
 

 Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit  
Frequently Asked Questions  

Do I need a Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit?  
Any person desiring to hold any bird, mammal, amphibian or reptile for the purpose of wildlife 

rehabilitation shall first obtain a Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit from the Department of Fish and 

Wildlife. (OAR 635-044-0200)  

Requirements for Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit  
A Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit may be issued to a person who meets the following criteria:  

(a) Resides in the state or whose rehabilitation activities and/or facilities occur within the state;  

(b) Is at least 18 years of age at the time of the examination;   

(c) Has submitted a completed written application form provided by the Department;   

(d) Possesses a valid Oregon DVM license or a letter from an Oregon licensed DVM agreeing to act 

as a medical supervisor and consultant;   

(e) Has passed the wildlife rehabilitation examination administered by the Department with a score of 

80 percent or higher on the general section of the test and each relevant section of interest. Any 

applicant who fails to pass an examination may take another examination no earlier than 14 days from 

the date of the prior examination;   

(f) Has been approved by the local ODFW district wildlife biologist or other local Department 

representative as meeting a need for rehabilitation services in the area and having a good reputation 

for care of wildlife;  

(g) Has a rehabilitation facility, or plan for such facility, that has been approved by the local 

department district wildlife biologist or other local Department representative.  

 

Do I need a Federal Rehabilitation Permit?  
Persons possessing a Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit must also obtain a federal permit for species 

protected by federal law and provide a copy of current valid permit to the Department.  

How do I obtain more information about Wildlife Rehabilitation?  
Call ODFW Wildlife Division at 503 947-6315 for an informational packet.  

What does the Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit Cost?  
There is no cost for this permit.  


