SALEM, Ore. - Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife officials today announced the 2010 Spring Fishing Forecast, a statewide overview of conditions and fishing opportunities throughout Oregon. The forecast is available on the ODFW website.
Trout is the number one game fish in Oregon and the early-season opener is Saturday, April 24. ODFW already has been stocking dozens of lakes, ponds and reservoirs with legal-sized and larger trout and anglers should expect some very productive days on the water.
Many lakes, reservoirs and some streams throughout the state will be open to trout fishing on April 24. Several other rivers and streams will open May 22 in order to protect young salmon and steelhead smolts that are still migrating to the ocean. Anglers should check the 2010 Oregon Sport Fishing Regulations for details.
In addition to some regulation changes, which are described by water body in the forecast, Oregon trout anglers should be aware of some new fishing opportunities and license requirements for 2010:
* ODFW will be supplementing its regular trout stocking program with over 200,000 larger and trophy-sized trout, thanks to a special appropriation from the Oregon legislature. Check the weekly Recreation Report to find out where these fish are being stocked.
* Anglers can now use two rods when fishing lakes, reservoirs and other stillwaters. Try fishing off the bottom with one rig, and off the top with another. Or strip in fly at the same time you’ve got a worm under a bobber. Anglers need to purchase a two-rod license ($17) to use a second rod, and the license does not apply torun-of-river reservoirs in the Columbia River and the Snake River below Hells Canyon Dam.
* Beginning Jan.1, 2010, resident and nonresident boaters will need an Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Permit for non-motorized boats (drift boats, canoes, kayaks, inflatable pontoon boat, etc.) that are 10 feet long or longer. (Out-of-state visitors who use a motorized boat in any of Oregon’s waters will be required to purchase a $22 annual permit ($20 permit plus $2 agent fee) and carry it with them. Resident registered boat owners will pay their fee when they register their boats. For more information on the permit, see the Oregon Marine Board website.
In the forecast, ODFW district fish biologists have described available access for boats and bank anglers, water levels, recent regulation changes, best time of year to fish, where to target your efforts, and tips on gear, lures and techniques for hundreds of rivers, streams, lakes and reservoirs throughout the state.
They’ve also highlighted some recent efforts to increase access and improve fisheries, as well as the results of recent creel surveys.
In addition to the Spring Fishing Forecast, ODFW offers many other Web resources for the both the novice and accomplished angler:
* The weekly Recreation Report updates fishing conditions on hundreds of water bodies throughout the state.
* How-to publications offer tips on gear and techniques for trout,
* Families with children should check out “Easy Angling Oregon” that describes more than two dozen places to fish throughout the state that are easy to reach and do not require a boat or specialized gear.