December 2, 2013
|Matthew McGanty of McMinnville won the 2013 raffle for a pronghorn antelope tag. Big game raffle tickets start at just $4.50 for deer tags and make great gifts for hunters.
Click to enlarge
SALEM, Ore. — Hunting and fishing licenses and tags; Sports Pacs; parking permits; 2014 Habitat Conservation Stamps; raffle tickets and more are on sale just in time for holiday gift giving. They can be purchased on the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife website, at ODFW license agents (pdf) and at ODFW offices that sell ODFW documents.
- A Juvenile Resident Sports Pac makes a great gift. It lets 12- to 17-year olds fish, hunt, crab and clam all year for only $55. The package includes one of each of the following: Combination angling/hunting/shellfish license; combined angling harvest tag; upland game bird and Oregon waterfowl validation; and tags (general or controlled) for deer, elk, bear, cougar and spring turkey.
- Adult anglers and hunters reap the benefits of reduced pricing in a Sports Pac for $164.75, a $69.75 savings.
- Senior citizens 70 and over who have been Oregon residents for five years get a fishing license for $15 and a hunting license for $13.75.
- The 2014 Habitat Conservation Stamp helps restore the state’s native habitats to benefit fish and wildlife. For $40, you get a collector stamp and an ODFW Wildlife Area parking permit (a $22 value).
- Raffle tickets begin at $4.50 for deer tags and make a great gift for any hunter who wants an additional chance to hunt big game. Deer, elk, pronghorn antelope, Rocky Mt goat and bighorn sheep raffle tickets are available. Winners can hunt an expanded area and extended season.
- ODFW Outdoors classes: Introduce a beginner to fishing, hunting, crabbing or clamming by giving them a gift certificate to one of classes. These cannot be purchased through the license sales system but need to be purchased by contacting Mark Newell, Mark.Newell@state.or.us, (503) 947-6018. A $52 certificate would cover the cost of almost all classes. Class participants are still responsible for purchasing the appropriate license and tag. See the current class calendar; more classes are announced throughout the year: http://www.dfw.state.or.us/education/outdoor_skills/workshops/index.asp
If you are giving a license as a gift, make sure you have the hunter’s or angler’s full name and date of birth (day, month, year). If the person has previously had a license, make sure you have their ODFW hunter/angler ID number, which is found at the top of their license. If you are purchasing a license for someone who has never had a license, you will have to provide his or her social security number in compliance with Federal and State laws.
What is for Sale?
License and tag fees
License sales agents and ODFW offices that sell licenses,