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ATTENTION 
 

This publication describes the non-Indian commercial fishing regulations in 

condensed form for the convenience of the commercial harvester and is not 

intended to replace the laws or administrative rules. Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 

and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) are cited in parentheses to help the reader refer 

to the original sections that were condensed. For detailed information refer to these 

laws and rules. Unless otherwise specified, information covers laws and rules in effect 

at the start of the year and is subject to change during the year. Copies of specific 

laws and rules may be obtained from Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife (ODFW) 

offices. The ORS and OAR are also available online (see pages 6 and 7) and in most 

public libraries. Commercial fishery laws not listed here are still applicable. Any person 

participating in any commercial fishery in Oregon must abide by all applicable state 

and federal laws and rules. 

 

Related Publications: 
1. Federal Regulations Applying in the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) from 3-

200 miles for the U.S. Commercial and Recreational Groundfish Fisheries off 

the Coasts of Washington, Oregon, and California. 

 

2. Federal Regulations for West Coast Salmon Fisheries Applying in the Exclusive 

Economic Zone (3-200 miles) off the Coasts of Washington, Oregon, and 

California. 

 

3. Current information relating to the EEZ for groundfish and salmon federal 

regulations are available at the website for the National Marine Fisheries Service 

(NMFS) West Coast Regional Office (WCR): 

www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov 

 

4. Pacific Halibut Fishery Regulations are available from the International Pacific 

Halibut Commission (IPHC): www.iphc.int 

http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/
http://www.iphc.int/
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ABBREVIATIONS AND CONTACTS 
Contact Information for Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife (ODFW) 

is given on the back cover. 

 
CFR   Code of Federal Regulations 
 
EEZ   Exclusive Economic Zone (3-200 miles)  
 
HSFCA   High Seas Fishery Compliance Act  
  
HMS   Highly Migratory Species 
 
IPHC   International Pacific Halibut Commission  
    (206) 634-1838 
    www.iphc.int 
 
MMPA   Marine Mammal Protection Act 
  
NMFS   National Marine Fisheries Service 
    www.nmfs.noaa.gov 
   
NMFS WCR   West Coast Regional Office 
    (206) 526-6150 
    www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov 
 
    Long Beach Regional Office 
    (562) 980-4000 

 
NMFS PRD   NWR Protected Resources Division  
    (206) 526-6733 
 
NMFS OLE   Office of Law Enforcement 
    (888) 585-5518 
 
NOAA   National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration 
    www.noaa.gov 
 
OAC   Oregon Albacore Commission  
    (541) 994-2647 
    oregonalbacore.org 
 
OAR Oregon Administrative Rules (for ODFW) 

www.dfw.state.or.us/OARs/index.asp 
 
ODA   Oregon Department of Agriculture 
    (503) 986-4550 
    Shellfish Hotline: (800) 448-2474 

www.oregon.gov/ODA/programs/FoodSafety/Shellfish/Pages/
ShellfishClosures.aspx 
 

ODCC  Oregon Dungeness Crab Commission 

    (541) 267-5810 

    www.oregondungeness.org 

http://www.iphc.int/
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/
http://www.noaa.gov/
http://oregonalbacore.org/
http://www.dfw.state.or.us/OARs/index.asp
http://www.oregon.gov/ODA/programs/FoodSafety/Shellfish/Pages/ShellfishClosures.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODA/programs/FoodSafety/Shellfish/Pages/ShellfishClosures.aspx
http://www.oregondungeness.org/
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ABBREVIATIONS AND CONTACTS (continued) 
Contact Information for Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife 

(ODFW) is given on the back cover. 
 

    

OFCC  Oregon Fishermen’s Cable Committee 

    (503) 325-2285 

    www.ofcc.com 
 
OSC  Oregon Salmon Commission    
  ( 541) 994-2647 
    www.oregonsalmon.org 
 
OSMB  Oregon State Marine Board    
  (503) 378-8587 
    www.oregon.gov/OSMB/Pages/index.aspx 
 
OSP  Oregon State Police   
  ( 800) 452-7888 
    www.oregon.gov/osp/Pages/index.aspx 
 
ORS  Oregon Revised Statutes (Laws)  
  www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/Pages/ORS.aspx 
 
OTC  Oregon Trawl Commission  
  (541) 469-7830 

    www.ortrawl.org 

 

PFMC  Pacific Fishery Management Council 

    (503) 820-2280 

    Toll Free: (866) 806-7204 

    www.pcouncil.org 

 
PSMFC  Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission    
  (503) 595-3100 
    www.psmfc.org 
 
RCA  Rockfish Conservation Area 
  
USCG  US Coast Guard 

    District 13 Office:  (206) 220-7001 

    Emergency:  (503) 240-9301 
 
USFWS  US Fish and Wildlife Service/ Refuge Manager 

    (541) 867-4550 

  

VMS   Vessel Monitoring System 

 
 
 
 

http://www.ofcc.com/
http://oregonsalmon.org/
http://www.oregon.gov/OSMB/Pages/index.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/Pages/index.aspx
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/Pages/ORS.aspx
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/Pages/ORS.aspx
http://www.ortrawl.org/
http://www.pcouncil.org/
http://www.psmfc.org/
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Requirements and Restrictions of Selected State Fisheries 

General Commercial Fishing License Required for All but Albacore  
(p. 11).  Vessel License Required for All but Albacore. 
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Requirements and Restrictions of Selected State Fisheries 

General Commercial Fishing License Required for All (p. 11).  Vessel 
License Required for All but Crayfish and Clams. 
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Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife 

 

 

 

2018 Commercial Fishing Landing Fees 

 
Wholesale Fish Dealers and Bait Dealers pay a landing fee which is a percentage of 
the value of the food fish purchased from commercial harvesters (see pages 17-19). 

 

 

 
Fish Dealer License and Permit Fees 

 

Information about these licenses and permits is given on pages 17-19. 

                                                           
1 Required of Wholesale Fish Dealers to purchase or receive food fish or shellfish from commercial 

harvesters away from licensed facility. 

   Salmon    3.15% 

   Nearshore Species    5.00% 

   Shrimp    2.40% 

   Sablefish    2.40% 

   Crab    2.35% 

   Whiting    2.30% 

   Other    2.30% 

   Sardine    2.25% 

   Groundfish, misc.    2.25% 

   Tuna    1.09% 

      Resident     Non-resident 

   Wholesale Dealer    $502    N/A 

   Bait Dealer    $127    N/A 

   Limited Fish Seller     $102    $152 

   Buyer1    $277    N/A 
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Commercial Fishing License and Permit Fees 

                                                           
2 Persons 18 years of age or younger may be subject to state and federal laws which prohibit them 

from working for someone on a commercial fishing vessel. 

                           Resident                                     Non-resident 

LICENSES: 

   Individual Fishing    $102    $152 

   Crew Member    $127    $177 

   Juvenile2 (under 18)    $32    $152 

   Bait Fishing    $127    $177 

   Tuna Commercially 

   Licensed Vessel 
   $27    $27 

   Tuna Unlicensed Vessel    $252    $302 

   Boat, vessels <50 ft.    $352    $402 

   Boat, vessels >50 ft.    $402    $452 

   Single Delivery    $127    $177 

PERMITS: 

   Ocean Troll Salmon    $127    $177 

   Columbia River Gillnet 

   Salmon 
   $127    $177 

   Weathervane Scallop    $127    $177 

   Yaquina Bay Roe Herring     $127    $177 

   Ocean/ Columbia River  

   Dungeness Crab 
   $202    $252 

   Sea Urchin and  

   Sea Cucumber 
   $127    $177 

   Black/Blue Rockfish    $127    $177 

   Nearshore Endorsed  

   Black/Blue Rockfish  
   $127    $177 

   Dive Clam, Coastwide    $127    $177 

   Dive Clam, Southcoast    $127    $177 

   Sardine    $127    $177 

   Shellfish Harvester    $127    $177 

   Ocean Pink Shrimp    $202    $252 
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GENERAL REGULATIONS 
 
 

DEFINITIONS 
•  Food Fish 

  Any animal over which the State Fish and Wildlife Commission has jurisdiction, 
pursuant to ORS 506.036. 
•  Bait 

  Food fish not harvested for human consumption. 
•  Commercial Purposes 
  Taking food fish with any gear unlawful for angling, or taking or possessing food 
fish in excess of the limits permitted for personal use, or taking, fishing for, handling, 
processing, or otherwise disposing of or dealing in food fish with the intent of disposing 
of such food fish or parts thereof for profit, or by sale, barter or trade, in commercial 
channels, as specified in ORS 506.006. 
•  Take 

  To fish for, hunt, pursue, catch, capture or kill; or attempt to fish for, hunt, pursue, 
catch, capture or kill. 
•  Land, Landing, or Landed 

  For fisheries where food fish were taken by use of a vessel, means to begin 
transfer of food fish from a vessel. Once transfer begins, all food fish aboard the 
vessel are counted as part of that landing, except anchovies being held live on a 
vessel for use as bait in that vessel’s commercial fishing operation. 
  For fisheries where food fish were taken without use of any vessel, means to begin 
transfer of food fish from a harvester to a wholesale fish dealer, wholesale fish bait 
dealer, or food fish buyer. When the harvester and the buyer are the same person 
or entity, transfer occurs when the food fish arrive at the licensed premises of the buyer. 
Once transfer begins, all food fish from the harvest area are counted as part of that 
landing. 
•  Process or Processing 

  Fresh packaging requiring freezing of food fish, or any part thereof, or any type of 
smoking, reducing, loining, steaking, pickling or filleting. 
•  Pacific Ocean — Inland Waters 

  The Pacific Ocean and inland waters lie  respectively west and east of a line drawn 
between the ends of jetties and/or shorelines at high tide at river mouths except the 
Columbia River where they are separated by a line drawn between the knuckle of the 
south jetty and the in-shore end of the north jetty. 
•  Resident 

  An actual bona fide resident of this state for at least one year prior to application for a 
license. 
•  Weighbacks  

  Fish or shellfish with no commercial value. 

 

IT IS ALWAYS UNLAWFUL 
• To not abide by the fishing restrictions in areas closed to some or all commercial 
fishing. Information on specific restrictions for closed areas, including marine reserves 
and marine protected areas, marine gardens, research reserves, habitat refuges, 
shellfish preserves, and other closures is given on pages 45-51. 
• For a guest on board a commercial fishing vessel to assist in any way in either taking 
food fish or operating the boat or fishing gear unless licensed as a commercial harvester. 
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• To have on board a commercial fishing vessel while fishing for or landing food fish, 
any gear that is not legal for use in commercial fishing. 
• For commercial harvesters to transport their catch of food fish in this state to a fish 
dealer away from the point of landing without first completing a transportation report 
(see pages 52-54) or invoice indicating: date; harvester’s name; commercial fishing 
license number; boat identification number; name and address of the licensed fish 
dealer to whom food fish are being delivered; and number and species of food fish and 
their estimated weight. The transportation report must be retained by the fisher for a 
period of six months and is subject to inspection by ODFW personnel or Oregon State 
Police at any time during that period. See the example at the end of this booklet. 
• For commercial harvesters to sell their food fish catch, transported away from the 
point of landing, to other than an Oregon-licensed wholesale fish or bait dealer. 
• To take any food fish from waters of the state or to land food fish without first 
procuring the necessary license and permit. 
• To sell catch to other than a licensed wholesale fish dealer, bait dealer, or buyer, 
except: 

a) Under a Limited Fish Seller Permit,  
b) A Columbia River gillnet harvester delivering to a licensed Washington fish dealer 

by boat, or 
c) A participant in the federal trawl rationalization program delivering part of their 

landing to Washington or California by boat. 
• To retain fish or shellfish taken under commercial license for private use without first 
selling it to a wholesale fish dealer or bait dealer, except as authorized under a Limited 
Fish Seller Permit. All commercially landed fish must be reported. 
• To intentionally kill marine mammals except for the protection of human life. All fishers 
are required to report any incidental injury or death of a marine mammal while fishing. 
Under an agreement developed between NMFS and ODFW, information collected for 
licensing purposes by the State of Oregon will be provided to NMFS in lieu of NMFS 
requiring a separate MMPA registration. For further information on marine mammal 
Authorizations and reporting requirements contact the NMFS, Protected Resources 
Division (PRD) at (206) 526-6733. 
• To wantonly waste or destroy any food fish or shellfish. 
• To remove the fins or tail from any shark at sea. In addition, it is unlawful to remove 
the fins or tail from any shark, except spiny dogfish, for commercial purposes. 
• To sell or offer for sale any part or product of a shark or ray species which is not exempt 
from the Wildlife Trafficking Prevention Act. For more information including the list of exempt 
species see http://www.dfw.state.or.us/mrp/wildlife_trafficking_commercial_fisheries.asp 
• Refuse to present, submit, or interfere with the inspection of any fishing gear, fish or 
parts thereof, or license(s) when requested or required by any peace officer or any 
authorized Department employee. By purchasing any commercial license or permit, a 

person consents to these inspections.  
 

PROHIBITED SPECIES 
  It is unlawful for commercial purposes to: 
• Take green sturgeon; steelhead; striped bass; or great white, megamouth, basking or 
oceanic whitetip sharks. 
• Take smelt, except in the Pacific Ocean where incidentally caught smelt may be 
landed by vessels targeting other commercial species, not to exceed 1% of landing 
by weight. 
• Take marine snails, abalone, native littleneck clams, or piddocks. 
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SHARED ECOSYSTEM COMPONENT SPECIES RESTRICTIONS 
(OAR 635-004-0223 and 635-005-0263)  

 Shared Ecosystem Component Species in the Pacific Ocean off Oregon are jointly 
managed by the state of Oregon and the federal government through the Pacific Fishery 
Management Council process.  Restrictions on landings of Shared Ecosystem 
Component Species apply to all commercial fisheries for which vessels land fish or 
shellfish from state or federal waters of the Pacific Ocean (0-200 miles) into Oregon. 
 Federal regulations also apply to at-sea sectors that fish in Oregon waters but land 
into other states (see Code of Federal Regulations, Part 660, Subpart B). 
 Shared Ecosystem Component Species which occur in the Pacific Ocean off Oregon  
include:  
• Mesopelagic fishes including lanternfish (Myctophidae), deep-sea smelts 

(Bathylagidae), barracudina (Paralepididae), and bristlemouths (Gonostomatidae);  
•  Pacific sand lance;  
•  Pacific saury;  
•  Silversides (family Atherinopsidae);  
•  Smelts (family Osmeridae); and  
• Pelagic squids except market squid and Humboldt squid (pelagic squid families: 
Cranchiidae, Gonatidae, Histioteuthidae, Octopoteuthidae, Ommastrephidae,  
Onychoteuthidae, and Thysanoteuthidae). Directed commercial fishing for market squid 
and Humboldt squid is allowed as described on pages 40 and 41, and restrictions for 
Shared Ecosystem Component Species do not apply. 

 
Landing Limits 

 For all Shared Ecosystem Component Species in the aggregate, vessel landing limits 
apply to all commercial fisheries for fish and shellfish.  For commercial purposes, it is 
unlawful for a vessel to: 
• Land Shared Ecosystem Component Species without landing any other species; 
• Land more than 10 metric tons of Shared Ecosystem Component Species in 
aggregate from any fishing trip; or  
• Land more than 30 metric tons of Shared Ecosystem Component Species in 
aggregate within a calendar year.   
NOTE: Incidental bycatch of Shared Ecosystem Component Species may be discarded 
at sea.   
 
Area 

 These landing limits apply to fishing trips conducted entirely within waters from the 
head of tide of inland waters to three nautical miles offshore in the Pacific Ocean, except 
the Columbia River as defined in OAR 635-003-0005.  
 

VESSEL MONITORING SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS 
  A Vessel Monitoring System (VMS) consists of equipment that tracks a vessel’s 
geographic position through a satellite communication system. The following vessels 
are required to carry an activated VMS: 
• Any vessel that uses non-groundfish trawl gear (for example, shrimp trawl) to fish 
in the EEZ (3-200 nautical miles off shore), 
• Any vessel that takes and retains, or possesses groundfish in the EEZ, 
• Any vessel registered for use with a Federal limited entry groundfish permit (except a 
Mothership permit) that fishes in state or Federal waters (0-200 nautical miles off shore), 
and 
• Some large vessels that fish for tunas in some areas (see Albacore Tuna Fishery on 
page 24). 
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  Declaration reports identifying gear type, fishery, and area must be provided 

by fishers to NMFS Office of Law Enforcement (OLE) before the vessel leaves port by 
calling (888) 585-5518. Vessel owners are required to install and use the VMS 
transceiver unit 24 hours per day after initial activation. Initial activation is required at 
least 72 hours prior to leaving port on the first trip that requires VMS. 
 
  More information can be found by visiting the VMS website at:   
www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/management/vms.html or in 
Federal Regulations (see CFR Title 50, Part 660, Subpart C, 660.14). The NMFS, 

Northwest OLE VMS Program Manager can be contacted at (206) 526–6133. 
 

BOAT RESTRICTIONS, COMMERCIAL FISHING 
(ORS 508.025, 508.030, 508.035, 508.235, 508.260, and 508.285) 

  There are no restrictions on the type or size of vessel which may be licensed for 
commercial fishing. Commercial fishing boats operating in the Pacific Ocean and estuaries 
of Oregon must comply with safety and other federal boating restrictions enforced by the 
US Coast Guard (USCG), NMFS, and/or the Oregon State Marine Board (OSMB). 
Commercial harvesters may use their boats for sport fishing as long as they decide to 
do so before they go out, use only sport gear, and all passengers and crew stay within 
sport bag and size limits. IPHC regulations prohibit a vessel with a valid 2A (Washington 
and Oregon) commercial Pacific halibut license from being used to sport fish for Pacific 
halibut in Area 2A. Contact IPHC for more information. 
 
Identification of Commercial Fishing Boat (OAR 635-006-0140) 

  A pair of decals bearing the last two numbers of the year is issued with the boat license. 
The decals are to be affixed to the licensed boat in a conspicuous place on each side of 
the boat on the superstructure as near amidships as practicable. 
  Licensed boats which are federally documented must display their document 
identification number in not less than 3-inch high block figures adjacent to the current 
year license decal (vessels over 25 feet fishing for groundfish in federal waters are 
subject to additional federal vessel identification restrictions). 
  Licensed boats which are state registered must have their identification number 
displayed on each side of the bow.  
 
 

COMMERCIAL LICENSES AND PERMITS 
(OAR 635-006-0001 through 635-006-1210) 

[License Fees:  See page 11] 
 

  Commercial fishing licenses are issued at ODFW offices in Salem, Astoria, Newport, 
or Charleston. Call ahead for sales hours. Application forms are available from all Marine 
Resources Program offices. Permit requirements for each fishery are summarized in the 
section for that fishery. Temporary commercial fishing licenses and single delivery 
licenses are also issued at selected Wholesale Fish Dealers. For additional license 
and permit information, call: ODFW License Services in Salem at (503) 947-6101. 

 
INDIVIDUAL AND CREW LICENSES 
 

  Commercial Fishing Licenses are issued to individuals and are not transferable. 
Commercial Crewmember Fishing Licenses are issued only to the holder of a boat 
license and are transferable to any person assisting in the taking of commercial fish on 

http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/management/vms.html
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that boat. Every individual operating or assisting in the operation of any commercial boat 
or gear or the taking of foodfish must have a Commercial Fishing License, Crewmember 
Fishing License or Bait Fishing License, except as noted for a Commercial Shellfish 
Harvest Permit (see page 32 and page 37) or Albacore Tuna Landing License (see page 
24). 
 

BOAT LICENSES 
  Required of any boat, vessel, or floating craft used in taking food fish or shellfish 
for commercial purposes, except clams and crayfish. Boat licenses are not required 
to take fish or shellfish for bait under a bait fishing license. This license is not 
transferable to another boat. 
  The residential status of the vessel owner determines whether the vessel qualifies 
for a resident or nonresident boat license (see DEFINITIONS, page 12). 
  As a license condition, owners or operators of commercial fishing vessels must 
cooperate with ODFW or Federal fishery observers, or observers collecting data for 
ODFW or a Federal agency. For additional information refer to OAR 635-006-0140 

or regarding observers only, contact ODFW Marine Resources Program office in 
Newport at (541) 867-4741. 
 
Single-Delivery: 

  Only one single-delivery landing license per vessel may be obtained and used in lieu 
of commercial fishing and boat licenses in a 12-month period, except: 
•  Prohibited for landing ocean troll salmon unless vessel has current Oregon troll salmon 

vessel permit. 
•  Prohibited for landing ocean pink shrimp unless vessel has current Oregon pink shrimp 

vessel permit or appropriate permit or license issued by another state for landing 
shrimp. Use is limited to one shrimp delivery per year when dependent on a license 
or permit issued by another state. 
•  Prohibited for landing weathervane scallops unless vessel has current Oregon scallop 

vessel permit. 
•  Prohibited for landing ocean Dungeness crab unless vessel has current Oregon crab 

vessel permit. Use is limited to 2 ocean Dungeness crab deliveries in any one crab season. 
NOTE: This license must be obtained prior to fishing in state waters. If an unlicensed 
vessel catches food fish outside of state waters, a single-delivery license must be 
purchased at the time of landing. Licenses are available at selected wholesale fish 
dealers and ODFW Marine Resources Program offices in Astoria, Newport, and 
Charleston. 
 

OTHER LICENSES AND MISCELLANEOUS PERMITS 
(ORS 508.760 through 508.960) (OAR Divisions, 004, 005, and 006) 

[License Fees:  See page 11] 
 

  These permits are required in addition to a Commercial Fishing Boat License to 
participate in the following fisheries: Columbia River salmon (gillnet); Ocean salmon 
(troll), Black/Blue Rockfish/Nearshore, Sardine, Yaquina Bay roe herring, ocean 
Dungeness crab, ocean pink shrimp, brine shrimp, scallop, sea urchin and sea 
cucumber, and bay clam (dive). See applicable fishery for more information. 

 
 Permits must be renewed annually to remain valid for renewal in the next year.  
Permit holders may transfer a permit to another person or vessel only if statutory and 
regulatory requirements are met. 
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 Transferable permits are bought and sold by vessel owners and the transactions must 
be recorded by ODFW. There is a $100 transfer fee for each permit being transferred. 
ODFW has no knowledge of which permits are available for sale. We suggest checking 
fisheries trade magazines, coastal newspapers and harvesters’ associations as 
possible sources of information for permits available for purchase. For more information, 
contact ODFW License Services in Salem at (503) 947-6101. 
 
• Bait Fishing License    

 May be obtained in lieu of a commercial fishing and boat license to take food fish or 
shellfish for sale only to fish bait dealers or used as live bait in a commercial fishing 
operation, and not for human consumption. All persons who assist in the taking of 
food fish must be licensed. A bait harvester cannot sell to a wholesale fish dealer. 
 
• Juvenile Commercial Jig License 

  May be obtained from the ODFW Marine Resources Program office in Newport for 
taking herring, sardine, perch, and anchovies by a hand or jig line and selling to wholesale 
fish or bait dealer. 
 
• Permit to Take Nongame Fish   

  Required of any person using gear other than that authorized for personal use, to take 
nongame fish in freshwater. 
 
• Experimental Fishing Gear Permit   

  Required of any person using gear other than that authorized for commercial use, to 
take food fish or shellfish.  Not applicable when Permit to Take Nongame Fish applies. 
 
• Snagging Permit     

  Required of any person to operate a snagging net for the purpose of removing snags 
or obstructions from fishing areas. This snagging permit does not confer exclusive rights 
to fish any area of the Columbia River. 
 

 

FISH DEALERS 
  
  All dealers must have an Oregon address where records reporting food fish or shellfish 
purchases are maintained. All such records must be written in English and maintained 
for not less than three years and are subject to inspection by an authorized ODFW agent 
or the Oregon State Police. 
 Any licensed wholesale fish dealer or buying station whose licensed premises 
include a receiving or docking facility for unloading the catch from a commercial fishing 
vessel shall be considered as the receiver and purchaser and shall have the 
responsibility for weighing the catch (including weighbacks), reporting and paying fees 
on such catch. 
 A certified scale is required to weigh fish. It is unlawful to fillet or loin any fish prior to 
recording on a fish ticket the round weight, or the dressed weight for those species 
with an approved conversion factor listed in OAR 635-006-0215. 
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Fish Dealer Reporting Requirements 

 
•  Fish Receiving Tickets — Must be immediately completed by wholesale fish dealers 

upon purchase of fish or shellfish from harvesters. Fish tickets reporting salmon must be 
forwarded within four consecutive days of the landing to ODFW Salem Headquarters. 
All other fish tickets must be forwarded within five working days of the landing to 
the same address or through the Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission (PSMFC) 
West Coast E-Ticket system or as required by CFR Title 50, part 660, Subpart C, 660.15. 
 For Columbia River non-treaty commercial fisheries downstream of Bonneville Dam, 
wholesale fish dealers must submit fish receiving tickets electronically through the 
PSMFC West Coast E-Ticket System within 24 hours (dealers buying Columbia River 
treaty commercial fish are not required to report electronically). All fish dealer 
amendments must be conducted in the same system in which the ticket was initially 
submitted. 
 
•  Monthly Fee Reports and Landing Fees — Must be received or postmarked by 

the 20th of each month for purchases in the preceding month. A penalty charge of $5.00 
or 5%, whichever is greater, is assessed with a 1% per month interest on any 
delinquent fee payments. Monthly reports must be submitted even if there are no 
purchases for the month. See page 10 for Commercial Fishing Landing Fees. 
 

Fish Dealer Licenses 
 
• Wholesale Fish Dealer  

 Required for any person who: 
a.  Buys food fish or shellfish from a commercial harvester, regardless of its 

disposition, 
b.  Regardless of the source from which received, sells food fish or shellfish to other 

wholesalers or retailers, or 
c.  Processes food fish or shellfish by smoking, reduction, or fresh packaging 

requiring freezing or refrigeration for sale through retail outlets. 
 Except for activities authorized under a Limited Fish Sellers Permit, a commercial 
harvester must have a wholesale license in order to sell catch to anyone other than 
an Oregon-licensed Wholesale Fish Dealer. 
 Wholesale Fish Dealers and Bait Dealers pay a landing fee which is a percentage of 
the value of the food fish purchased from commercial harvesters (see page 10). 
  In addition, there is a restoration and enhancement fee of 4 cents per pound and an 
Oregon Hatchery Research Center fee of 4 cents per pound (round weight) for salmon 
and steelhead landed. 
 A bond, assigned savings, or deposit of at least $1,000 and in many cases more, 
guaranteeing payment of fees, is required. Applications and bond forms may be obtained 
from ODFW in Salem. A Wholesale Fish Dealer License must be obtained for each 
location where fish is processed. 
 
• Fish Buyer License     

 This license is required of a Wholesale Fish Dealer to purchase or receive food 
fish or shellfish from commercial harvesters at locations other than the licensed 
premises of any licensed Wholesale Fish Dealer or Buying Station. The fish or shellfish 
must be weighed and a fish ticket prepared at the buying location before the fish are 
transported. No processing activities are allowed at a Buying Station. 
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• Fish Bait Dealer License     

 The Fish Bait Dealer License is designed for the small volume dealer who sells or 
uses food fish or shellfish for bait, scientific or educational purposes, or live public display. 
Fish Bait Dealers are required to sell all fish and shellfish for bait and may buy from 
either a licensed bait harvester or commercial harvester. Sale for human consumption 
under this license is prohibited. A minimum cash deposit of $25 is required to assure 
payment of landing fees. The landing fees are the same as those listed in the Wholesale 
Fish Dealer License section. 
 
• Limited Fish Sellers Permit     

  This permit authorizes licensed commercial harvesters to sell their catch of food fish 
and shellfish directly from their boat, but only to the ultimate consumer, defined as a 
person that will ultimately consume the fish. 
  All Limited Fish Seller Permits are issued from ODFW Headquarters in Salem. It is 
recommended that applicants telephone ahead to obtain details of licensing 
requirements. A Limited Fish Seller Permit can usually be issued over-the-counter if 
applying in person at the Salem headquarters. Applying in person at the ODFW 
Newport or Charleston offices can take up to two weeks to accommodate for processing 
of applications and bonds, and return mailing of licenses, forms, and instructions to 
applicant. Renewals handled through the mail can take as much as three weeks. Permit 
renewals may take longer if the prior year’s fish tickets, monthly reports, or account 
balances are not in order. 
 Landing fees are the same as for wholesale fish dealers. A minimum of a $200 bond 
or cash payment is required to assure payment of landing fees. The amount may be 
higher in subsequent years if renewing a permit. 
  Limited Fish Seller Permit holders must notify ODFW, at (503) 947-6247, if the holder 
is going to sell from a vessel or at a port other than the one listed on the Limited Fish 
Seller’s application. A fish ticket must be started prior to sales and include the estimated 
number of food fish on board the vessel and the location where sales are to take place. 
A numbered, generic receipt is needed for each sale to the public. Permit holders must 
keep receipt copies of food fish or shellfish sales on board their vessel for six months 
and available for three years. Receipt copies are subject to inspection by an authorized 
ODFW agent or the Oregon State Police. 
 
Sorting Required 

 Fish Dealers and Limited Fish Sellers are responsible for reporting on fish tickets all 
landed catch sorted to market category (species or species group) as defined by ODFW 
(OAR 635-006-0210).  For current market categories and the species included, call 
ODFW Fisheries Information at (503) 947-6247. 
 It is unlawful to fail to sort prior to the first weighing after offloading those groundfish 
species or species groups for which there is a trip limit, quota, harvest guideline, harvest 
cap, size limit, scientific sorting designation, Optimum Yield (OY) or Annual Catch Limit 
(ACL) (OAR 635-006-0209). 
 
 

For additional license and permit information, call  
ODFW License Services in Salem at (503) 947-6101. 
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OCEAN TROLL SALMON FISHERY 
(OAR 635-003-0003 through 635-003-0085) 

[Permit Fees:  See page 11] 
 

 Regulations for the ocean troll salmon fishery change frequently. Consult the latest 
OAR and federal regulations covering this fishery before fishing. For further information, 
contact PFMC or NMFS WCR, or the ODFW Marine Resources Program office in 
Newport. For a recorded message that summarizes inseason changes to date, call 
the ocean salmon telephone hotline at (206) 526-6667 or (800) 662-9825. 

•Ocean Troll Salmon Vessel Restricted Participation Permit  
Required in addition to a boat license for salmon trolling. No new permits are 

available. 

NOTE: A boat license must be purchased prior to or at the time of permit renewal. 
Permit holders may transfer a permit to another person or vessel only if statutory 
requirements are met.  For more information contact ODFW License Services in Salem 
at (503) 947-6101. 
 
Area 

  Pacific Ocean only. 
 
Gear 

  Commercial troll gear only, which is defined as one or more lines that drag hooks 
behind a moving fishing vessel. In that portion of the fishery management area off 
Oregon and Washington, the line or lines must be affixed to the vessel and must 
not be intentionally disengaged from the vessel at any time during the fishing operation. 
It is unlawful to engage in recreational fishing while aboard a vessel engaged in 
commercial fishing. 
 
Length 

  The length of a salmon is the shortest distance between the tip of the snout or jaw 
(whichever extends furthest while mouth is closed) and the tip of the longest lobe of 
the tail when in line with the backbone. 
  All salmon must be landed with the head on, except heads may be removed from 
salmon which are to be frozen and will remain frozen until landed and which do not have 
the adipose fin removed (coded-wire tagged fish). 
 

                                 

  The head-off length of a salmon is the distance between the midpoint of the clavicle 
arch and the fork of the tail. 
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PACIFIC HALIBUT FISHERY 
(OAR 635-004-0580 and 635-004-0585) 

 
  The 2019 commercial season, regulations, and restrictions will be set early in 2019 by 
the International Pacific Halibut Commission (IPHC). It is unlawful to take halibut for 
commercial purposes except as set by the IPHC and in accordance with a valid permit 
issued by the IPHC. Contact the IPHC at (206) 634-1838 or ODFW Marine Resources 
Program office in Newport for current regulations. 
  A free license is required for all commercial vessels and charter vessels which retain 
Pacific halibut. Applications may be obtained from the IPHC; US Customs offices; and 
ODFW offices in Astoria, Newport, Charleston, Brookings or Salem. 
 

Pacific Halibut 

                         

Size Limit 

  It is unlawful to take any Pacific halibut that with head on is less than 32 inches as 
measured in a straight line, passing over the pectoral fin, from the tip of the lower jaw 
with the mouth closed, to the extreme end of the middle of the tail. 
  All Pacific halibut caught in IPHC Area 2A (Washington, Oregon, and California) must 
be landed with their heads on. 
 
Retention of Tagged Pacific Halibut 

  A vessel may retain and land at any time, any Pacific halibut that has an IPHC 
tag attached to it at the time of capture, if the halibut with tag still attached is reported 
at time of landing to a representative of the IPHC or to an officer of a state or provincial 
(Canada) government. 
 

 

FAR OFFSHORE FISHERY 
(OAR 635-004-0240 through 635-004-0265) 

 

  “Far Offshore Fishery” is defined as a fishery where the fish are taken outside the 
United States 200-mile Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ). 
 
High Seas Fishery Permit 

  The federal High Seas Fishery Compliance Act (HSFCA) requires vessels of United 
States registry, that fish on the high seas to have a HSFCA permit. High seas are 
defined as those waters beyond the EEZ of any country. Information and an application 
for a permit can be obtained from NMFS: 
www.nmfs.noaa.gov/ia/permits/highseas.html 

 
 

http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/ia/permits/highseas.html
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Offshore Declaration and Notification 

The skipper of any vessel participating in a far offshore fishery intending to land fish 
products in Oregon shall notify ODFW of any such fishing trip at least 48 hours prior 
to leaving port. Skippers of any vessel targeting albacore tuna in the far offshore 
fishery are not required to make a far offshore declaration. The notification provides 
opportunity for ODFW to conduct a hold inspection to certify that the hold is empty of 
fish products and that the vessel is authorized to participate in the far offshore fishery. 
 A declaration (either written or verbal) to leave for a far offshore fishery shall include: 
• Area to be fished; and 
• Intended port and processor of delivery. 
  The skipper of a vessel participating in, and intending to return from, the far offshore 
fishery must notify ODFW at least 24 hours prior to delivery and include the following 
information: 
• Vessel name and documentation number; 
• Estimated time of arrival; 
• Port and processor of delivery; and 
• Estimated weight of fish on board. 
  Returning skippers may contact any ODFW Marine Resources Program office during 
regular office hours or Oregon State Police at other times. 
 
 

MARINE FISH FISHERIES 
  
  The following general regulations are applicable to commercial harvest of all 
species other than salmon or shellfish. Specific, more restrictive regulations for each 
fishery follow this section. 

 
Definitions 
• Ocean Food Fish 
  Includes all saltwater species of food fish except salmon, Pacific halibut, and shellfish 
whether found in freshwater or saltwater. 
• Trip Limit 
  The total allowable amount of a groundfish species or species complex, by weight, 
or by percentage of fish on board, that may be taken and retained, possessed, or landed 
per vessel from a single fishing trip. A vessel which has landed its cumulative or 
daily limit may continue to fish on the limit for the next legal period as long as the fish 
are not landed until the next period. 
• Daily Trip Limit 
  The maximum amount that may be taken and retained, possessed, or landed per 
vessel in 24 consecutive hours, starting at 0001 hours local time. Only one landing of 
groundfish may be made in that 24-hour period. 
• Cumulative Trip Limit 
  The maximum amount that may be taken and retained, possessed, or landed per 
vessel in a specified period of time, without a limit on the number of landings or trips. 
Cumulative trip limits may apply to calendar months or two calendar month periods. 
For two calendar month cumulative limits, the periods are: Jan.-Feb.; Mar.-Apr.; May-Jun.; 
Jul.-Aug.; Sept.-Oct.; and Nov.-Dec. 
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Area 

 It is unlawful to take Ocean Food Fish for commercial purposes from Oregon coastal 
bays, Oregon estuary waters of the Columbia River, or within 200 yards of any man-made 
structure, except: 
•  Fisheries with specific rules allowing harvest in inland waters; 
•  Fish sold or used for scientific or educational purposes, or for live public display; or 
•  Herring, sardine, anchovies and shad sold as bait that are taken by beach seine in 

the Umpqua estuary or taken by hook and line. 
 
Gear 

 The gears below, with restrictions as noted, are the only gears legal for taking Ocean 
Food Fish. Specific fisheries may have additional gear restrictions (see fishery sections). 
•  Trawl Nets 

 Trawl nets meeting the federal specifications for groundfish trawl gear given in CFR, 
Title 50, Part 660, Subpart D, 660.130 may be used to take Ocean Food Fish in the Pacific 
Ocean only. 
•  Pots, Traps, and Longlines 
 Pot, trap, and longline gear may be used to take Ocean Food Fish in the Pacific 
Ocean only. Such gear which is fixed or anchored to the bottom shall not be left 
unattended for more than seven days. Such gear shall be marked at each terminal 
surface end with a pole and a flag, light, radar reflector, and buoy showing clear 
identification of the owner or operator. 
 Pot or trap gear used to take Ocean Food Fish other than hagfish shall have a 
biodegradable escape panel constructed with #21 or smaller, untreated cotton twine in 
such a manner that an opening at least 8 inches in diameter will result when the twine 
deteriorates. See page 31 for hagfish gear specifications. 
•  Vertical Hook-and-Line 

 Vertical hook-and-line gear may be used to take Ocean Food Fish in the Pacific 
Ocean only. Vertical hook-and-line gear that is closely tended may be marked only with a 
single buoy of sufficient size to float the gear. “Closely tended” means that a vessel 
is within visual sighting distance or within ¼ nautical mile, as determined by electronic 
navigational equipment, of its vertical hook-and-line gear. 
 Vertical hook-and-line gear that is not closely tended shall not be left unattended for 
more than seven days, and shall be marked at each terminal surface end with a pole and 
a flag, light, radar reflector, and buoy showing clear identification of the owner or 
operator. 
•  Seines 

 Seines may be used to take Ocean Food Fish other than groundfish in the Pacific 
Ocean. Seines are permitted with restrictions in the following bay and estuary fisheries: 
Columbia River anchovy and herring (see page 43); Yaquina Bay roe-herring (see page 
30), Inland Waters anchovy (see page 29), and Umpqua estuary bait fish above. 
•  Other Gear 

  Handline, pole-and-line, pole-reel-and-line, dipnet, and spear may be used to take 
Ocean Food Fish. 
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HIGHLY MIGRATORY SPECIES FISHERIES 
(OAR 635-004-0550 through 635-004-0570) 
[License Fees:  See page 11] 
 
ALBACORE TUNA FISHERY 
(OAR 635-004-0560 through 635-004-0570)  
•Commercially Licensed and Unlicensed Boat Albacore Tuna Landing License 

 May be obtained in lieu of commercial fishing (including crew member) and boat 
licenses when landing only albacore tuna. A tuna landing license is not required for 
vessels that hold a current Oregon Commercial Boat license AND whose crew are 
fishing using a valid crew license or a valid Oregon Personal Commercial License. A 
Commercially Licensed Boat Albacore Tuna Landing License may be obtained for a 
boat that holds a current commercial boat license in another state. An Unlicensed 
Boat Albacore Tuna Landing License may be obtained for any boat not commercially 
licensed in any state. These licenses apply only to fishing for and landing albacore tuna 
and do not exempt fishers from any relevant Fish Dealer License requirements. 
  Application for either of these licenses may be made and the fee paid at time of landing, 
on an ODFW license application form. This license allows unlimited landings of 
albacore tuna by the vessel during the calendar year of issue. 
 NOTE Federal commercial fishing requirements:  If you are obtaining this license to catch 
and then sell fish, you are operating as a commercial fishing vessel and not a recreational 
vessel. 
 A commercial fishing vessel has different safety equipment requirements than a 
recreational vessel. You should visit  https://www.dco.uscg.mil/Our-Organization/
Assistant-Commandant-for-Prevention-Policy-CG-5P/Inspections-Compliance-CG-
5PC-/Commercial-Vessel-Compliance/Fishing-Vessel-Safety-Division/, click on the 
checklist generator link and view the safety equipment requirements for your particular 
vessel. 
 Vessels greater than 30 feet may need to be federally documented rather than state 
registered. Visit: https://homeport.uscg.mil/Lists/Content/Attachments/293/CG-
5397.pdf, follow the directions and fill out the form to calculate your vessel’s tonnage. If 

the vessel measures greater than 5 “net tons” your vessel must be federally 
documented, not state registered. 
 VMS is required for commercial fishing vessels, 24 meters (78 feet, 9 inches) or more 
in overall length, used to target tunas in the area bounded by the west coast of the 
Americas and on the north, south and west respectively, by the 50° N. and 50° S. 
parallels, and the 150° W. meridian. 
 Federal requirements for Highly Migratory Species permits and logbooks also apply. 
A permit application and logbook, as well as Instructions for US vessels wanting to 
fish in Canada, are available at: www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/
migratory_species/highly_migratory_species.html 

 
 

GROUNDFISH FISHERIES 
(OAR 635-004-0270 through 635-004-0365) 
[Permit Fees:  See page 11] 

 
Area 

 The Pacific Ocean is open to the commercial harvest of groundfish. Special 
restrictions apply for the closed areas listed on pages 45-51 and for the groundfish 
conservation areas described in CFR Title 50, Part 660, Subpart C, through 
660.79, which restrict many directed groundfish fishing activities. 

http://www.fishsafewest.info/
http://www.fishsafewest.info/
http://www.fishsafewest.info/
https://homeport.uscg.mil/Lists/Content/Attachments/293/CG-5397.pdf
https://homeport.uscg.mil/Lists/Content/Attachments/293/CG-5397.pdf
http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/migratory_species/highly_migratory_species.html
http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/migratory_species/highly_migratory_species.html
http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/migratory_species/highly_migratory_species.html
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 Information on federal closed fishing areas is available at:  
www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/groundfish/groundfish_closed_ 
areas.html 

 
Vessel Monitoring System 

  Required for any vessel that takes and retains, or possesses groundfish in the EEZ, 
and any vessel registered for use with a federal limited entry groundfish permit 
(except a Mothership permit) that fishes in state or federal waters (0 – 200 nautical 
miles off shore). See page 14 for more information. 
 
Size Limits 

 The size limit applies to the longest measurement of the fish without mutilation of the 
fish or the use of force to extend the length of the fish. 
• Lingcod 

 It is unlawful to take lingcod smaller than 22 inches for commercial purposes. For 
whole lingcod, total length will be measured from the tip of the snout (mouth closed) to 
the tip of the tail in a natural relaxed position. 
 For a lingcod with the head removed, the length must be at least 18 inches as 
measured from the origin of the first dorsal fin to the tip of the upper lobe of the tail; 
the dorsal fin and tail must be left intact. 
• Nearshore Fish 

  It is unlawful to take China, copper, grass, or quillback rockfish or greenling smaller 
than 12 inches in length or Cabezon smaller than 16 inches in length with non-
trawl fishing gear. For nearshore fish, length will be measured from the tip of the 
snout (mouth closed) to the extreme end of the tail. 
 
Maintenance of Cumulative Catch Records 

  Vessels landing groundfish under a cumulative catch limit must have on board copies of 
fish landing receipts for inspection by authorized enforcement officials for a minimum of 90 
days from date of delivery. Receipts must be signed and dated by both the dealer and vessel 
captain. Landing receipts may be in the form of ODFW Fish Receiving Tickets; fish dealer 
“dock tickets” identified with official dealer logo or letterhead; or official Fish Receiving Tickets 
from other states. 
 

TRAWL AND NON-NEARSHORE FIXED GEAR FISHERIES 
(OAR 635-004-0255 through 635-004-0300) 

[Permit Fees:  See page 11] 
 
  The trawl and fixed gear groundfish fisheries are jointly managed by the state of 
Oregon and the federal government through the PFMC process. Federal regulations 
found in CFR Title 50, Part 660, Subparts C through F are the primary regulations 
for these fisheries and are adopted for state waters by reference in OAR. 
Regulations, including trip limits and RCA boundaries, are subject to frequent changes 
throughout the year and are not published here. Fishers should consult the NMFS 
WCR Groundfish Management website at: 
www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/groundfish/index.html or contact any 

ODFW Marine Resources Program office (see back cover) for the most up to date 
regulations for any species included in the fol lowing list of groundfish management 
groups. 
 The state may impose additional, more restrictive regulations for federal groundfish 
fisheries. The remainder of the groundfish section is dedicated to additional state 
regulations. 

http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/groundfish/groundfish_closed_areas.html
http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/groundfish/groundfish_closed_areas.html
http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/groundfish/groundfish_closed_areas.html
http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/groundfish/index.html
http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/groundfish/index.html
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 *These species (or component species of a group) have additional, more restrictive state regulations. See 
Black Rockfish/Blue Rockfish/Nearshore Fishery section. 

 
 
Logbook 

  The skipper of a boat fishing for groundfish by means of trawl (including shrimp trawl), 
longline, hook-and-line, or pot gear must keep an accurate and truthful log on ODFW 
forms, according to the instructions therein. Logbook information is confidential. 
 

BLACK ROCKFISH/BLUE ROCKFISH/NEARSHORE FISHERY 
(OAR 635-004-0295 through 635-004-0365) 

•Black/Blue Rockfish Restricted Participation Permit   

 
 Required in addition to a boat license to participate in the black rockfish/blue 
rockfish fishery. 

•Black/Blue Rockfish Restricted Participation Permit with a Nearshore 

Endorsement 

Required in addition to a boat license to participate in the black rockfish/blue 
rockfish/nearshore fish fishery. 
  For both permit types, prior year’s permit is renewable if the vessel made a minimum 
of five commercial fish landings in Oregon during the calendar year prior to the 
request for renewal. Black Rockfish/Blue Rockfish permits and Black Rockfish/Blue 
Rockfish permits with Nearshore Endorsement must be applied for by January 1 of the 
permit year or by April 1 of the permit year accompanied by a $150 late fee (ORS 
508.947). Permit holders may transfer a permit to another person or vessel only if 

statutory requirements are met. See the following list of Nearshore Fish Species. 
 
 
 
 
 

Groundfish Management Groups 

   Black, Blue & Deacon Rockfish*    Pacific Whiting 

   Canary Rockfish    Longspine Thornyhead 

   Darkblotched Rockfish    Shortspine Thornyhead 

   Widow Rockfish    Arrowtooth Flounder 

   Yelloweye Rockfish    Dover Sole 

   Yellowtail Rockfish    Petrale Sole 

   Minor Nearshore Rockfish*    Rex Sole 

   Minor Shelf Rockfish*    Other Flatfish 

   Minor Slope Rockfish    Other Fish 

   Cabezon & Kelp Greenling*    Lingcod 

   Longnose Skate    Sablefish 

   Pacific Cod    Spiny Dogfish 

   Pacific Ocean Perch  
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NOTE: The species previously known as blue rockfish has recently been recognized as 

two distinct species:  blue rockfish and deacon rockfish.  Throughout the groundfish 
regulations, all references to blue rockfish include both blue rockfish and deacon 
rockfish. 
 
Logbook 

 The skipper and boat owner of a boat fishing for black rockfish, blue rockfish, or 
nearshore fish are responsible for keeping an accurate and truthful log on ODFW 
forms, according to the instructions therein. Logbook information is confidential. 
 
Season 

  The season for black and blue rockfish and nearshore fish is open year-round until 
catch quotas are met. For most current information, see 
www.dfw.state.or.us/mrp/regulations/commercial_fishing/gfregs/  

 
Gear 

  It is unlawful to take black rockfish/blue rockfish/nearshore fishery species by any 
means other than hook and line gear (including pole and line; troll; longline; cable gear; 
and stick gear). 
 
Trip Limits 

 Trip limits for these species change throughout the season and OARs and federal 
regulations should be consulted before fishing. No vessel may exceed state or federal 
daily, weekly, or period limits. For current state trip limits, see most recent industry notice 
at: www.dfw.state.or.us/mrp/regulations/commercial_fishing/gfregs. 

  Vessels with a Black/Blue Rockfish permit without a Nearshore Endorsement may land 
up to 15 pounds of nearshore fish for no more than one landing per day, not t o  
exceed 25% of the total poundage of each landing. 
  For all commercial gears except trawl, it is unlawful to take or retain more than 300 
pounds of black rockfish per vessel from a single fishing trip if any fishing occurs within 
one of the following Black Rockfish Management Areas: 
• Tillamook Head (45° 56’45” N. latitude) to Cape Lookout (45° 20’15” N. latitude); 
• Cascade Head (45° 03’50” N. latitude) to Cape Perpetua (44° 18’ N. latitude); 
• From a point (43° 30’ N. latitude), approximately 8-1/2 nautical miles north of the Coos 
Bay north jetty to a point (43° 03’ N. latitude) adjacent to the mouth of Fourmile Creek, 
approximately 4-1/2 nautical miles south of the Bandon south jetty; 

Nearshore Fish Species List 

   Cabezon    Grass Rockfish 

   Kelp Greenling    Kelp Rockfish 

   Painted Greenling    Olive Rockfish 

   Rock Greenling    Quillback Rockfish 

   Whitespotted Greenling    Tiger Rockfish 

   Black and Yellow Rockfish    Vermilion Rockfish 

   Brown Rockfish    Brown Irish Lord 

   Calico Rockfish    Red Irish Lord 

   China Rockfish    Buffalo Sculpin 

   Copper Rockfish    Treefish 

   Gopher Rockfish 

http://www.dfw.state.or.us/mrp/regulations/commercial_fishing/gfregs/
http://www.dfw.state.or.us/mrp/regulations/commercial_fishing/gfregs/
http://www.dfw.state.or.us/mrp/regulations/commercial_fishing/gfregs
http://www.dfw.state.or.us/mrp/regulations/commercial_fishing/gfregs
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• Mack Arch (42° 13’40” N. latitude) to Oregon - California border (42° N. latitude). 
 
Incidental Catch Limits in Other Fisheries 

  Vessels landing black rockfish, blue rockfish, or nearshore fish under incidental catch 
limits in other fisheries must not exceed trip limits established for this fishery (see 
above).  A vessel without a Black Rockfish/Blue Rockfish Restricted Participation Permit 
may land black rockfish, blue rockfish, or nearshore fish as follows: 
• All fisheries – Except as provided below, 15 pounds per day of black rockfish, blue 

rockfish, and nearshore fish combined for no more than one landing per day. These 
species may not make up over 25% of the total poundage of each landing and must be 
landed with fishing gear that is legal to use in the fishery in which they are landed. 
• Ocean troll salmon fishery - 100 pounds per landing of black rockfish and blue 

rockfish in aggregate. These species must be landed in the same landing in which the 
person lands a salmon, and must be landed dead. If the total amount of black rockfish 
and blue rockfish landed in the ocean troll salmon fishery reaches 3,000 pounds in a 
calendar year, this limit is reduced to 15 pounds per landing for the remainder of the 
year. 
• Groundfish trawl fishery - 1,000 pounds of black rockfish and blue rockfish 

combined per calendar year. Black rockfish and blue rockfish may not make up over 25% 
of the total poundage of each landing, and must be landed dead. 
• Non-profit aquariums - A nonprofit aquarium or a vessel contracted by a nonprofit 

aquarium may land black rockfish, blue rockfish or nearshore fish for the purpose of 
displaying or conducting research on these species. 

 

COASTAL PELAGIC SPECIES FISHERIES 
(OAR 635-004-0370 through 635-004-0545) 

[Permit Fees:  See page 11] 
 

  Sardine, mackerels, anchovies and market squid are federally managed under the 
Coastal Pelagic Species Management Plan and federal regulations apply. Fishers 
should consult the WCR coastal pelagic species website at: 
www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/pelagic/coastal_pelagic_species.html   
 
Logbook 

 The skipper of a boat fishing for any of these species with seine gear must keep an 
accurate and truthful log on ODFW forms, according to the instructions therein. 
Logbook information is confidential. 
 
Gear  
•  For vessels using purse seine gear to take any coastal pelagic species except market 

squid, a grate must be placed over the intake of the hold of the vessel to sort out larger 
species of fish. None of the openings between the bars in the grate may exceed 2-3/8 
inches.  
•  A commercial vessel may pump coastal pelagic species onboard directly from the 

pursed seine of a catching vessel provided the fish so pumped make up no more than 
20% of the weight of either vessel’s landing. The receiving vessel must:   
a. Have lawfully deployed purse seine gear during the current calendar year and pumped 

resultant catch onboard the same vessel for delivery to a port of landing or fish dealer in 
Oregon;  
b. Possess onboard, in working order, legal seine gear capable of catching coastal 

pelagic species including but not limited to seine net, skiff, and pumping gear;  

http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/pelagic/coastal_pelagic_species.html
http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/pelagic/coastal_pelagic_species.html
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c. Document the vessel that made the set, any other vessel pumping fish from the pursed 

seine, and information on catch and location in the logbook required under OAR 635-
004-0376; and  
•  If the catching vessel is participating in the directed commercial sardine fishery, the 

receiving vessel must also hold a valid Sardine Permit pursuant to OAR 635-004-0385. 
 
Bycatch 

  All groundfish and salmon must be returned to the water immediately. Every effort 
must be made to dipnet salmon out of the seine net before they go through a pump 
system. 

 
No Directed Reduction Fishery Allowed 

  No more than ten percent of a coastal  pelagic species landing may be used for 
conversion into fish flour, fish meal, fish scrap, fertilizer, fish oil, and other fishery 
products or by-products for purposes other than human consumption or fishing bait. To 
avoid wastage of fish, exceptions to this rule may be granted due to unforeseen 
circumstances with written authorization by the ODFW Director. 

 
SARDINE FISHERY 
(OAR 635-004-0380 through 635-004-0430) 

•Sardine Restricted Participation Permit 

  

  Required in addition to a boat license and commercial fishing license for sardine 
fishing in the Pacific Ocean. No new permits are available. Permit is renewable if 

the required logbook is completed and returned to ODFW before applying for permit 
renewal. There are no landings requirements for permit renewal. For more information, 
contact ODFW License Services in Salem at (503) 947-6101. 

 
INLAND WATERS ANCHOVY FISHERY 
(OAR 635-004-0530) 
 
Area and Season 

  For inland waters (bays and estuaries), anchovy may be harvested in Tillamook, 
Yaquina, Winchester and Coos Bays to be used as live bait in commercial fishing 
operations by the catching vessel from July 1 through October 31. For commercial 
fishing in the Columbia River, see Columbia River Fisheries for Anchovy and Herring on 
page 43. 
 
Gear 

  It is unlawful to use any fishing gear or method of harvest for taking anchovy in inland 
waters other than lampara net, hook and line, or purse seine with a maximum length of 
50 fathoms (300 feet), defined as the maximum distance from the first to the last 
pursing rings on the purse line. 
 
Notification and Reporting 

  Anyone intending to fish for anchovy in inland waters except the Columbia River must 
notify Oregon State Police 12 hours prior to fishing by calling (800) 452-7888. Notification 
must include vessel name and number, fishing location, and estimated time of fishing activity. 
 Anchovy taken for use as live bait by the catching vessel are not required to be 
reported on a fish ticket, but must be reported by submitting a completed seine logbook 
to ODFW according to the instructions therein. 
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INLAND WATERS HERRING FISHERY 
(OAR 635-004-0445 and 635-004-0450) 

  Inland Waters Herring Fishery rules apply to herring taken from inland waters (all bays 
and estuaries) except when participating in the Columbia River Anchovy and Herring 
fishery (see page 42) or the Yaquina Bay Roe Herring fishery (see below).  
  Herring taken from inland waters may be sold only for bait, to a licensed Bait Fish 
Dealer. 
 
Gear 

 It is unlawful to take herring from inland waters by any means other than hook and line 
except beach seine is allowed in the Umpqua estuary. 
 
PACIFIC OCEAN HERRING FISHERY 
(OAR 635-004-0510 through 635-004-0520) 

  Commercial fishing for herring is open all year in the ocean. 
 
Logbook 

  The skipper of a  boat fishing for herring in the ocean must keep an accurate and 
truthful log on ODFW forms, according to the instructions therein. Logbook information 
is confidential. 
 
YAQUINA BAY ROE HERRING 

(OAR 635-004-0455 through 635-004-0505)  
•Yaquina Bay Roe Herring Restricted Participation Permit 
 

  Required in addition to a boat license for participating in Yaquina Bay roe-herring 
fishery. No new permits are available. Prior year’s permit renewable if permit fees are 

paid by December 31 of permit year. Permits are transferable only if statutory 
requirements are met. For more information contact: ODFW License Services in Salem 
at (503) 947-6101. 
 
Logbook 

  The skipper of a boat fishing for roe herring must keep an accurate and truthful log on 
ODFW forms, according to the instructions therein. Logbook information is confidential. 
 
Season and Harvest Limit 

  The fishery is open only during January 1 through April 15 each year. During this 
period, fishing with nets is prohibited from midnight Friday through midnight Sunday of 
any week. The yearly spawning biomass and commercial harvest cap shall be 
determined by the ODFW Marine Resources Program. 
 
Gear 

 The only allowable gears or fishing methods are lampara net, hook and line, and purse 
seine with a maximum length of 50 fathoms (300 feet), defined as the maximum distance 
from the first to last pursing rings. 
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OTHER MARINE FISH FISHERIES 
 
HAGFISH FISHERY 
(OAR 635-004-0610 through 635-004-0625) 
 
Logbook 

  The skipper of a boat fishing for hagfish must keep an accurate and truthful log on 
ODFW forms, according to the instructions therein.  Logbook information is confidential. 
 
Gear 

  It is unlawful for a single commercial fishing vessel to possess, use, control or 
operate more than 200 hagfish pots. Pots may be fished individually or on common 
ground line. Pot gear used for hagfish shall include a biodegradable escape exit of 
at least three inches in diameter constructed with 120 thread size or smaller, untreated 
cotton twine or mild steel not to exceed 1/4-inch (six mm) in diameter. 
 
Incidental Catch 

  All species of finfish and shellfish other than hagfish caught in hagfish pots must 
be returned immediately to the water. 
 
SURFPERCH FISHERY 
(OAR 635-004-0650 through 635-004-0655) 
 
Season 

  It is unlawful to take surfperch for commercial purposes from the Pacific Ocean from 
August 1 thru September 30. 
 
Area 

  It is unlawful to take surfperch for commercial purposes from Oregon’s bays and 
estuaries at all times. 
 
MINOR FINFISH FISHERIES 
(OAR 635-004-0660 through 635-004-0670) 

  The following list of species is recognized by ODFW as minor finfish species: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Logbook 

  The skipper of a boat fishing for minor finfish species must keep an accurate and 
truthful log on ODFW forms, according to the instructions therein. This requirement does 
not apply when minor finfish species are considered ‘weighbacks’ under OAR 635-
006-0210. Logbook information is confidential. 

 
 

Minor Finfish List 

     Blue shark      Eelpouts 

     Pacific pomfret      Pacific sandfish 

     Salmon shark      Skilfish 

     Slender sole      Walleye Pollock 

      Wolf-eel  
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SHELLFISH FISHERIES 
 

PROHIBITED SHELLFISH SPECIES: 
• Marine snails and abalone (OAR 635-005-0295) 
• Piddocks (OAR 635-005-0300) 
• Native littleneck clams (OAR 635-005-0290) 
 

CLAM AND INTERTIDAL FISHERIES 
(Bay clams, razor clams, mussels, bait (mud and ghost) shrimp, and other 
intertidal animals) 
(OAR 635-005-0245 through 635-005-0390) 
[Permit Fees:  See page 11] 
 

•Commercial Shellfish and Intertidal Animal Harvest Permits 

 Commercial Shellfish or Intertidal Animal Harvest Permit is required. Permits are 
available at Marine Resource Program offices in Astoria, Newport, and Charleston. 
Individual permit required in addition to commercial fishing license for harvesting clams, 
mussels, bait shrimp, red rock crab, and miscellaneous intertidal animals. Prior to re-

issue, submission of previous year’s logbook is required. Crew Member Licenses are not 
allowed for the Commercial Shellfish Harvest Permit. 
 Additional license requirement for each harvester, distributor or processor of clams, 
mussels, and scallops intended for human consumption is available through Oregon 
Department of Agriculture (ODA) at (503) 986-4720. 
  Subtidal harvest of clams requires a Bay Clam Dive Permit (see pages 33 and 34). 
 
Logbook 

  Each harvester fishing for clams or intertidal species must keep an accurate and 
truthful log on ODFW forms, according to the instructions therein. All harvesters shall 
fill out logbooks prior to leaving the harvest area. Logbook information is confidential. 
 
Season and Area 

•  Gaper clams may be taken from July 1 through December 31. 
•  Razor clams may be taken year-round, except from July 15 through September 30 in 

the area north of Tillamook Head in Clatsop County. 
•  It is unlawful to take clams from: 
 a.  Little Nestucca Bay,  
 b.  Big Nestucca Bay,  

c.  Netarts Bay (except cockles may be taken in an area west of and including 

the main channel, north of the northern boundary line for the Shellf ish 
Preserve (Latitude 45°23.68'N), and south of Latitude 45°24.71'N, near the 
informational kiosk), 

 d.  Salmon River and Bay,  
 e.  Siletz River and Bay, and  
 f.  All state parks south of Tillamook Head. 
•  Shellfish preserves in Netarts and Yaquina bays are closed to all clam digging (see 

pages 49 and 50). 
•  Unlawful to take any shellfish from Special Regulation Marine Areas as described in 
OAR 635-005-0260. 
•  Unlawful to take clams or mussels from a health closure area closed for biotoxins. 
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• Unlawful to take any shellfish taken for human consumption from an area designated 

as restricted by the Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA). 
•  Unlawful to take native littleneck clams (Leukoma staminea). 

 
Catch Limits 

 The annual landing cap for cockles taken from Netarts Bay is 22,000 pounds. 
 
Gear 

  It is unlawful to take razor clams by any means other than by hand or shovel. It is 
unlawful to take mussels by any means other than hand or a hand powered tool. 
 
Size 

  The minimum legal size of razor clams taken for commercial purposes is 3-3/4 
inches. All undersized razor clams must be immediately returned to the hole from which 
they were dug with the hinge oriented towards the ocean.  The minimum legal size of 
cockles taken from Tillamook or Netarts bay is 2-3/4 inches. 
 
Time of Sale 

  Clams being sold as bait must be sold within 48 hours of harvest or leaving the digging 
area, whichever comes last. Clams being sold for human consumption must be sold 
within 24 hours of harvest or leaving the digging area, whichever comes last. 
 
Clams and Mussels for Bait 

  Clams and mussels taken as bait must be visibly dyed with an ODFW-approved dye 
(Red #40). 
•  Dyeing must occur before leaving the harvest area, before being transported by 

vehicle, or before the time of docking of the vessel used in harvesting. 
•  Clams and mussels taken for bait may not be possessed aboard a vessel while 

clams and mussels for human consumption are on board. Upon leaving the vessel or 
the harvest area, clams and mussels taken as bait may not be mixed with clams and 
mussels taken for human consumption. 
•  Prior to sale, clams or mussels taken from restricted areas and live boxed must be 

stored in a restricted area pending sale. 
•  Clams or mussels taken for human consumption and later sold as bait must be dyed 

at the time of sale to a bait dealer. 
 
Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) Health Closure Information 

  Warnings and alerts can be obtained by calling the ODA shellfish telephone hotline at 
(800) 448-2474 or at:        
 www.oregon.gov/ODA/programs/FoodSafety/Shellfish/Pages/ 
 ShellfishClosures.aspx 

 

BAY CLAM DIVE FISHERY 
(OAR 635-005-305 through 635-005-360) 

  The following requirements and restrictions pertain to the bay clam dive fishery, in 
addition to those regarding clam and intertidal fisheries. 
 

•Coast-wide Bay and South-Coast Bay Clam Dive Restricted Participation 

Permits 

  Restricted fishery permit required:  Coast-wide Bay Clam Dive Permit (Oregon 
estuaries) or South-coast Bay Clam Dive Permit (Oregon estuaries south of Heceta 

http://www.oregon.gov/ODA/programs/FoodSafety/Shellfish/Pages/ShellfishClosures.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODA/programs/FoodSafety/Shellfish/Pages/ShellfishClosures.aspx
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Head). Individual or vessel permit required in addition to commercial fishing license 
for harvesting bay clams from subtidal areas in Oregon estuaries using dive gear. 
Prior year’s permit renewable if five landings of at least 100 pounds each or an annual 
total of 2,500 pounds of bay clams using dive gear were landed in Oregon in prior 
calendar year. Permit must be renewed by January 31 of permit year. 
 
Logbook 

  Each harvester of bay clams must keep an accurate and truthful log on ODFW forms, 
according to the instructions therein. All divers shall fill out logbooks prior to leaving the 
harvest area. Logbook information is confidential. 
 
Season and Area 

Additional to those for clam and intertidal fisheries: 
 Subtidal gaper clams may be taken by holders of a bay clam dive permit from January 
through June as incidental catch at a ratio of 25 pounds of gaper clams per 100 pounds 
of butter clams or one gaper clam per eight butter clams, whichever allows a greater 
incidental catch of gaper clams. 
•   Bay clams may be taken in Tillamook Bay under a Bay Clam Dive Permit except from 

the following areas: 
  a.  The “Ghost Hole” from the floating toilet site south to Sandstone Point and 500 feet 

wetward from the Highway 101 shoreline; 
  b.  The area east of a line connecting the USCG tower on the north jetty, buoy 

marker 13 and Hobsonville Point; or  
  c.  The area above mean lower low water near Kincheloe Point. 
  d.  Unlawful to take subtidal cockle clams in Netarts Bay. 
•   Unlawful to take subtidal bay clams in Coos Bay from depths shallower than 10 feet 

mean lower low water; or the area of South Slough, south of the Charleston Bridge. 
 
Catch Limits 

  In Tillamook Bay, the annual quotas for clams harvested by the bay clam dive fishery 
are 185,000 pounds for cockles, 225,000 pounds for butter clams, and 235,000 pounds for 
gaper clams. 

 
Size 

 The minimum legal size of cockle clams taken from Tillamook bay is 2-3/4 inches. 
The minimum legal size of cockle clams in all other bays is 2-1/4 inches.  

 

OCEAN AND COLUMBIA RIVER DUNGENESS CRAB FISHERY 
(OAR 635-005-0400 through 635-005-0495) 
[Permit Fees:  See page 11] 
 

•Ocean Dungeness Crab Restricted Participation Permit  

 Required in addition to a boat license to participate in the ocean and Columbia River 
Dungeness crab fishery. Prior year’s permit renewable if crab permit fees were paid by 
December 31 of permit year.  A  Dungeness crab permit which is not renewed will lapse, 
and may not be renewed for subsequent years. Permit holders may transfer a permit to 
another person or vessel only if regulatory requirements are met. 
 A Dungeness crab permit is not required for vessels that are engaged solely in setting 
gear for a permitted vessel and which do not retrieve, retain or possess Dungeness crab. 
 
 



 

35 
 

Logbook 

  The skipper of a boat fishing for Dungeness crab must keep an accurate and truthful 
log on ODFW forms, according to the instructions therein. Logbook information is 
confidential. 
 
Season 

  It is unlawful to take, land, or possess Dungeness crab for commercial purposes from 
the Pacific Ocean or Columbia River from August 15 through 8:59 am December 1 (see 
Pacific Ocean definition page 12). It is illegal to place or leave pots in the ocean or 
Columbia River during the closed season except baited pots may be set up to 73 hours 
prior to the season opening, and unbaited, open pots may be left in the ocean (not 
including the Columbia River) for no more than 14 days after the season closure. Vessel 
holds must be officially certified before crab can be landed in Oregon. At the time of the 
hold inspection, the skipper must declare and certify on the Oregon hold inspection 
certification form the maximum number of pots that will be used in that season’s fishery 
before fishing. 
  Season openings may be delayed beyond December 1 if preseason sampling 
indicates meat recovery criteria (25% south of Cascade Head and 23% north of 
Cascade Head) are not met or crab biotoxin testing results exceed federal Food and 
Drug Administration thresholds. In these events, emergency regulations will be adopted 
to establish season opening dates, areas, and any additional restrictions. 
  In the event of a delayed season opening for part of the Oregon coast, vessels 
electing to fish in the area with an earlier open date may not fish in an area with a 
delayed opening within the first 30 days after the delayed opening date. During hold 
inspections, vessels electing to fish in an area shall declare this area and be certified 
to have been free of crab on the day immediately before the declared fishing area 
opens. 

 
Area 

  The ocean Dungeness crab fishery includes Pacific Ocean waters off Oregon and 
the Columbia River. Oregon ocean Dungeness crab permits are valid only in Oregon 
state waters and the Pacific Ocean in federal waters south of the Oregon/Washington 
border and north of the Oregon/California border, extending 200 nautical miles 
westward. 
 
Gear 

  It is unlawful to take Dungeness crab for commercial purposes by any means other 
than crab pots or crab rings; to deploy or fish more crab gear than the amount of gear 
assigned by the crab gear allocation certificate; to use any vessel other than the vessel 
designated on the crab gear allocation except to set gear or to retrieve derelict gear 
as allowed; or to have Dungeness crab gear deployed in the Pacific Ocean or 
Columbia River for more than 14 days without making a landing of Dungeness crab. 
•  Crab Pot Specifications  

  It is unlawful to possess on a vessel, use, control, or operate any crab pots that are 
oversized, do not have adequate destruct mechanisms, or lack proper escape rings. 
Crab pots must not be larger than 13 cubic feet internal volume and must have no less 
than two circular escape ports of at least 4-1/4 inches (inside diameter) on top or 
side of pot (upper half only) and one of the following: 
  a.  A single loop of untreated cotton not heavier than 120 thread size between pot 

lid tiedown hooks and the tiedown straps; or 
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 b.  Any modification of the wire mesh on the top or upper half of the side of the 

pot, secured with a single strand of untreated cotton not heavier than 120 thread size, 
which, when removed, will create a minimum opening of at least 5 inches in diameter 
and will meet the following: 
 (i)  The minimum opening may have not more than a single wire mesh (described 

as a “V”) that protrudes into the opening provided that mesh extends into the opening 
a distance of not more than 2.5 inches, as measured from the perimeter of the 
opening along either edge of the protruding wire mesh, to serve as an anchor for the 
securing cotton. The panel containing the opening and the wire mesh acting as an 
anchor for the securing cotton must be constructed of a single wire no greater than 
0.050 inches in diameter; and 
  (ii)  Cotton must not be wrapped multiple times around wire mesh and may use 

no more than one knot securing the wire mesh at each end. 
•  Buoy Tags and Gear Marking 

 a.  Each crab pot or ring used for the taking of crabs for commercial purposes must 

have attached to it a tag identifying the owner or the vessel from which the pots are 
operated. 
 b.  Crab pot or ring buoys must be marked with a unique number registered to the 

owner by ODFW and have an ODFW buoy tag attached to the buoy closest to the pot. 
Marks must be legible and permanent. Register by contacting ODFW License Services 
in Salem at (503) 947-6101. 
 c.  Upon submission of a declaration of loss, lost buoy tags may be replaced as of 

the first business day after 30 days following the season opening. The declaration must 
be signed in the presence of an authorized ODFW employee and must state the 
location and date where lost gear or tags were last observed, and the presumed cause 
of the loss. Replacement tags will only be issued up to 10% of the permit holder’s pot 
limit. Exceptions for tag loss due to catastrophic or extraordinary circumstances may be 
considered. 
•  Derelict Gear 

  No more than 25 derelict pots or rings may be on board a vessel between December 
1 and the second Monday in June and no more than 50 between the second Monday in 
June and August 28. Between August 29 and Oct. 31, there is no limit to the number of 
derelict pots or rings brought in. Immediately upon retrieval of derelict gear, the retrieving 
skipper must document in the retrieving vessel’s logbook the date and time of gear 
retrieval, number of retrieved pots or rings, location of retrieval, and retrieved gear owner 
identification information; and any retrieved crab gear must be transported to shore 
during the same fishing trip that retrieval took place. Legal crab found in derelict gear 
may be retained by vessels with a valid ocean Dungeness crab permit in open areas 
and during open seasons. All gear retrieved under these regulations must be returned 
to the owner by law. There is also a Post-Season Derelict Gear Recovery Program that 
occurs every September to further incentivize getting any remaining derelict crab gear 
out of the ocean by allowing vessels with a derelict gear permit to keep or sell retrieved 
gear. For more information on the requirements of this program go to 
http://www.dfw.state.or.us/MRP/shellfish/commercial/crab/psdgrp.asp. 
 
Sex and Size 

  Only male Dungeness crab 6-1/4 inches or larger may be taken or possessed. 
Measurement is a straight line or caliper measurement made directly in front of 10th 
anterolateral spine. Undersized or female crabs must be released unharmed in the 
fishing area within 15 minutes of capture in the ocean. Crab must be landed whole. 
 

http://www.dfw.state.or.us/MRP/shellfish/commercial/crab/psdgrp.asp
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Trip Limit 

  It is unlawful for any vessel to take, land, or possess more than 1,200 pounds of ocean 
and Columbia River Dungeness crab per week beginning the second Monday in June 
through August 14. For the purposes of this rule, "week" means 12:01 a.m. local time 
Monday through 12 midnight the following Sunday. Crabbers must keep copies of all 
landing receipts on board the vessel during this period. 
 

BAY DUNGENESS CRAB FISHERY 
(OAR 635-005-0500 through 635-005-0515) 

  No specific permit is required; however commercial boat and individual license 
requirements still apply. 

 
Season and Area 

 The Columbia River is excluded from the Bay Dungeness Crab Fishery; refer to Ocean 
Dungeness Crab Fishery. Unlawful to take from any bay: From January 1 through Labor 
Day; During December, if the adjacent ocean area is closed; From midnight Friday 
through midnight Sunday of any week; On all legal state and federal holidays; and 
Chetco River (ORS 511.306). 
 
Gear 

 It is unlawful to use any gear other than crab rings, operate more than 15 crab rings 
from one vessel, or possess or use any crab ring which does not have a tag identifying the 
vessel or owner. A ring is any device that allows unrestricted entry or exit while fishing.  
 
Sex and Size 

 Only male Dungeness crab 6-1/4 inches or larger may be taken or possessed. 
Measurement is a straight line or caliper measurement made directly in front of the 10th 
anterolateral spine. Undersized or female Dungeness crab must be released immediately. 
Crab must be landed whole. 

 

RED ROCK; BOX; TANNER; AND OTHER CRAB FISHERIES 
(OAR 635-005-0520 through 635-005-0565) 
 

•Commercial Shellfish Harvest Permit  

 Permit required for harvest of red rock crabs in bays. It is unlawful to take red rock or 
box crab from the Pacific Ocean without first obtaining an Oregon Dungeness Crab 
Permit. Permits to land Tanner and box crab taken as incidental catch in trawl nets 
outside Oregon waters (beyond three miles) may be issued.  Crew Member Licenses 
are not allowed for the Commercial Shellfish Harvest Permit. 
 
Logbook 

 The skipper of a boat fishing for red rock, box, tanner or other crab species must 
keep an accurate and truthful log on ODFW forms, according to the instructions therein. 
Logbook information is confidential. 
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Season and Area 

 It is unlawful to: 
•  Take Tanner, Oregon hair and scarlet king crab from November 1 until the opening of 

the next Dungeness crab season. 
•  Retain red rock and box crab when the Dungeness fishery is closed. 
•  Retain red rock crab in bays when bay Dungeness crab fishery is closed. 
•  Take Tanner, Oregon hair and scarlet king crab from the Pacific Ocean shoreward of 

the 40 fathom line. 
 

Gear 
 Except by special permit (OAR 635-005-0540), it is unlawful to take Tanner, Oregon 

hair, and scarlet king crab except by rings, pots, and crab longline gear. Crab pots and  
crab pot longline gear must comply with provisions of OAR 635-005-0275.  

 In the Pacific Ocean, crab rings and pots used to take red rock or box crab must 
comply with Dungeness crab rules. 
 In bays, only crab rings may be used: no more than 15 rings per boat.  Crab buoys 
used in Tanner, Oregon hair, and scarlet king crab, must be inscribed with a buoy 
number issued by ODFW. 
 
Sex and size 

 There are no size or sex restrictions for taking red rock, box, Tanner, Oregon hair, 
or scarlet king crabs. However, these crabs may not be mutilated before landing such 
that their species cannot be determined. 

 

OCEAN PINK SHRIMP FISHERY 
(OAR 635-005-0575 through 635-005-0645) 

[Permit Fees:  See page 11] 
 

•Ocean Pink Shrimp Vessel Restricted Participation Permit 

 Required in addition to a boat license to participate in the ocean pink shrimp fishery.  
Prior year’s permit is renewable upon application and payment of fees.  
NOTE: A boat license must be purchased prior to or at the time of permit renewal. 
Permit holders may transfer a permit to another person or vessel if statutory requirements 
are met. 
 
Logbook 

  The skipper of a boat, fishing for pink shrimp must keep an accurate and truthful log 
on ODFW forms, according to the instructions therein. Logbook information is 
confidential. 

 
Season 

  April 1 through October 31. Shrimp legally landed north of the U.S.-Canada border 
may be processed in Oregon at any time. 
 
Gear 

  Trawl nets or pots only. Unlawful to fish with trawl gear unless a rigid grate bycatch 
reduction device with no openings between the bars exceeding 0.75 inches and 
meeting other specifications of OAR 635-005-0630 is used in each net. Contact the 

ODFW Newport or Charleston office for details.  
It is unlawful to fish with trawl gear unless footrope lighting devices that have been 

approved by ODFW are used in each net. A list of approved footrope lighting devices is 
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available from ODFW. Footrope lighting devices must be operational, securely attached 
within 6 inches of the forward leading edge of the bottom panel of trawl netting, and each 
trawl net must have a minimum of five lighting devices spaced 4 feet apart in the central 
16 feet of each net. 
 It is unlawful to land shrimp taken south of the Oregon-California border with nets 
having a mesh size of less than 1-3/8 inches between knots. 
 
Vessel Monitoring System 

 Required for any vessel that fishes with non-groundfish trawl gear in the EEZ. See 
page 14 for more information. 

 
Incidental Catch Limit 

  It is unlawful to land an incidental catch of groundfish in excess of 500 pounds per 
day(s) of fishing trip, not to exceed 1,500 pounds. Monthly sub-limits for lingcod and 
sablefish also apply. Amount of groundfish cannot exceed amount of pink shrimp. 
Unlawful to retain canary rockfish, yelloweye rockfish, or any species of thornyheads. 
Contact the ODFW Newport or Charleston office for current information. 
 
Maximum Count Per Pound 

  It is unlawful to possess or land shrimp from any one trip or landing which exceeds 
an average count of 160 whole shrimp per pound. This rule does not apply to landing 
or possession of less than 3,000 pounds of shrimp. 
  To determine average count per pound when a landing exceeds 3,000 pounds of 
shrimp, one sample must be taken from each one thousand pounds up to a maximum 
requirement of twenty samples. The sampling unit shall consist of at least one pound of 
whole unbroken shrimp. 
  For the purpose of determining count per pound, “whole shrimp” and “whole unbroken 
shrimp” are defined as shrimp in which the body is substantially intact, including an 
identifiable carapace, abdomen, and telson (tail). It is not intended to require shrimp to 
have an unbroken rostrum, complete set of legs, antennae, or other appendages. 
 

SPOT AND COONSTRIPE SHRIMP FISHERIES 
(OAR 635-005-0650 through 635-005-0675) 

  No specific permit is required; however commercial boat and individual license 
requirements still apply. 
 
Logbook 

 The skipper of a boat fishing for spot or coonstripe shrimp must keep an accurate 
and truthful log on ODFW forms, according to the instructions therein. Logbook 
information is confidential. 
 
Gear 

 Pot or trap gear only, except trawls legal for pink shrimp and groundfish when 
those seasons are open. Entrance tunnels must be between 1.5 and 3 inches at widest 
point. Pots must have at least one escape panel with #21 or smaller untreated cotton in 
such a manner that an opening of at least 5 inches will result when twine deteriorates. 
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WEATHERVANE SCALLOP FISHERY 
(OAR 635-005-0725 through 635-005-0785) 

 [Permit Fees:  See page 11] 

 

•Scallop Vessel Restricted Participation Permit  

 Required in addition to a boat license for ocean scallop (weathervane scallop) fishing. 
Prior year’s permit is renewable if vessel was used in prior year to land at least 5,000 
pounds of food fish in Oregon. Permit holders may transfer a permit to another person 
or vessel only if statutory requirements are met. 
 
Gear 

 It is unlawful to take weathervane scallops for commercial purposes by any means 
other than trawl gear having 3-inch or larger mesh throughout. 
 

SEA URCHIN AND SEA CUCUMBER FISHERY 
(OAR 635-005-0790 through 635-005-0850) 

 [Permit Fees:  See page 11] 

 

•Sea Urchin and Sea Cucumber Restricted Participation Permit 

 Individual restricted fishery permit required for each diver. Required in addition to a 
commercial fishing license for sea urchin or sea cucumber harvest. Prior year’s 
permit is renewable if diver harvested 5,000 pounds of sea urchins or 500 pounds of sea 
cucumbers in the prior year.  Permit must be renewed by January 31 of permit year. 
 
Logbook 

 Each diver harvesting sea urchins or sea cucumbers must keep an accurate and truthful 
log on ODFW forms, according to the instructions therein. Logbook information is 
confidential. 
 
Season and Area 

 Special harvesting permit required prior to harvesting purple urchins. Contact ODFW, 
Charleston for details. Sea urchins or sea cucumbers cannot be taken in water depths 
shallower than 10 feet at mean lower low water. 
 During the period May 1 through August 31, sea urchins or sea cucumbers may not 
be taken within specific buffer zone at Pyramid rock at Rogue Reef. During the period 
May 1 through October 31, sea urchins or sea cucumbers may not be taken at Orford 
Reef, defined as the area between the parallels of latitude 42° 49’ N. and 42° 46’ N. 
 Various other closed or restricted areas apply to commercial sea urchin/sea cucumber 
harvest.  See Closed Areas on pages 45-51. 
 
Size 

 Red urchins must be 3-1/2 inches or larger in shell diameter (not including spines). 
 
Other Requirements   

 Use of any gas mixture other than atmospheric air for diving is prohibited when taking 
sea urchins or California sea cucumbers. 
 Other special regulations for vessel number display and amount of divers also apply. 
Contact ODFW, Charleston (541) 888-5515 for details. 
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SQUID FISHERY 
(OAR 635-005-0915 through 635-005-0933) 
 

  Directed commercial fishing is allowed for squid species in the orders Myopsida, 
Oegopsida and Sepioidea, including, but not limited to market squid and Humboldt squid. 
Some squid species in these orders are managed as Shared Ecosystem Component 
Species, for which landings restrictions apply (see page 14).  Market squid are federally 
managed by the Coastal Pelagic Species Fishery Management Plan, and federal 
regulations apply. Fishers should consult the WCR coastal pelagic species website at: 
www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/pelagic/coastal_pelagic_species.html 
 
Market Squid Harvest Guideline  

 Prior to reaching a harvest of 4.5 million pounds of squid, with not more than 3 million 
pounds taken north or south of Heceta Head, ODFW will hold a public hearing to 
evaluate the fishery. 
 
Logbook Required 

 The skipper of a boat fishing for squid with any gear must keep an accurate and 
truthful log on ODFW forms, according to the instructions therein. Logbook information 
is confidential. 
 
Pumping from Another Vessel’s Seine 

  It is unlawful for a commercial vessel to pump market squid onboard directly from the 
pursed seine of another vessel unless squid so received make up no more than 20% of 
each landing and the vessel receiving squid: 
•  Has lawfully deployed purse seine gear during the current year and pumped resultant 

catch onboard the same vessel for delivery to a port of landing or fish dealer in Oregon;  
•  Has onboard, in working order, legal seine gear capable of catching market squid 

including, but not limited to, seine net, skiff, and pumping gear; and 
•  Documents the vessel that made the set, any other vessel pumping squid from the 

pursed seine, and information on catch and location in the ODFW logbook. 
 
Bycatch Restrictions 

  All groundfish and salmon must be returned to the water immediately. Every effort 
must be made to dipnet salmon out of the seine net before they go through a pump 
system. 
 
No Reduction Fishery Allowed  

  No more than ten percent of a market squid landing may be used for conversion into 
fish flour, fish meal, fish scrap, fertilizer, fish oil, other fishery products or by-products for 
purposes other than human consumption or fishing bait. Exceptions to this rule may be 
granted due to unforeseen circumstances with written authorization by the ODFW 
Director. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/pelagic/coastal_pelagic_species.html
http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/pelagic/coastal_pelagic_species.html
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RIVER FISHERIES 

 
CRAYFISH FISHERY 
(OAR 635-005-0855 through 635-005-0885 and 635-056-0075(d)(A)) 
 
Season 

 April 1 through October 31. Crayfish with eggs attached must be returned 
immediately unharmed to the water. Possession of crayfish with eggs attached is 
prohibited. 
 
Gear and Size Restriction 

 Crayfish pots or rings are the only permissible gear. Crayfish must be at least 3-5/8 
inches in length from tip of nose to tip of tail. All boats, traps, buoys, liveboxes, holding 
pens, boxes, bags, and other containers used to take, hold, or transport crayfish must 
be labeled with an ODFW issued brand number. 
 
Area 

 Malheur Reservoir (Malheur County), South Twin Lake (Deschutes County), and the 
Williamson River (Klamath County) are closed to commercial harvest. 
 
Non-Native Crayfish 

 Non-native crayfish may be harvested, possessed and sold commercially pursuant to the 
crayfish fishery. 
 

COASTAL RIVERS SHAD FISHERY 
(OAR 635-004-0590 through 635-004-0600) 

 
Season 

 It is unlawful to take shad for commercial purposes from coastal rivers from 6 a.m. 
May 10 to 6 a.m. July 1 of each year. 
 
Area 

  It is unlawful to take shad for commercial purposes from coastal rivers (see page 43 
for Columbia River shad) except: Siuslaw, Umpqua, and Smith River, a tributary of the 
Umpqua River. In addition, the following areas of the Siuslaw, Umpqua, and Smith Rivers 
are closed:  
• In the Siuslaw River; above a line across the river drawn at right angles to the thread 
of the stream at the lower end of the mouth or confluence of Morgan Creek with the 
Siuslaw River; and the North Fork of the Siuslaw River above the state highway bridge 
crossing the north fork between Cushman and Florence in Lane County; and Duncan 
Inlet or South Inlet or tributaries.  
• In the Umpqua River, above the confluence of Mill Creek, outlet of Loon Lake with 
the Umpqua River in Douglas County.  
• In the Smith River, above the confluence of the North Fork of the Smith River with the 
Smith River. 
 
Gear 

 See OAR 635-004-0600 or contact the ODFW Southwest Regional Office, (541) 440-
3353, for a copy. 
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COLUMBIA RIVER FISHERIES 
 
COLUMBIA RIVER ANCHOVY AND HERRING 
(OAR 635-042-0100) 

 
Area 

 Anchovies and herring may be taken for commercial purposes at any time in the 
Columbia River seaward of the Megler-Astoria Bridge. 
 
Gear 

 Purse, lampara, and round haul seines of a mesh size not less than one-half inch and 
not over 1,400 feet in length. All other species taken in operation of such gear must 
immediately be returned to the water. 
 
Anchovy Landing Limits 

 For any trips where fishing occurs inside of a north-south line drawn through Buoy 10 
at the mouth of the river, it is unlawful to land more than 5 metric tons of anchovy per 
day or 10 metric tons per week (12:01 a.m. Sunday through 11:59 p.m. Saturday). 
 
COLUMBIA  RIVER  CARP  AND  OTHER  NONGAME FISH 
(OAR 635-042-0154) 

  It is legal to fish commercially for carp and other nongame fish in the Columbia River 
only: 
• With an approved permit issued by ODFW License Services at Salem Headquarters; 
or 
• During open commercial fishing periods with gear authorized for those open fishing 
periods. 
 

COLUMBIA RIVER NON-TREATY SALMON FISHERIES 
(OAR 635-042-0001 through 635-042-0190) 

 

•Restricted Participation Permit Required  

[Permit Fees:  See page 11] 
 

  Regulations for the Columbia River fisheries change frequently. Consult the latest 
Oregon Administrative Rules or Compact Action Notices covering these fisheries before 
fishing. 

•Columbia River Salmon Permit        

 Required in addition to a boat license for commercial fishing for salmon in the 
Columbia River. No new permits are available. Prior year’s permit is renewable if fees 
are paid by December 31 of the permit year. Permit holders may transfer a permit to 
another person or vessel only if statutory requirements are met. For more information, 
contact ODFW License Services in Salem at (503) 947-6101. 
 
COLUMBIA RIVER SHAD FISHERY 
(OAR 635-042-0105) 
 
Season 
 During salmon seasons with gear authorized for taking salmon. See OAR 635-042-
0110 and OAR 635-042-0115 for special shad seasons. 
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STURGEON FISHERY 
(OAR 635-004-0630 through 635-004-0645) 

 
Season 

 It is unlawful to take green sturgeon at all times and white sturgeon for commercial 
purposes except in the: Columbia River, during commercial fishing seasons when white 
sturgeon sales are authorized; Siuslaw, Coos, and Coquille rivers in the areas and 
during the times open to the taking of shad for commercial purposes; and Pacific Ocean 
at all times. 
 
Gear 

 It is unlawful to take white sturgeon for commercial purposes by any means other than 
the commercial fishing gear authorized in the fishing area in which the sturgeon are 
taken. When sales are authorized, white sturgeon may be taken for commercial 
purposes incidental to fishing for other target species and with legal gear designed for 
the target species. 
 
Size Limit 

  Sturgeon are measured from the tip of the nose to the fork in the tail (fork length). 
It is unlawful to take white sturgeon for commercial purposes which are less than 44 
inches or more than 50 inches fork length. It is unlawful to remove the head or tail, or 
dress any sturgeon taken for commercial purposes prior to being received at the 
premises of a wholesale fish dealer. 

 

MEASURING “FORK LENGTH” 
 Length is measured as the shortest distance between the tip of the nose and the 
fork between the upper and lower lobes of the caudal fin (tail) while the fish lies on 
its side on a flat surface with its tail in a normal position. 
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CLOSED AREAS 

Coastal Area 
(listed North to South) 

 

Restrictions 

National Wildlfie Refuges (Coastwide) 
No trespass or disturbance of wildlife. All islands  

and rocks above mean high water (p. 51) 
Columbia River Tributaries & Sanctuaries No food fish (p. 46) 

Willamette River No salmon, shad, etc (p. 46) 

Haystack Rock Marine Garden No shellfish, marine invertebrates (p. 50) 

Cape Falcon Marine Reserve Harvest restrictions (pp. 47) 

Three Arch Rocks Closed within 500 ft. from 5/1 – 9/15 (p.51) 

Netarts Bay Shellfish Preserve No clams in posted areas (p. 49) 

Cape Kiwanda Marine Garden No shellfish, marine invertebrates (p.50) 

Cascade Head Marine Reserve Harvest restrictions (p. 47) 

Nestucca Bay No food fish except shellfish (p. 46) 

Boiler Bay Research Reserve No commercial shellfish, marine invertebrates (p. 51) 

Pirate Cove Research Reserve No commercial shellfish, marine invertebrates (p. 51) 

Whale Cove Habitat Refuge No commercial marine fish, shellfish, or  marine 
invertebrates (p.  51) 

Otter Rock Marine Garden No shellfish, marine invertebrates (p. 50) 

Otter Rock Marine Reserve Harvest restrictions (p. 48) 

Yaquina Head Marine Garden No shellfish, marine invertebrates (p. 50) 

Yaquina Bay Shellfish Preserve No clams in posted areas (p. 50) 

Cape Perpetua Marine Reserve Harvest restrictions (p. 48) 

Yachats Marine Garden No shellfish, marine invertebrates (p. 50) 

Cape Perpetua Marine Garden No shellfish, marine invertebrates (p. 50) 

Neptune State Park Research Reserve No commercial shellfish, marine invertebrates (p. 51) 

Umpqua River No sturgeon (p. 46) 

Gregory Point Research Reserve No commercial shellfish, marine invertebrates (p. 51) 

Cape Arago Research Reserve No commercial shellfish, marine invertebrates (p. 51) 

Redfish Rocks Marine Reserve Harvest restrictions (p. 49) 

Pyramid Rock No commercial marine fish, shellfish, or  marine 
Invertebrates within 1000 ft, from 5/1-8/31 (p. 51) 

 Rogue River Shellfish only (p. 46) 

Curry County Rivers No food fish (p. 46) 

Brookings Research Reserve No commercial shellfish, marine invertebrates (p. 51) 

Harris Beach Marine Garden No shellfish, marine invertebrates (p. 50) 
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AREAS CLOSED TO COMMERCIAL FISHING 
(ORS 511.106-511.806) 

 
 In addition to closed seasons, the following waters are closed to commercial fishing: 
•  Rogue River — Closed to taking of all food fish except shellfish from Rogue River 

and its tributaries and within a radius of 1 mile from the center of the mouth of the 
Rogue River. 
•  Curry County Rivers — The following are closed to taking any food fish: Floras 

Creek, Hunters Creek, Sixes River, Pistol River, Elk River, Chetco River, Euchre 
Creek, and Winchuck River. 
•  Umpqua River — Unlawful to take sturgeon from the Umpqua River or any of its 

bays or tributaries. 
•  Nestucca Bay — Unlawful to take any food fish except shellfish from Nestucca Bay 

or any of its tributaries. 
•  Willamette River — Unlawful to take salmon, shad, striped bass or sturgeon from 

the Willamette River or any of its tributaries or sloughs. 
•  Columbia River — Unlawful to take food fish in all tributaries of the Columbia River 

(except Select Area commercial fisheries in Youngs Bay/River and Blind Slough/Gnat 
Creek), as well as within several sanctuary areas designated in OAR 635-042-0005. 

 
 

MARINE RESERVES AND MARINE PROTECTED AREAS 
(OAR 635-012) 

  
The following rules are true for all: 
 
Marine Reserves: Closed to the take of any fish, invertebrates or wildlife species. 

Persons may have catch onboard while transiting or anchoring in the marine reserve 
area. Persons may take fish and wildlife species if authorized under a valid 
scientific taking permit. Fishing gear shall not be deployed in the water at any time 
within the marine reserve area, except as allowed under a valid scientific taking 
permit. Fishing gear may be removed from these areas provided the retrieving skipper 
notifies the Oregon State Police (1-800-452-7888) and receives permission in 
advance. No fish or wildlife species from the retrieved gear shall be retained. Specific 
to crab pots, the vessel operator may re-set pots belonging to the retrieving vessel 
outside of the reserve area. If the pots do not belong to the retrieving vessel, the vessel 
operator must follow the retrieval requirements set forth in the Derelict Dungeness 
Crab Gear rules described on pages 35 and 36. 
 
Marine Protected Areas (MPAs): It is unlawful to fish for or take any legal species in 

the MPA while possessing onboard any species not allowed to be taken in the MPA 
or Seabird Protection Area. For list of species and gear types prohibited/allowed, see 
specific area MPA rule summaries in the sections that follow. 
 The following are summaries of the commercial fishing rules for each Marine Reserve 
and MPA (sites are listed from north to south). This summary does not replace the official 
regulatory language found in OAR 635-012. Boundary coordinates can be downloaded 
for navigation systems online at: oregonmarinereserves.com/rules. 
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• Cape Falcon Marine Reserve and MPAs: 

Marine Reserve: Closed to all take. See previous description (p. 46). 

West MPA: Take of salmon by troll and crab is allowed. All other take is prohibited. 

Shoreside MPA: No commercial take. 

Shoreline Area: Take above the low tide line is severely restricted along rocky 

shores south of the Shoreside MPA. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

• Cascade Head Marine Reserve and MPAs: 
Marine reserve: Closed to all take. See previous description (p 46). 

North MPA: Take of salmon by troll and crab is allowed. All other commercial take is 

prohibited. 

South MPA: Use of net gear is prohibited.  All other legal take is allowed. 

West MPA: Take of salmon by troll and crab is allowed.  All other take is prohibited. 

Shoreline Area: Take above the low tide line is severely restricted in the North MPA 

and in the Marine Reserve from the Roads End Headland north. 

 

Point Latitude Longitude 

A 45°48.00’ -123°58.10’ 

B 45°46.80’ -123°58.17’ 

C 45°44.00’ -123°56.77’ 

D 45°44.00’ -124°01.50’ 

E 45°48.00’ -124°01.50’ 

F 45°44.00’ -124°03.19’ 

G 45°44.31’ -124°03.50’ 

H 45°48.00’ -124°03.50’ 

Point Latitude Longitude 

A 45°02.00’ -124°00.52’ 

B 44°59.25’ -124°00.89’ 

C 44°59.25’ -124°04.50’ 

D 45°02.00’ -124°04.50’ 

E 45°02.00’ -124°05.00’ 

F 45°05.00’ -124°05.00’ 

G 45°05.00’ -124°00.40’ 

H 44°56.50’ -124°01.47’ 

I 44°56.50’ -124°05.00’ 

J 44°59.25’ -124°05.00’ 
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• Otter Rock Marine Reserve:
Marine Reserve: Closed to all take.  See previous description (p. 46)
Shoreline Area: Take above the low tide line is severely restricted in the Marine

Reserve from the Devils Punchbowl north.

• Cape Perpetua Marine Reserve and MPAs:

Marine Reserve: Closed to all take. See previous description (p. 46).

North MPA: Take of salmon by troll and crab is allowed. All other commercial take is

prohibited.

Southeast MPA:  Use of trawl gear is prohibited. Take of herring, sardine, anchovies,

smelt, sand lance, mackerels and market squid is prohibited.  All other legal take is
allowed.

Seabird Protection Area: Take of herring, sardine, anchovies, smelt, mackerels and

sand lance is prohibited. All other legal take is allowed.

Shoreline Area: Take above the low tide line is severely restricted along rocky shores

in the North MPA and in the Marine Reserve from Bob Creek north. 

Point Latitude Longitude 

A 44 
o
45.17’ -124 

o
03.86’

B 44 
o
43.31’ -124 

o
03.66’

C 44 
o
43.31’ -124 

o
04.20’

D 44 
o
45.17’ -124 

o
04.53’

Point Latitude Longitude 

A 44°17.00' -124°06.73'

B 44°13.50' -124°06.74'

C 44°13.50' -124°11.00'

D 44°17.00' -124°11.00'

E 44°17.00' -124°10.50'

F 44°20.00' -124°10.50'

G 44°20.00' -124°06.04'

H 44°05.75' -124°07.53'

I 44°05.75' -124°08.60'

J 44°13.50' -124°08.00'

K 44°05.75' -124°11.62'
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• Redfish Rocks Marine Reserve and MPA:

Marine Reserve:  Closed to all take.  See previous description (p. 46).

MPA: Take of salmon by troll and crab is allowed. All other take is prohibited.

SHELLFISH PRESERVES 

The following areas are closed to the take of clams: 
• Netarts Bay Shellfish Preserve (Netarts) – That portion within an area of Netarts Bay

bounded on the north by an east-west line extending from the mouth of Whiskey Creek
(45° 23.68’ N) and bounded on the south by an east-west line at 45° 24.71’ N running
parallel approximately 900 yards south of the northern boundary.

 Point Latitude Longitude 

A 42°42.96’ -124°27.78’

B 42°41.52’ -124°27.18’

C 42°41.16’ -124°28.86’

D 42°42.54’ -124°29.64’

E 42°40.25’ -124°32.50’

F 42°41.90’ -124°32.50’
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• Yaquina Bay Shellfish Preserve (Newport) – The intertidal area on the north 

side of the wood-piling breakwater, immediately south of the troller’s basin. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

MARINE GARDENS 
 

 The following areas between extreme high tide and extreme low tide are closed to 

the commercial take of shellfish and marine invertebrates: 
• Haystack Rock Marine Garden (Cannon Beach) – All areas lying within a 300-yard 

radius of the base of Haystack Rock. 
• Cape Kiwanda Marine Garden (Pacific City) – All areas lying between the sand 

beach on the north and the sand beach on the south of Cape Kiwanda. Includes rocky 
areas abutting the sand beaches on the north and south sides of the headland. 
• Otter Rock Marine Garden (north of Newport) – All areas lying between Cape 

Foulweather (Otter Rock State Wayside) on the north and Devil’s Punchbowl on the 
south. 
• Yaquina Head Marine Garden (north of Newport) – All areas lying between the 

sand beach on the north and the sand beach on the south of Yaquina Head. 
• Yachats Marine Garden (Yachats) – All areas lying between the north and 

south boundaries of Yachats State Park. 
• Cape Perpetua Marine Garden (south of Yachats) – All areas lying between the north 

side of Devil’s Churn on the north and the northerly boundary of Neptune State Park 
on the south. 
• Harris Beach Marine Garden (north of Brookings) – All areas lying between the 

Harris Beach State Park beach access parking area on the north and the road 
entrance to Harris Beach State Park off of Highway 101 on the south. 
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RESEARCH RESERVES 

 
 The following areas are closed to the commercial take of shellfish and marine 

invertebrates: 
• Boiler Bay Intertidal Research Reserve (Depoe Bay) – All areas between extreme 

high and extreme low tide lying from the mouth of Fogarty Creek on the north, to the 
western-most tip of Government Point at Boiler Bay State Wayside on the south. 
• Pirate   Cove   Research   Reserve    (Depoe Bay) – All areas in Pirate Cove below 

extreme high tide east of a line drawn across the mouth of the cove. 
• Neptune State Park Intertidal Research Reserve (south of Yachats) – All areas 

between extreme high tide and extreme low tide lying between the northerly and 
southerly boundaries of the northern parcel of Neptune State Park. 
• Gregory Point Subtidal Research Reserve (west of Charleston) – All subtidal 

areas within reserve boundaries below extreme low tide. 
• Cape Arago Intertidal Research Reserve (southwest of Charleston) - All areas 

between extreme high tide and extreme low tide lying between a line projected due 
west from the Cape Arago  lighthouse  and  a  point 3/4 mile south of Cape Arago 
State Park. 
• Brookings Intertidal Research Reserve (Brookings) – All areas between extreme 

high tide and extreme low tide lying between a point 1/2 mile north of Harris Beach State 
Park on the north, and the mouth of the Chetco River on the south (except that portion 
of the area within the Harris Beach Marine Gardens). 
 
 

HABITAT REFUGE 
 

 The following area is closed to the commercial take of marine fish, shellfish, and 

marine invertebrates: 
• Whale Cove Habitat Refuge (south of Depoe Bay) – All areas in Whale Cove 

below extreme high tide east of a line drawn across the mouth of the cove. 
 
 

OTHER CLOSURES 
 

• Pyramid Rock (Rogue Reef) – Closed to take of marine fish, shellfish, and marine 

invertebrates from 1000 feet around and including Pyramid Rock from May 1 through 
August 31. 
• Three Arch Rocks (seaward of Oceanside) – Closed to boats 500 feet around the 

main rocks May 1- September 15 by authority of the OSMB. 

 All of the islands and rocks exposed above mean high water along the Oregon 
coast are within the Oregon Islands National Wildlife Refuge or Three Arch Rocks 
National Wildlife Refuges administered by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. 

Trespassing is prohibited at all times. In addition, any disturbance of wildlife or the 
refuge from activities near the refuge rocks is also a violation of Federal laws. For 
more information, contact the Oregon Coast National Wildlife Refuge Manager at (541) 
867-4550. 
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Transportation Report for Commercially Caught Fish and Shellfish 

 
Caught By: Fisher’s Name/Address  Delivered to: Dealer’s Name/Address 

_______________________  _________________________ 

_______________________  _________________________ 

_______________________  _________________________ 

Commercial #: ___________  Commercial #: ___________ 

 

List each species below: 
 

Species: Number: Approx. Wt.(lbs.) 

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

 
ODFW no longer furnishes Transportation Report forms.  The required information may be 
on any convenient paper.  See OAR 635-006-0165 for additional requirements 

 

 Oregon 
Department 
of Fish and 
Wildlife 
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Transportation Report for Commercially Caught Fish and Shellfish 

 
Caught By: Fisher’s Name/Address  Delivered to: Dealer’s Name/Address 

_______________________  _________________________ 

_______________________  _________________________ 

_______________________  _________________________ 

Commercial #: ___________  Commercial #: ___________ 

 

List each species below: 
 

Species: Number: Approx. Wt.(lbs.) 

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

 
ODFW no longer furnishes Transportation Report forms.  The required information may be 
on any convenient paper.  See OAR 635-006-0165 for additional requirements 

 

 Oregon 
Department 
of Fish and 
Wildlife 
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Transportation Report for Commercially Caught Fish and Shellfish 

 
Caught By: Fisher’s Name/Address  Delivered to: Dealer’s Name/Address 

_______________________  _________________________ 

_______________________  _________________________ 

_______________________  _________________________ 

Commercial #: ___________  Commercial #: ___________ 

 

List each species below: 
 

Species: Number: Approx. Wt.(lbs.) 

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

 
ODFW no longer furnishes Transportation Report forms.  The required information may be 
on any convenient paper.  See OAR 635-006-0165 for additional requirements 

 

 Oregon 
Department 
of Fish and 
Wildlife 
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