SALEM, Ore.—Resident and nonresident hunting and fishing license fees will increase under the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife’s fee bill which was signed by Governor Kulongoski this week.
The new fees, effective Jan. 1, 2010, will provide some new opportunities for hunters and anglers and help ODFW keep pace with the escalating costs of managing the state’s fish and wildlife populations.
- Habitat restoration projects to benefit deer and elk populations
- Increased trout stocking for lakes, ponds, reservoirs and rivers
- Two additional Oregon State Police Fish and Wildlife Division officers in Central Oregon
- A two-pole option: A new $17 validation will allow licensed anglers to fish with a second fishing pole and line on most lakes, ponds and reservoirs
- Fish passage and riparian and in-stream habitat enhancement programs
- Additional funding for commercial fishing law enforcement
A key piece of the new fee structure is a reduction in fees for juveniles (14-17 years old). To encourage the next generation of hunters and anglers, ODFW is offering a new $50 resident juvenile Sports Pac. Juveniles can also hunt turkey and big game at a reduced price, and new non-resident fees will encourage youth to come to Oregon to hunt and fish.
For more information and to see the new fees, visit the ODFW website, About Us, Budget Information.