason sampling 
indicates meat recovery criteria (25% south of Cascade 
Head and 23% north of Cascade Head) are not met or 
projected to be met by December 1. In that event, 
emergency regulations will be adopted to establish season 
opening dates, areas, and any additional restrictions. 

In the event of a delayed season opening for part of the 
Oregon coast, vessels electing to fish in the area open on 
December 1 may not fish in an area with a delayed opening 
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within the first 30 days after the delayed opening date. In 
addition, vessels electing to fish in an area shall be certified 
to have been free of crab on the day immediately prior to 
the opening of the selected fishing area. 

Fisheries restrictions may also apply after May 31 to 
protect softshell crab. If the catch of the Oregon ocean 
Dungeness crab fishery after May 31 is greater than 
10 percent of the catch of the previous December 1 through 
May 31 period, the season shall be closed until the following 
December 1. 

Gear 
Crab pots must not be larger than 13 cubic feet internal 

volume and must have no less than two circular escape 
ports of at least 4-1/4 inches (inside diameter) on top or side 
of pot (upper half only) and one of the following: 

1. Iron lid strap hooks of mild steel rod not greater than 
1/4-inch diameter; 

2. A single loop of untreated cotton twine or other 
natural fiber twine, or other twine approved by ODFW not 
heavier than 120 thread between the pot lid tiedown hooks 
and the tiedown straps; or 

3. Any modification of the wire mesh on the top or side 
of the pot, secured with a single strand of 120 thread size 
untreated cotton, natural fiber, or other twine approved by 
ODFW which, when removed, will create an opening of at 
least 5 inches in diameter. 

Each crab pot used for the taking of crabs for commercial 
purposes must have attached to it a tag identifying the owner 
or the vessel from which the pots are operated. 

It is unlawful to deploy or fish more crab pots than the 
number of pots assigned by the crab pot allocation certificate 
or to use any vessel other than the vessel designated on the 
crab pot allocation, except to set gear as allowed under OAR 
635-006-1015gA. 

Crab pot buoys must be marked with a unique number 
registered to the owner by ODFW. Marks must be legible 
and permanent. Register by writing or calling the ODFW 
Licensing Services office in Salem. 

Each crab pot must have an ODFW buoy tag attached to 
the main buoy (the buoy closest to the pot).  Lost buoy tags 
may be replaced 45 days following the season opening by 
submitting a declaration of loss.  The declaration must be 
signed in the presence of an authorized ODFW employee 
(Licensing Services, Salem, OR and must state the specific 
tag number of each lost tag, the location and date where lost 
gear or tags were last observed, and the presumed cause of 
the loss.  Replacement tags will only be issued up to10% of 
the permit holder’s pot limit. 

Crab pots may not be used in any bay or estuary except 
the Columbia River.    

Sex and size 
1. Only male Dungeness crab 6-1/4 inches or larger 

may be taken or possessed. Measurement is a straight line 
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or caliper measurement made directly in front of 10th 
anterolateral spine. 

2. Undersized or female crabs must be released 
unharmed in the fishing area within 15 minutes of capture in 
the ocean. 

3. Crab must be landed whole. 
Pot Limit Control Date 
   (OAR 635-006-1015) 
If the Oregon Fish and Wildlife Commission establish a 

vessel crab pot limitation or allocation system beyond the 
2002-03 ocean crab season, August 14, 2001 is the control 
date for eligibility criteria related to past participation in the 
ocean fishery. 
 
BAY DUNGENESS CRAB FISHERY 
   (OAR 635-005-0049 through 635-005-0060) 

Seasons and Trip Limits 
Commercial fishing in bays is open from September 4, 

2007 through December 31, 2007, except for the Columbia 
River, which is similar to the ocean Dungeness crab season. 

It is unlawful to take bay Dungeness crab: 
1. During December, if the adjacent ocean area is 

closed; 
2. From midnight Friday through midnight Sunday of 

any week; and 
3. On all legal state and/or federal holidays. 
Fishing Gear 
Crab rings of any size are permitted. A ring is any device 

that allows unrestricted entry or exit while fishing. Crab pots 
may not be used in any bay or estuary except the Columbia 
River. Boats are limited to a maximum of 15 rings per boat in 
all bays and estuaries except the Columbia River.   

Each crab ring used for the taking of crabs for 
commercial purposes must have attached to it a tag 
identifying the owner or the vessel from which the rings are 
operated. 

Sex and Size 
1. Only male Dungeness crab 6-1/4 inches or larger 

may be taken or possessed. Measurement is a straight line 
or caliper measurement made directly in front of the 10th 
anterolateral spine. 

2. Undersized or female Dungeness crabs must be 
released immediately when captured inside any bay. 

3. Crab must be landed whole. 
RED ROCK; BOX; TANNER; OREGON HAIR; AND 
SCARLET KING CRAB 
   (OAR 635-005-0063 through 635-005-0067) 

Permit Required 
Directed fisheries on Box, Tanner, Oregon Hair, and 

Scarlet King crab require a Developmental Fisheries Permit, 
page 9. Permits to land Tanner and Box crab taken as 
incidental catch in trawl nets outside Oregon waters (beyond 
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three miles) may be obtained from ODFW's Marine Program 
office in Newport. Call (541) 867-4741 for more information. 

Season and Area 
Unlawful to take Red Rock, Box, Tanner, Oregon Hair, 

and Scarlet King crab: 
1. From the Pacific Ocean from November 1 until the 

opening of the next ocean Dungeness crab season in the 
area; and 

2. From the Pacific Ocean shoreward of the 40 fathom 
line when the ocean Dungeness crab season is closed. 

Gear 
Unlawful to take Red Rock, Box, Tanner, Oregon Hair, 

and Scarlet King crab except by rings, pots, and crab 
longline gear. Gear used must comply with provisions 
outlined in Dungeness crab section, pages 30-32. 

Size 
There are no size or sex restrictions for taking Red Rock, 

Box, or Tanner crabs. However, these crabs may not be 
mutilated before landing such that their species cannot be 
determined. 
 
CRAYFISH FISHERY 
   (OAR 635-005-0070 through 635-005-0085) 

Season 
April 1 through October 31. Crayfish with eggs attached 

must be returned immediately unharmed to the water. 
Possession of crayfish with eggs attached is prohibited. 

Gear and Size Restriction 
Crayfish pots or rings are the only permissible gear. 

Crayfish must be at least 3-5/8 inches in length from tip of 
nose to tip of tail. All boats, traps, buoys, liveboxes, holding 
pens, boxes, bags, and other containers used to take, hold, 
or transport crayfish must be labeled with an ODFW issued 
brand number. 

Closed Areas 
Malheur Reservoir (Malheur County), South Twin Lake 

(Deschutes County), and the Williamson River (Klamath 
County) are closed to commercial harvest. 
 
MISCELLANEOUS FISHERIES: 
MUSSELS, BAIT SHRIMP, AND MISCELLANEOUS 
MARINE INVERTEBRATES 

   (OAR 635-005-0090 through 635-005-0120) 
Permit Required 
Permit (no fee required) required from ODFW to take 

miscellaneous mussels, bait (ghost and mud) shrimp, and 
marine invertebrates. Contact ODFW's Marine Program 
office in Newport or Astoria. 

Gear and Area Restrictions 
It is unlawful to take miscellaneous marine invertebrates 

or mussels by means or in areas other than those set forth in 
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the permit. Areas closed to commercial harvest are the 
Marine Gardens at Haystack Rock (Cannon Beach), Cape 
Kiwanda, Otter Rock, Yaquina Head, Yachats State Park, 
Cape Perpetua, and Harris Beach State Park; and Research 
Reserves at Boiler Bay, Pirate Cove, Neptune State Park, 
Gregory Point, Cape Arago, and Brookings; and the Whale 
Cove Habitat Refuge. See page 37 for more detailed 
descriptions of closed area boundaries. See also the 2007 
Oregon Sport Fishing Regulations booklet for detailed maps 
of closed areas (pages 95-97). 

Time of Sale 
Mussels must be sold within 48 hours of harvest or 

leaving the harvesting area, whichever comes last.  See 
page29 for restrictions on clams and mussels from health 
closure areas. 
 
SCALLOP FISHERY 
   (OAR 635-005-0170 through 635-005-0175) 

Permit Required 
Restricted fishery permit required to take ocean 

(weathervane) scallops, see page 7. 
Season 
Open entire year. 
Gear 
Trawl nets or dredge with 3-inch mesh (between the 

knots) or rings throughout. Rock scallops may be taken 
with an abalone iron. 

Size 
No size limit. 

 
SEA URCHIN FISHERY 
   (OAR 635-005-0180) 

Permit Required 
Restricted fishery permit required, see page 8. 
Season 
Open entire year. 
Size 
Red urchins must be 3-1/2 inches or larger in shell 

diameter (not including spines) except that each diver may 
have up to 50 red urchins less than 3-1/2 inches in their 
possession. Purple urchins must be 2 inches or larger in 
shell diameter (without spines). Special harvesting permit 
required prior to harvesting purple urchins. Contact the 
ODFW Marine Program office in Newport for details. 

Area 
Urchins cannot be taken in water depths less than 

10 feet at mean lower low water. 
During the period, May 1 through August 31, urchins may 

not be taken within specific buffer zone at Pyramid rock at 
Rogue Reef. During the period May 1 through October 31, 
urchins may not be taken at Orford Reef, defined as the area 
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between the parallels of latitude 42° 49’ N. and 42° 46’ N. 
Contact the ODFW office in Newport for descriptions of these 
closed areas. 

Diver Limit 
Not more than two divers operating from any one boat 

may be in the water at the same time and no more than two 
persons without permits on board. 

Logbook Required 
Each diver harvesting sea urchins must keep a log on 

ODFW forms and return the log to ODFW each month 
urchins are harvested. 

Other Requirements 
A vessel’s federal document or Marine Board number 

must be displayed on a weather deck to be clearly visible 
from above. The numbers must be block Arabic numerals 
at  least 18-inches high for vessels over 65-feet in length 
and at least 10-inches high for vessels 65-feet or less. 
 
OCEAN PINK SHRIMP FISHERY 
   (OAR 635-005-0185 through 635-005-0200) 

Permit Required 
Restricted fishery permit required, see page 7. 
Season 
April 1 through October 31. Shrimp legally landed north 

of the U.S.-Canada border may be processed in Oregon at 
any time. 

Gear 
Trawl nets or pots only. 
It is unlawful to land shrimp taken south of the Oregon-

California border with nets having a mesh size of less than 
1-3/8 inches between knots. 

Maximum Count Per Pound 
It is unlawful to possess or land shrimp from any one trip 

or landing which exceeds an average count of 160 whole 
shrimp per pound. This rule does not apply to landing or 
possession of less than 3,000 pounds of shrimp. 

To determine average count per pound when a landing 
exceeds 3,000 pounds of shrimp, one sample must be taken 
from each one thousand pounds up to a maximum require-
ment of twenty samples. The sampling unit shall consist of at 
least one pound of whole unbroken shrimp. 

For the purpose of determining count per pound, “whole 
shrimp” and “whole unbroken shrimp” are defined as shrimp 
in which the body is substantially intact, including an identifi-
able carapace, abdomen, and telson (tail). It is not intended 
to require shrimp to have an unbroken rostrum, complete set 
of legs, antennae, or other appendages. 

Logbook Required 
The skipper of a boat fishing for pink shrimp must keep 

an accurate and truthful log on ODFW forms (see page 19). 
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Other Restrictions 
Bycatch Reduction Devices (BRDs) are required at all 

times when trawl fishing for ocean pink shrimp. Only soft-
panel and Nordmore grate style BRDs are allowed. Contact 
any ODFW Marine Program office for further information on 
approved BRDs. 

Incidental catch of Dover, English, or Petrale sole less 
than 11 inches in length must not exceed 250 lbs. in the 
aggregate. 

Federal groundfish trip limits, size limits, and sorting 
requirements now apply to the ocean pink shrimp fishery.  
Contact ODFW’s Marine Program office in Newport for 
current information. 

Vessels with a valid permit or license issued by another 
state for landing shrimp may, upon purchase of a single-
delivery license, land shrimp in Oregon. Frequency of use is 
limited. See Single-Delivery License, page 5. 
 
SPOT, SIDESTRIPE, AND COONSTRIPE SHRIMP 
FISHERIES 
   (OAR 635-005-0205 through 635-005-0220) 

Permit Required 
A target fishery on these three species requires posses-

sion of a Developmental Fisheries Permit, see page 9. 
Gear 
Pot gear only 
Closed Season 
There is no closed season for the taking of Spot, 

Sidestripe, or Coonstripe shrimp. 
Fishing Area 
It is unlawful to take Spot, Sidestripe, or Coonstripe 

from areas other than the Pacific Ocean. 
Incidental Catch Limit 
Provisions under OAR 635-005-0195 for the possession of 

incidental catch apply to the taking of Spot, Sidestripe, and 
Coonstripe shrimp, within state waters. Other federal ground-
fish limits, size limits and sorting requirements may apply. 
For  current information call ODFW’s Marine Program Office 
in Newport at (541) 867-4741. 
 
STURGEON FISHERY     
 (OAR 635-004-0080 through 635-004-0090) 

Season 
It is unlawful to take sturgeon for commercial purposes 

except in the: (1) Columbia River, in the areas and during the 
times open to the taking of salmon or sturgeon for commercial 
purposes with gill nets; (2) Siuslaw, Coos, and Coquille Rivers 
in the areas and during the times open to the taking of shad for 
commercial purposes; (3) Pacific Ocean at all times. 



 

[ 37 ] 

Gear 
It is unlawful to take sturgeon for commercial purposes 

by any means other than the commercial fishing gear 
authorized in the fishing area in which the sturgeon are 
taken. Sturgeon may be taken for commercial purposes 
incidental to fishing for other target species and with legal 
gear designed for the target species. 

Size Limit 
It is unlawful to take white sturgeon for commercial pur-

poses which are less than 48 inches or more than 60 inches 
total length, and it is unlawful to take green sturgeon which 
are less than 48 inches or more than 60 inches total length. 
It  is unlawful to remove the head or tail, or dress any 
sturgeon taken for commercial purposes prior to being 
received at the premises of a wholesale fish dealer. 

 
Length is measured as the shortest distance between 

the tip of the nose and the extreme tip of the tail while the 
fish lies on its side on a flat surface with its tail in a normal 
position. 
 

MARINE GARDEN, RESERVE, REFUGE, 
AND CLOSURE AREAS 

 
The following coastal Marine Gardens, Intertidal and 

Subtidal Research Reserves, and Habitat Refuge are 
protected areas and have restrictions on the commercial 
take of food fish, shellfish and marine invertebrates: 
Marine Gardens 

The following areas are closed to the commercial take 
of shellfish and marine invertebrates: 
• Haystack Rock Marine Garden (Cannon Beach) – 

All areas between extreme high tide and extreme low 
tide lying within a 300-yard radius of the base of 
Haystack Rock. 

• Cape Kiwanda Marine Garden (Pacific City) – All 
areas between extreme high tide and extreme low tide 
lying between the sand beach on the north and the 
sand beach on the south of Cape Kiwanda. Includes 
rocky areas abutting the sand beaches on the north and 
south sides of the headland. 

• Otter Rock Marine Garden (north of Newport) – 
All areas between extreme high tide and extreme low 
tide lying between Cape Foulweather (Otter Rock State 
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Wayside) on the north and Devil’s Punchbowl on the 
south. 

• Yaquina Head Marine Garden (north of Newport) – 
All areas between extreme high tide and extreme low 
tide lying between the sand beach on the north and the 
sand beach on the south of Yaquina Head. 

• Yachats Marine Garden (Yachats) – All areas between 
extreme high tide and extreme low tide lying between 
the north and south boundaries of Yachats State Park. 

• Cape Perpetua Marine Garden (south of Yachats) – 
All areas between extreme high tide and extreme low tide 
lying between the north side of Devil’s Churn on the north 
and the northerly boundary of Neptune State Park on the 
south. 

• Harris Beach Marine Garden (north of Brookings) – 
All areas between extreme high tide and extreme low 
tide lying between the Harris Beach State Park beach 
access parking area on the north and the road entrance 
to Harris Beach State Park off of Highway 101 on the 
south. 

Research Reserves 
The following areas are closed to the commercial take 

of shellfish and marine invertebrates: 
• Boiler Bay Intertidal Research Reserve (Depoe Bay) – 

All areas between extreme high and extreme low tide 
lying from the mouth of Fogarty Creek on the north, to 
the western-most tip of Government Point at Boiler Bay 
State Wayside on the south. 

• Pirate Cove Research Reserve (Depoe Bay) – 
All areas in Pirate Cove below extreme high tide east of 
a line drawn across the mouth of the cove. 

• Neptune State Park Intertidal Research Reserve 
(south of Yachats) – All areas between extreme high tide 
and extreme low tide lying between the northerly and 
southerly boundaries of the northern parcel of Neptune 
State Park. 

• Gregory Point Subtidal Research Reserve (west of 
Charleston) – All subtidal areas within reserve bounda-
ries below extreme low tide. Refer to Oregon Sport 
Fishing Regulations for map and area description. 

• Cape Arago Intertidal Research Reserve (southwest 
of Charleston) - All areas between extreme high tide 
and extreme low tide lying between a line projected due 
west from the Cape Arago lighthouse and a point 
3/4 mile south of Cape Arago State Park. 

• Brookings Intertidal Research Reserve (Brookings) – 
All areas between extreme high tide and extreme low tide 
lying between a point 1/2 mile north of Harris Beach 
State Park on the north, and the mouth of the Chetco 
River on the south (except that portion of the area within 
the Harris Beach Marine Gardens). 
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Habitat Refuge 
The following area is closed to the commercial take of 

marine fish, shellfish, and marine invertebrates: 
• Whale Cove Habitat Refuge (south of Depoe Bay) – 

All areas in Whale Cove below extreme high tide east of 
a line drawn across the mouth of the cove. 

Note: Refer to the 2007 Oregon Sport Fishing regulations 
booklet (pages 95-97) for detailed maps of the above 
protected areas and for additional location information. 
 
Shellfish Preserves 
   (OAR 635-005-0015) 

The following areas are closed to take of clams in 
posted areas: 
• Netarts Bay Shellfish Preserve (Netarts) – That portion 

within an area bounded on the north by a line extending 
westerly (at a compass bearing of 282 degrees) from the 
mouth of Whiskey Creek on the east shoreline and 
across the bay to the western shoreline and bounded on 
the south by a line running parallel and approximately 
900 yards south of the northern boundary. 

• Yaquina Bay Shellfish Preserve (Newport) – The inter-
tidal area on the north side of the wood-piling break-
water, that is immediately south of the troller’s basin. 

Other Closure 
• Three Arch Rocks (seaward of Oceanside) – Closed to 

boats 500 feet around the main rocks May 1-Septem-
ber 15 by authority of the Oregon State Marine Board. 

Other Protected Areas 
All of the islands and rocks exposed above mean high 

water along the Oregon coast are within the Oregon Islands 
National Wildlife Refuge or Three Arch Rocks National 
Wildlife Refuges administered by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service. These areas provide habitat and protection for 
marine mammals, seabirds, and threatened and endangered 
species. Trespassing is prohibited at all times. In addition, 
any disturbance of wildlife or the refuge from activities near 
the refuge rocks is also a violation of Federal laws such as 
the National Wildlife Refuge Administration Act, Endangered 
Species Act, Migratory Bird Treaty Act, and others. Any 
questions should be directed to the Refuge Manager, 
Oregon    Coast National Wildlife Refuge Complex, 
2127  SE  Marine Science Drive, Newport, Oregon 97365. 
Phone: (541) 867-4550 or Email: Oregoncoast@fws.gov. 
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Oregon Department of 
Fish and Wildlife 

 
Transportation Report for 

Commercially Caught Fish and 
Shellfish 

 
 
Date:  
 
Caught by: _________________________  

(Fishers Name) 

__________________________________  
(Fishers Address) 

__________________________________  
(Commercial License Number) 

 
Delivering to: _______________________  

(Oregon Licensed Dealer Name) 

__________________________________  
(Dealer Address) 

 
List Each Species Below 

Species Number Approx. Wt. (lbs.) 
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  

 
 

ODFW no longer furnishes Transportation Report forms. 
The required information may be on any convenient paper. 

See OAR 635-006-0165 for additional requirements. 
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Caught by: _________________________  
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__________________________________  
(Fishers Address) 

__________________________________  
(Commercial License Number) 

 
Delivering to: _______________________  

(Oregon Licensed Dealer Name) 

__________________________________  
(Dealer Address) 

 
List Each Species Below 

Species Number Approx. Wt. (lbs.) 
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  
__________________________________  

 
 

ODFW no longer furnishes Transportation Report forms. 
The required information may be on any convenient paper. 

See OAR 635-006-0165 for additional requirements. 
 

 



 

[ 42 ] 

Notes 
_____________________________  
_____________________________  
_____________________________  
_____________________________  
_____________________________  
_____________________________  
_____________________________  
_____________________________  
_____________________________  
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_____________________________  
_____________________________  
_____________________________  
_____________________________  
_____________________________  
_____________________________  
_____________________________  
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OREGON FISH AND WILDLIFE COMMISSION 
 

Dan Edge.............................................................. Corvallis 
Jon Englund .............................................................Astoria 
Carter Kerns........................................................ Pendleton 
Skip Klarquist .........................................................Portland 
Bobby Levy .................................................................Echo 
Marla Rae .................................................................Salem 
Zane Smith......................................................... Springfield 
 
 
 

 OREGON DEPARTMENT OF FISH 
   AND WILDLIFE 
Salem Headquarters 
3406 Cherry Avenue N.E. 
Salem, OR 97303-4924 

 
 

 General Information:  (503) 947-6002 
 
 

 License Sales:  (503) 947-6100 
 
 

 Marine Resources Program Offices: 
 

Office Address Telephone Number 
Astoria 2001 Marine Drive, 

Room 120 
Astoria, 97103 

(503) 325-2462 

Newport 2040 SE Marine 
Science Drive 
Newport, 97365 

(541) 867-4741 

Charleston 63538 Boat Basin Dr. 
P.O. Box 5430 
Charleston, 97420 

(541) 888-5515 

Brookings 16217 Hoffeldt Lane 
P.O. Box 480 
Brookings, 97415 

(541) 412-7364 

 
 

Regional Offices: 
 

Office Address Telephone Number 
Northwest 17330 SE Evelyn St. 

Clackamas, 97015 
(971) 673-6000 

Southwest 4192 N Umpqua Hwy. 
Roseburg, 97470 

(541) 440-3353 

High Desert 61374 Parrell Road 
Bend, 97702 

(541) 388-6363 

Northeast 107 20th Street 
La Grande, 97850 

(541) 963-2138 
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