Q. Why do I have to give my social security number to buy a fishing or hunting license?
A. Federal and state laws adopted in 1996 and 1997 require applicants for professional, driver, occupational and recreational hunting and fishing licenses to provide their social security number the first time they purchase a license to aid child support enforcement authorities. In 2001 the Oregon Legislature changed the law to allow greater flexibility for purchasers of hunting and fishing licenses. As a result, the following documents do not require a social security number for purchase/acquisition:
- Small game/bird hunting licenses for youth under 14 years (free);
- Angling licenses for youth under 14 years (license free, a juvenile combined harvest tag is $8.50;
- Daily angling licenses for one, two, three, four or seven days;
- Landowner bird hunting licenses (free);
- Landowner angling licenses (free);
- Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Permit;
- ODFW Wildlife Area Parking Permit;
- Oregon Habitat Conservation Stamp.
Note: Youth big game hunters should purchase a juvenile hunting license and the appropriate tag, and must provide their social security number.
Q. Who will see my social security number?
A. Access to your social security number is allowed only to qualified government agencies. Your social security number will not be displayed on your license or permit, or released on licensing records.