The ODFW Visitors' Guide
Leaburg Hatchery was built in 1953 to mitigate for lost fishing opportunity because of the many dams on Willamette Basin rivers. These dams include Cougar, Blue River, Carmen-Smith, Lookout, Dexter, and others. The hatchery rears Rainbow, Cutthroat, and Steelhead and has a staff of seven employees. Visiting hours are dawn to dusk, seven days a week. Come visit our showpond and see large Sturgeon, Rainbow, Cutthroat, Steelhead, and Chinook Salmon.
The Viewing Platform was built by the McLaren School for Boys in 1993 to allow visitors to get a close up look at Spring Chinook Salmon spawning in the creek below.
Best time to visit: All year
Fish raised: Rainbow trout and steelhead.
What to see and do
At the hatchery: Earthen show ponds with Japanese garden landscaping offer year-round viewing of adult sturgeon and trout. Excellent access to fishing exists on the McKenzie River. Visitors can view osprey during the spring and summer, and watch spawning of spring chinook in the fall.
Nearby: Water Board Park provides picnicking, swimming and boat access to the McKenzie River.
Photos: Photos of Leaburg Hatchery
Address and Phone
90700 Fish Hatchery Road
Leaburg, OR 97489
Northwest Region | Southwest Region | High Desert Region | Northeast Region