Q. How do I pay for my license documents over the Internet?
A. You can use a credit card. Find more information about credit cards, fees and payments here.
Q. Is there a fee for purchasing online?
A. An additional $2.00 shipping and handling fee applies to online purchases (the same fee as for fax and mail orders), except for instant fulfillment items. There is only one fee per transaction, regardless of how many items are purchased. Note: each individual is a new transaction.
Q. What licenses/tags are available for purchase from the Internet site?
A. Most ODFW licenses and tags are available for purchase. Find a list of what you can buy online here.
Q. What is a Hunter/Angler ID? How do I get one?
A. The Hunter/Angler ID is your unique ODFW customer identifier. It is automatically assigned to you when you buy a fishing or hunting license for the first time. (If you purchased a license after 1998, you have a Hunter/Angler ID.) You will find your Hunter/Angler ID on the top of your license or other documents issued by ODFW, such as controlled hunt applications. If you have destroyed or lost your previous license, Contact Us by e-mail to have your Hunter/Angler ID sent to you.
Q. Why was I prompted for my social security number?
A. Federal and state law requires applicants for professional, driver, occupational and recreational hunting and fishing licenses to provide their social security number. Information about social security number requirements can be found here.
What if I don’t want to provide my social security number?
If you do not provide your social security number, ODFW will not be able to issue you any annual fee-based documents.
Do I have to provide my child’s social security number in order to purchase their license?
Youths and adults have the same requirements to provide social security number information.
What if I don’t have a social security number?
If you are a U.S. resident and don’t have a social security number, you have to go to an ODFW licensing agent or ODFW office that sells licenses with documentation to show that you are in the United States legally. If you are not a U.S. citizen, you must provide proof of non-citizenship (passport) at an ODFW licensing agent or ODFW office that sells licenses.
Q. Can I buy license documents for more than one person using the online sales website?
A. You can, but each individual is a separate transaction and will be charged a $2.00 shipping and handling fee. For example, once you have completed a transaction for yourself, you can return to the Start screen and buy documents for a friend or family member. You will need to know the person’s Hunter/Angler ID, last name and date of birth.
Q. What are the residency requirements to purchase Oregon’s recreational licenses?
A. Oregon law requires that a person reside in Oregon for at least six consecutive months prior to purchasing a resident license.
Q. Are both resident and nonresident fishing and hunting license documents available online?
A. Yes, both residents and nonresidents can use the Internet to purchase ODFW licenses, tags, permits and controlled hunt applications.
Q. How long will it take to receive my documents?
A. It depends on the document type. You will be able to print and immediately use documents that are instant fulfillment. Temporary documents can be used until the annual document is mailed to you. Other documents must be received in the mail before use. See a list of documents and fulfillment types here.
Any postal delivery documents will be shipped within ten working days. If you do not receive your documents in the mail, contact ODFW License Services at (503) 947-6101 during business hours (8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Pacific Time) Monday through Friday. Please have your transaction number available. For a complete list of what you can buy online and how it is delivered, see the ODFW website.
Q. Can I get duplicate documents through the ODFW Online Sales site?
A. Duplicate licenses are available at ODFW licensing agents and ODFW offices that sell licenses. Duplicates of all other documents may be purchased only at ODFW offices that sell licenses.
Q. I am attempting to purchase an annual license but it is not available. Why?
A. Before you can purchase a fee-based annual license you will need to provide ODFW with your social security number. Some other considerations:
- You may have previously purchased the document or a Sports Pac that includes the document. To verify previous purchases display the license selection screen. On the bottom of this page, your previous purchases will be displayed.
- If you still experience trouble or have questions, Contact Us by e-mail. Be sure you include your Hunter/Angler ID and the annual license you want to purchase.
Q. I am attempting to purchase a tag but it is not there. Why?
A. The season for the tag you wish to purchase may already have started or you may have previously purchased the tag within a Sports Pac. If you are still not sure why the tag is not there, you can Contact Us or call License Services (503) 947-6101 during business hours (8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Pacific Time) Monday through Friday. Please be sure to include your Hunter/Angler ID and identify the tag you want to purchase.
Q. Can I purchase a license or tag as a gift?
A. You can if you know the person’s Hunter/Angler ID, last name and date of birth.
Q. Why didn’t I get an e-mail confirmation on my online license purchase?
A. The most common reason is your e-mail address is incorrect or missing on your personal information page. Refer to the next question.
Q. The information on my Personal Data page is incorrect. How do I change it?
A. From the “Your Profile” page, click “Modify” to make any necessary changes. Click the “Continue” button at the bottom of the page once you are finished. Note, to change your name or social security number, you have to call or go to an ODFW office that sells licenses.
Q. I cannot find my Permanent Pioneer License or Disabled Veteran License on the purchase Selection Screen. Where is it?
A. If you are a Permanent Pioneer or Disabled Veteran license holder, your license will be located under the COMBO tab When the License Selection Screen is displayed, click on the COMBO tab. The VETERAN or PIONEER COMBINATION will appear with a zero charge.
Q. While attempting to purchase a document, I bought the wrong item and did not realize it until after my credit card had been charged. How do I get the correct document and cancel the incorrect one?
A. Contact ODFW License Services at (503) 947-6101 during business hours (8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Pacific Time) Monday through Friday.
Q. Why was my credit card declined?
A. Check to make sure your credit card number, 3 digit validation code and expiration date were entered correctly. You may want to try again later; the connection to the credit card processor may be offline for maintenance or other reasons. If you continue to experience trouble, contact your credit card company.
Q. Do I need to take a Hunter Education course before hunting in Oregon?
A. All youths 17 years of age and younger must have a Hunter Education Certificate in their possession to hunt anywhere except on their own land or land owned by their parent or legal guardian, unless they are participating in the Mentored Youth Hunter Program. The MYHP allows youth 9 through 13 years of age to hunt with a qualified supervising adult prior to passing an approved hunter education course. Annual registration in the MYHP is required to participate.
Q. Do I need a printer to purchase an ODFW document?
- If you are purchasing an item that is marked for Instant delivery you will need a printer to print the document you have purchased.
- If you are purchasing an item marked as Temporary delivery you will need a printer to print your receipt and temporary license.
Q. My printer jammed while attempting to print out a document. What do I do?
A. Do not close your browser window until all documents are fully printed. You may reprint your documents as many times as necessary. If you continue to experience trouble, write down your transaction number and Contact Us by e-mail. Be sure to include your transaction number, Hunter/Angler ID number and a phone number that can be used to contact you.
Q. What if I leave the online sales site prior to completing a purchase?
A. If you close your Internet browser at any time prior to the checkout screen, your shopping cart is emptied and no documents are issued. You may also click on the Exit button at the bottom of the screen at any time. Note, once you have completed the purchase transaction, you may not cancel the purchase. All sales are final. If you have questions about a completed transaction, send an e-mail to Contact Us. Please include a brief description of the issue, your transaction number and a phone number where you can be reached.
Q. What do I do if I lose my license or tags?
A. If your license is lost, stolen or destroyed, you may purchase a duplicate from any ODFW License Agent or ODFW office that sells licenses. Duplicates of all other documents that are lost, stolen or destroyed may be purchased only at an ODFW office that sell licenses.
Q. Is the online license site secure?
A. For secured-data transmission, this site uses the industry standard encryption software, Secure Socket Layer (SSL). The URL in your browser will change to "HTTPS" instead of "HTTP" when this security feature is invoked. Your browser may also display a lock or key symbol on its task bar to indicate invoked secure transmission. If these indicators are not present, any information is susceptible to interception by other parties. Most Internet e-mail communication will not be secure. If you are communicating sensitive information, you might want to consider sending it in by postal mail.
NOTE: To operate the license sales website effectively, we recommend using Internet Explorer 6, FireFox 1.0.7 or Netscape 8.0 or newer versions of these browsers.
Q. How do I contact ODFW with questions?
A. For questions concerning ODFW online license sales, Contact Us by e-mail