
OREGON FURBEARER 

TRAPPING and HUNTING REGULATIONS 
 

July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2022 
 
 
 
 

Please Note: Major changes are underlined throughout this synopsis.
 

License Requirements 
Juveniles younger than 12 years of age are not required to purchase a 
license, except to hunt or trap bobcat and river otter.  However, they must 
register to receive a brand number through the Salem ODFW office.  To 
trap bobcat or river otter, juveniles must complete the trapper education 
course. Juveniles 17 and younger must have completed hunter education 
to obtain a furtaker’s license. 
 

Landowners must obtain either a furtaker’s license, a hunting license for 
furbearers, or a free license to take furbearers on land they own and on 
which they reside.  To receive the free license and brand number, the 
landowner must obtain from the Salem ODFW Headquarters office, a 
receipt of registration for the location of such land prior to hunting or 
trapping furbearing mammals on that land. 
 

Attention! Paperless Licenses are coming your way and your email 
address is needed. If you are a current participant in the ODFW Furbearer 
Program you will receive information in your license renewal packets. 
Email addresses can also be added by updating your account information 
on the Online Furtaker Harvest Report website. If you are new to the 
Furbearer Program at ODFW please contact License Services at          
(503) 947-6100 or go to ODFW.com for more information.  

 
 

Trapper Education Requirement 
By action of the 1985 Oregon Legislature, all trappers born after June 30, 
1968, and all first-time Oregon trappers of any age are required to 
complete an approved trapper education course. 
 

The study guide may be completed at home.  Testing will take place at 
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife (ODFW) offices throughout the 
state. A furtaker’s license will be issued by the Salem ODFW 
Headquarters office after the test has been successfully completed and 
mailed to Salem headquarters, and the license application with payment 
has been received. Course materials are available by writing or 
telephoning Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife, I&E Division, 4034 
Fairview Industrial Drive SE, Salem, OR 97302, (800) 720-6339 x76002. 
 

The course is not required of persons trapping on land owned or leased 
by that person, the person’s immediate family, or a person’s agent who is 
controlling damage to livestock or agricultural crops. 
 

Mandatory Annual Reporting 
Persons who were licensed, but did not fill out and return a completed 
Furtaker Harvest Report postmarked or submitted online by April 15, will 
not be issued a furtaker license for the following season unless they 
complete and return the late Harvest Report form and application with 
a $50.00 fee at time of renewal.

LICENSE AND TAG FEES 
 Furtakers need either a Furtaker’s License or a Hunting License 

for Furbearers. Licenses are available for sale on June 1. 

 A Furtakers License allows the holder to trap, hunt, and pursue. 

 A Hunting License for Furbearers allows the holder only to hunt and 
pursue. 

 A unique brand number will be issued to a person the first time they 
obtain a license. Like the Oregon Hunter/Angler ID number, the 
brand number is assigned to the individual furtaker for life. 

 A general hunting license does not allow the holder to trap, hunt or 
pursue furbearers, but only to hunt unprotected mammals (see 
definition on page 7). 

Resident Furtaker’s License   $54.50  Bobcat Record Card                                                    $37.50 
(Hunting License for Furbearers or Furtaker’s License required) 

Nonresident Furtaker’s License $407.00  River Otter Record Card                                              $37.50 
(Hunting License for Furbearers or Furtaker’s License required) 

Resident Hunting License for Furbearers   $26.00  Fur Dealer’s License $111.00 

Juvenile Furtaker’s License (Age 12-17)   $17.00  Juveniles Younger than 12 (See license requirements above) 

The above license and record card fees each include a $2.00 license agent fee. Further information on licenses and tags is available by writing or telephoning 
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife, Licensing Section, 4034 Fairview Industrial Drive SE, Salem, OR 97302, (503) 947-6101. 

 
 

TO REPORT WILDLIFE  

VIOLATORS CALL 

1-800-452-7888 or 

TIP@STATE.OR.US 

TIPs Can Remain Anonymous 
 

Curt Melcher, Director   
Oregon Department of Fish & Wildlife   
4034 Fairview Industrial Drive SE 
Salem, OR 97302 
(503) 947-6100 

                                                                                     

Oregon Fish and Wildlife Commission 
 

     Mary Wahl (Chair)…….…………….……………….….Langlois 
Greg Wolley………………………………………….…..Portland 
Mark Labhart..……………………………………..……...Sisters 
Robert Spelbrink……………………………………………Siletz 

     Jill Zarnowitz…………………………..………...……..…Yamhill 
 Becky Hatfield-Hyde………………………………………Paisley 

     Western Oregon …........................................................Vacant 
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GENERAL FURBEARER REGULATIONS 
 

Any person possessing a valid furtaker’s license or hunting license for furbearers is required to complete and return the Oregon Department of 
Fish and Wildlife Furtaker Harvest Report form, postmarked by April 15, 2021 for the 2020-2021 season and April 15, 2022 for the 2021-2022 
season.  Failure to do so will deny the license holder the opportunity to purchase a hunting license for furbearers or furtakers license for the 
following furbearer season unless the late Harvest Report form and application is submitted with a $50.00 fee at the time of renewal. 
 

General Regulations and Licensing 

 The appropriate Furtaker’s License or Hunting License for 
Furbearers must be in possession to hunt and/or trap 
furbearers or salvage roadkill. 

 It is unlawful to alter, borrow, loan or transfer to another person any 
license, permit or unused tag issued by the Commission. 

 Any person(s) acting as an agent for a landowner shall have in their 
possession written authority from the landowner or lawful occupant 
of the land.  Such written authority shall contain at least all of the 
following: 
1. The date of issuance of the authorization; 
2. The name, address and telephone number of the person granting 

the authorization; 
3. The name, address and telephone number of the person whom the 

authorization is granted, and 
4. The expiration date of the authorization, which shall be not later 

than one year from the date of issuance of the authorization. 

 
Furbearer Hunting 

 No person shall hunt any wildlife from a motor propelled vehicle.  
Exception: Landowners or agents hunting predatory animals on land 
they own or lawfully occupy, or a qualified disabled hunter may 
obtain an Oregon Disabilities Hunting and Fishing Permit to hunt 
from a motor vehicle except while the vehicle is in motion or on any 
public road or highway. 

 Bobcat, opossum and raccoon may be hunted with the aid of an 
artificial light provided the light is not cast from or attached to a motor 
vehicle or boat. 

 Use of dogs is permitted to hunt or pursue bobcat, raccoon, fox, and 
unprotected mammals. 

 It is unlawful to waste the pelt of any furbearer except when 
authorized by the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife. 

 
Traps and Trapping 

 All traps and snares, whether set for furbearing or unprotected 
mammals, must be legibly marked or branded with the owner’s 
license number that has been assigned by the Oregon Department 
of Fish and Wildlife; except that unmarked traps or snares may be 
set for unprotected mammals by any person or member of their 
immediate family upon land that they lawfully own. 

 No branded trap or snare may be sold unless accompanied by a 
uniform bill of sale. 

 It is unlawful for any person to trap for furbearers, predatory animals, 
and/or unprotected mammals using: 
1. A steel foothold trap with a jaw spread greater than nine (9) inches. 
2. A No. 3 or larger longspring foothold trap or any foothold trap with 

an inside jaw spread at dog greater than six inches (6”) not having 
a jaw spacing of at least 3/16 of one inch when the trap is sprung 
(measurement excludes pads on padded jaw traps) and when the 
set is not capable of drowning the trapped animal. 

3. Flesh of any game bird, game fish or game mammal for trap bait. 
4. Any killing trap having a jaw spread of seven and one half inches 

(7.5”) or more in any land set except when authorized by the 
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife. 

5. Any toothed trap or trap with a protuberance of the facing edge of 
the jaws that is intended to hold the animal, except pads on padded 
jaw traps. 

6. Or possessing the branded traps or snares of another unless in 
possession of written permission from the person to whom the 
brand is registered. 

7. Sight bait within 15 feet of any foothold trap set for carnivores. 

 On state or federal lands, except when authorized by the Oregon 
Department of Fish and Wildlife, no traps or snares may be set on 
land: 
1. Within 50 feet of any public trail (see definition on page 7); 
2. Within 300 feet of any trailhead that is designated and maintained 

as such by the public land management agency and is accessible 
to vehicular traffic (see definition on page 7);  

3. Within 300 feet of any public campground or picnic area 
designated and maintained as such by the public land 
management agency on the most current official map of the 
agency; or 

4. Within 500 feet of the center of the mouth of an Oregon 
Department of Transportation wildlife crossing structure located 
between US Highway 97 mile posts 149 and 153. 

 An artificial light may be used to provide light to aid in the dispatch 
of animals legally restrained in a trap or snare. 

 It is unlawful to disturb or remove the traps or snares of any licensed 
trapper while that person is trapping on public lands or on other land 
by landowner’s permission.  

 It is unlawful for any person to damage or destroy any muskrat house 
at any time except where such muskrat house is an obstruction to a 
private or public ditch or watercourse. 

 The use of traps or snares suspended in trees is prohibited in the 
Siskiyou and Siuslaw National Forests. 

 The general furbearer regulations do not apply to the trapping of 
gophers, moles, ground squirrels and mountain beaver (boomer). 

 REMINDER: The Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) 
Oregon Administrative Rule 374.305 prohibits the public from 
trapping on ODOT property without first obtaining written permission 
from ODOT. This includes ODOT highway right-of-ways. 

 
Trap Check Requirements 

 All traps or snares set or used for the taking of furbearing or 
unprotected mammals shall be inspected at least every 48 hours and 
all trapped animals removed. 

 Any person setting a trap for predatory animals, as defined in ORS 
610.002, must check the trap as follows: 
1. For killing traps and snares, at least once every 30 days and 

remove all animals; 
2. For restraining traps and snares, at least once every 76 hours and 

remove all animals. 
3. For restraining traps and snares set by a person owning, leasing, 

occupying, possessing or having charge of or dominion over any 
land, building, structure, wharf, pier or dock or their agent, and set 
for predatory animals damaging land, livestock or agricultural or 
forest crops, shall be checked at least once every seven (7) days. 
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ADDITIONAL NOTES 

Fisher Conservation 

 Fisher are listed as a Conservation Strategy Species in Oregon and there is no open season. Numerous fisher research projects are 

underway in the Klamath Plateau and Cascade and Siskiyou Mountains.  Please assist in the conservation of this species by reporting 

observations of fisher or their tracks to ODFW. 

 Non-federal landowners in western Oregon, including Oregon Department of Forestry, private timberland owners, and others, have or 

may be in the process of acquiring permits from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) for a Candidate Conservation Agreement 

with Assurances (CCAA) for fisher in Oregon.  This agreement requires landowners to implement conservation measures to aid in 

fisher conservation and in return, safeguards these landowners from additional restrictions should the fisher be listed under the 

federal Endangered Species Act.  One component of the CCAA is to restrict trapping activities near known, occupied fisher dens.  In 

order for landowners to be in compliance with the CCAA, trappers should communicate with them if they intend to trap on those lands 

during fisher denning period (March 15 to September 30). 

Trap Jaw Spread Measurement 

 

    

 

ONLINE RESOURCES 

ODFW Furbearer Program 

www.dfw.state.or.us/resources/hunting/small_game/ 

Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies - Furbearer Management Resources 

www.fishwildlife.org/afwa-inspires/furbearer-management 

Pelt Handling Manuals 

Fur Harvesters Auction Inc.  

www.furharvesters.com/pdf/pelthandling.pdf 

 

 

 

 

Possession and Sale 

 Any person may sell or exchange the hide, carcass or any part 
thereof of any legally taken furbearing or unprotected animal. 

 A licensed furtaker may sell or exchange, and any person may 
purchase, road-killed furbearers or unprotected mammals, provided 
that: 
1. The road-kill is taken by a licensed furtaker during an 

authorized season for hunting or trapping the species, and;  
2. The sale is made by the licensed furtaker who took the road-

kill. 

 When any furbearer or raw furbearer pelt is transferred to the 
possession of another person, a written record indicating the name 
and address of the person from whom the raw pelt was obtained 
shall accompany such transfer and remain with same so long as 
preserved in raw pelt form.  

 Any person may purchase unprocessed furbearing or unprotected 
mammal pelts, provided that such pelts are purchased from the 
furtaker who legally took the furbearer and that the pelts are 
purchased for personal use and not for resale.  For any furbearer 
pelt purchased under this section, the purchaser must retain a record 
of the furtaker’s brand. 

 No person, except a licensed furtaker during an authorized season, 
shall possess or transport any furbearer or part thereof, which has 
been road-killed, found or killed for humane reasons, unless they 
have notified and received permission from personnel of the Oregon 
State Police or the Department of Fish and Wildlife prior to 
transporting. 
 

 
   

GENERAL FURBEARER REGULATIONS 

Foothold- Measure the inside 

of the jaw at the dog to the 

opposite inside jaw. 

 

Killing Trap- Measure the  

jaw spread by measuring 

inside jaw to inside jaw.  

(ConibearTM type trap shown) 

http://www.dfw.state.or.us/resources/hunting/small_game/
http://www.fishwildlife.org/afwa-inspires/furbearer-management
http://www.furharvesters.com/pdf/pelthandling.pdf
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HARVEST SEASONS 
 

Species Open Seasons Open Areas and Special Regulations 

Bobcat December 1 through February 28 
WESTERN OREGON: No bag limit. All counties west of the 
summit of the Cascades, except Klamath and Hood River 
Counties. See page 5 for special bobcat regulations. 

 December 1 through February 28 

EASTERN OREGON: Bag Limit: Five (5) bobcats. All counties 
east of the summit of the Cascades, including all of Klamath 
and Hood River Counties. See page 5 for special bobcat 
regulations. 

Gray Fox and Red Fox October 15 through February 28 Entire state 

Marten 
 

November 1 through January 31 

Areas east of Interstate 5. The Department requests that 
furtakers provide marten carcasses and the date, location of 
harvest, and sex be turned in to the local ODFW office prior to 
March 1, following each season.  Furtaker cooperation is critical 
for successful future management of this species. 

Muskrat and Mink November 15 through March 31 Entire state 

Raccoon November 15 through March 15 Entire state 

River Otter November 15 through March 15 
Entire state except for all areas closed to beaver trapping (see 
below).  See page 5 for special river otter regulations. 

Fisher, Ringtail, Wolverine, Kit 
Fox, Canada lynx, and Sea Otter 

Closed season entire year. 
Any incidental capture or other forms of take must be reported 
to ODFW within 48 hours. 

Badger, Coyote, Nutria, Opossum, 
Porcupine, Spotted Skunk, Striped 
Skunk, and Weasel 

Open season entire year. 
Requires appropriate Furtaker’s License to trap (also allows 
hunting), or appropriate Hunting License for Furbearer’s or 
general Hunting License to hunt these species. 

Beaver 
November 15 through March 15 in 
the described areas below. 

See below. 

Attention Coastal Beaver Trappers:  ODFW requests your continued cooperation in protecting beaver dams in coastal areas important to 
Coho salmon rearing.  If you are not familiar with this program, which was initiated in 1998, please contact your local ODFW biologist.  Field 
offices are listed on page 6. 

AREAS OPEN TO BEAVER HARVEST: 
 
Clackamas County: All areas open except the Mt. Hood National 
Forest. 
 
Crook County: All areas open except Prineville Reservoir (high water 
line) and the Ochoco National Forest. 
 
Curry County: All areas open except the Rogue River from the east 
county line to the mouth. 
 
Grant County: All areas open except the Ochoco National Forest; 
Murderers Creek and Deer Creek tributaries of the South Fork John Day 
River, within the Malheur National Forest. 
 
Jefferson County: All areas open except Willow Creek and its 
tributaries on the Crooked River National Grasslands. 
 
Josephine County: All areas open except the Rogue River from the 
confluence of Grave Creek downstream to the county line. 
 
 

Union County: All areas open except within National Forests; Grande 
Ronde River above Beaver Creek, and all tributaries of the Grande 
Ronde River above the confluence of Five Points Creek.  Private 
inholdings within the National Forest remain open. 
 
Wallowa County: All areas open except Peavine Creek; Minam River 
and tributaries; Wallowa River and tributaries above Wallowa Lake; and 
Lostine River, Hurricane Creek and Bear Creek and their tributaries 
above the Wallowa-Whitman National Forest boundary. 
 
Wheeler County: All areas open except the Ochoco National Forest 
and Bridge Creek and its tributaries on Bureau of Land Management 
lands. 
 
Other Counties: All of the following counties are open in their entirety: 
Baker, Benton, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Deschutes, Douglas, Gilliam, 
Harney, Hood River, Jackson, Klamath, Lake, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, 
Malheur, Marion, Morrow, Multnomah, Polk, Sherman, Tillamook, 
Umatilla, Wasco, Washington and Yamhill. 
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PURSUIT SEASONS (STATEWIDE) 

 
During open Pursuit Seasons no animals shall be killed except during authorized open harvest seasons.  A record card must be in 
possession to harvest bobcat.  A Furtaker’s License or Hunting License for Furbearers must be in possession to hunt or pursue. 
 

Bobcat Pursuit Season September 1 through February 28   

Fox Pursuit Season September 1 through February 28   

Raccoon Pursuit Season September 1 through March 15 

SPECIAL BOBCAT and RIVER OTTER REGULATIONS 

Bobcat-River Otter Record Card 
 

1. Each person desiring to take bobcat or river otter must secure a bobcat 
or river otter record card prior to hunting, trapping, or roadkill salvage. 

 

2. Bobcat record cards will be available for a fee of $37.50 per card. 
 

3.     River otter cards will be available for a fee of $37.50 per card. 
 

4. Record cards will be available at the Salem ODFW Headquarters and 
the Bend, Clackamas, La Grande and Roseburg offices of the Oregon 
Department of Fish and Wildlife. 

 

5. Each western Oregon bobcat record card will have spaces for recording 
15 bobcats.  No limit on purchase of western Oregon bobcat record 
cards. 

 

6. Each statewide Oregon bobcat record card will have spaces for 
recording five (5) bobcats.  No more than one card for statewide Oregon 
bobcats will be issued to any furtaker or furbearer hunter. 

 

7. No person may purchase or possess both statewide and western 
Oregon bobcat record cards. 
 

8. River otter cards will have spaces for recording 15 river otter. No limit 
on purchase of river otter record cards. 
 

9. Upon coming into possession of any bobcat or river otter, the furtaker 
who killed the animal shall immediately write on their record card the 
species, sex, date of possession and county of harvest. 

 

10. Each furtaker must have the appropriate record card in possession while 
trapping or hunting bobcat or river otter. 

 

11. Furtakers shall not have record cards other than their own on their 
person or in their possession while in the field or in transit. 

 

12. Duplicate cards will be issued, but no more than five (5) statewide 
Oregon bobcats may be taken in a season. 

 

13. Bobcat and river otter record cards will not be sold after the end of their 
respective seasons. 

 

14. Fees paid for unused record cards will not be refunded.  
 

15. It is illegal to alter or be in possession of an altered record card. 

16. The record card must be retained until disposal of raw pelts. 

17. Record cards do not need to be submitted with the Furtaker Report.               

Additional Regulations 
 
1. Raw pelts taken prior to September 1, 1982 may not be sold unless they 

were metal sealed by the Oregon State Police or Oregon Department of 
Fish and Wildlife prior to that date. 
 

2. Those persons failing to comply with Special Bobcat and River Otter 
Regulations may be subject to penalties provided in ORS 496.992 and 
may not be issued a license for the following furbearer season. 

 

To Qualify for Ownership Tag 
 
1. The lower jawbone, including both canine teeth, must be surrendered to 

the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife and information on sex, date 
of catch, and county of harvest must be attached to each individual 
Oregon bobcat and river otter jaw to qualify for ownership tags. 

 
2. A record card with required species, sex, date of possession and county 

must be presented to obtain ownership tag. 

 

Ownership Tag 
 
1. The ownership tag will be affixed by Oregon Department of Fish and 

Wildlife personnel at district and regional offices and shall remain so 
affixed while the pelt is in raw form. 
 

2.  May be used as a foreign export tag. 
 
3. Authorizes the holder to sell one bobcat or river otter. 
 
4. Each person must have an ownership tag affixed to their bobcat or river 

otter pelt at an Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife district or 
regional office within five (5) business days after the season ends. A list 
of department offices is on page 6.  Tagging is by appointment only. 

 
5. It shall be illegal to possess a harvested bobcat or river otter after five 

(5) business days following the season closure without an ownership 
tag. 

 

6. It shall be illegal to sell or remove from the state a harvested bobcat or 
river otter pelt without the respective year’s ownership tag. 
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LOCATIONS TO OBTAIN BOBCAT AND RIVER OTTER OWNERSHIP TAGS 

 

Tagging Deadlines:  Each person must have an ownership tag affixed to their bobcat or river otter pelt by Oregon Department of Fish 
and Wildlife within five (5) business days after the season ends.  Tagging is by appointment only.  
 

LOCATION OFFICE ADDRESS PHONE NOTES 

BAKER CITY 
2995 Hughes Lane 
Baker City, OR 97814 

(541) 523-5832  

BEND 
61374 Parrell Road 
Bend, OR 97702 

(541) 388-6363 
Tagging on Mondays 
 10:00 am to 4:00 pm 

CENTRAL POINT 
1495 Gregory Road 
Central Point, OR 97502 

(541) 826-8774  

CHARLESTON 
63538 Boat Basin Drive 
PO Box 5003, Charleston, OR 97420 

(541) 888-5515  

CLACKAMAS 
17330 SE Evelyn Street 
Clackamas, OR 97015 

(971) 673-6000  

CORVALLIS* 
7118 NE Vandeberg Avenue 
Corvallis, OR 97330-9446 

(541) 757-4186 
*Adair Village- 8 miles north of 
Corvallis on US 99W 

ENTERPRISE 
65495 Alder Slope Road 
Enterprise, OR 97828 

(541) 426-3279  

GOLD BEACH 
29907 Airport Way 
Gold Beach, OR 97444 

(541) 247-7605  

HEPPNER 
54173 Hwy 74, Box 363 
Heppner, OR 97836 

(541) 676-5230  

HINES 
237 Hwy 20 South, PO Box 8 
Hines, OR 97738 

(541) 573-6582  

JEWELL MEADOWS 
WILDLIFE AREA 

79878  Hwy 202 
Seaside, OR 97138 

(503) 755-2264  

JOHN DAY 
305 N Canyon City Blvd. 
Canyon City, OR 97820 

(541) 575-1167  

KLAMATH FALLS 
1850 Miller Island Road, West 
Klamath Falls, OR 97603 

(541) 883-5732  

LA GRANDE 
107 20th Street 
La Grande, OR 97850 

(541) 963-2138 
Tagging on Mondays 
8:00 am to 5:00 pm 

LAKEVIEW 
18560 Roberta Rd 
Lakeview, OR 97630 

(541) 947-2950  

NEWPORT 
2040 SE Marine Science Drive 
Newport, OR 97365 

(541) 867-4741  

ONTARIO 
3814 Clark Blvd. 
Ontario, OR 97914  

(541) 889-6975  

PENDLETON 
73471 Mytinger Lane 
Pendleton, OR 97801 

(541) 276-2344  

PRINEVILLE 
2042 SE Paulina Highway 
Prineville, OR 97754 

(541) 447-5111  

ROSEBURG 
4192 N Umpqua Hwy 
Roseburg, OR 97470 

(541) 440-3353 
Tagging on Mondays 
8:00 am to 5:00 pm 

SAUVIE ISLAND 
18330 NW Sauvie Island Road 
Portland, OR 97231 

(503) 621-3488  

SPRINGFIELD 
3150 East Main Street 
Springfield, OR 97478 

(541) 726-3515  

SUMMER LAKE 
53447 Hwy 31 
Summer Lake, OR 97640 

(541) 943-3324  

THE DALLES 
3701 West 13th 
The Dalles, OR 97058 

(541) 296-4628 
Tagging on Mondays 
8:00 am to 12:00 pm 

TILLAMOOK 
4907 3rd Street 
Tillamook, OR 97141 

(503) 842-2741  

WHITE RIVER  
WILDLIFE AREA 

7830 Dodson Rd 
Tygh Valley, OR 97063 

(541) 544-2126  
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SPECIAL AREA TRAPPING AND HUNTING REGULATIONS 
 

The following areas are closed to all trapping and hunting referred to in these regulations except as authorized by special permit: 
 

 Denman Wildlife Area 

 E. E. Wilson Wildlife Area 

 Enterprise Wildlife Area south of 
U.P. Railroad, Marr Tract 

 Fern Ridge Wildlife Area 

 Irrigon Wildlife Area 

 Jewell Meadows Wildlife Area  

 Klamath Wildlife Area 

 Ladd Marsh Wildlife Area 

 Rimrock Springs Wildlife Area 

 Sauvie Island Wildlife Area 

 Summer Lake Wildlife Area 

 St. Louis Ponds 

 Tillicum Natural Area  

 McDonald Forest  
(Oregon State University) 

 Oregon Dunes National 
Recreation Area  
(closed to trapping only) 

 Federal refuges 

 North Bank Habitat 
Management Area (BLM) 

 Metolius Wildlife Refuge 

 Public campgrounds 

 National, state and  
public parks 

 Cemeteries 

 City and municipal 
watersheds now in refuge 

 Within city boundaries  

 School lands 

Exceptions: Furbearers and unprotected mammals may be trapped and hunted in state refuges (except those listed above as closed to all 
hunting or trapping) during open harvest seasons between November 1 and March 31. 
 

DEFINITIONS 

 
EASTERN OREGON:  All counties east of the summit of the Cascades, including 
all of Klamath and Hood River Counties. 
 

FURBEARERS or FURBEARING MAMMALS:  Beaver, bobcat, fisher, marten, 
mink, muskrat, river otter, raccoon, red fox and gray fox.  For any person owning, 
leasing, occupying, possessing or having charge or dominion over any land (or 
an agent of this person) who is taking or attempting to take beaver or muskrat on 
that property, these two species are considered to be predatory animals. 
 

HUNT:  Take or attempt to take any wildlife by means involving the use of a 
weapon or with the assistance of any mammal or bird. 
 

KILLING TRAP:  A device used to kill a mammal as part of a killing trap system.  
A killing trap system is a system set with the intent to kill a mammal comprising a 
combination of:  equipment (the trap and trigger configuration), and set (including 
site modifications, lures, baits, location and other relevant requirements). 
 

LAND SET:  Is any set with a trap or snare other than a water set. 
 

PREDATORY ANIMALS:  Include coyotes, feral swine, rabbits, rodents, and 
birds (excluding game birds) which are or may be destructive to agricultural crops, 
products and activities. (See Unprotected Mammals definition to learn which 
Predatory Animals are classified as unprotected mammals on public land. Note: 
For these regulations, coyotes are unprotected mammals on public land. ) 
 

PUBLIC TRAIL:  Any trail designated, maintained, mapped and marked by any 
state or federal land management agency on the most current official map of the 
agency; for the purposes of trapping, water way, water trails designated for 
floating craft and public roadways are not considered a “public trail”. 
 

RAW PELT:  Any pelt that has not been processed or converted to any usable 
form beyond initial cleaning, stretching and drying. 
 

RESIDENT:  A person who has resided in Oregon for at least six (6) consecutive 
months immediately prior to the date of making application for a license, tag or 
permit.  Resident license and tags may also be purchased by:   
 

1.  Members of the Armed Forces of the United States who: 
 Are permanently assigned to active duty in their state, and their spouse 

and dependent children. 

 Reside in this state while assigned to duty at any base, station, shore 
establishment or other facility in this state. 

 Reside in this state while serving as members of the crew of a shop that 
has an Oregon port or shore establishment as its home port or permanent 
station. 

 Reside in a foreign country and establish Oregon residency by filing 
Oregon state income taxes no later than 12 months before leaving active 
duty. 

 Armed Forces includes Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps and Coast 
Guard, or their reserve components; the National Guard or Oregon 
National Guard. 

2.  Aliens attending school in Oregon under a foreign student exchange program. 

RIVER:  The portion of a natural water body lying below the level of bankfull stage. 
Bankfull stage means the stage or elevation at which overflow of the natural banks 
or a stream or body of water begins to inundate the upland. 
 
RESTRAINING TRAP:  A device used to capture and restrain (but not kill) a 
mammal as part of a restraining trap system.  A restraining trap system is a 
system set with the intent to capture and restrain (but not kill) a mammal 
comprising a combination of: equipment (the trap and the trigger configuration), 
and set (including site modification, lures, baits, location and other relevant 
requirements.) 
 
SIGHT BAIT:  Exposed flesh bait including whole animal carcasses within 15 feet 
of any foothold trap set for carnivores. 
 
TAKE:  To kill or obtain possession or control of any wildlife. 
 
TRAILHEAD:  “Trailhead”, for the purposes of trapping, is the area beginning at 
the sign marking the origin of a public trail or segment of trail which is designated, 
maintained, mapped, and marked by at least one visible sign and includes any 
adjacent improved graveled or paved vehicle parking lot.  The standard shoulder 
of the road is not considered part of the trailhead.  Trailheads are marked by at 
least one visible sign posted by the responsible state or federal land management 
agency and identified on the most current official map of the agency.  A trailhead 
does not include junctions between trails (posted or not) where there is no 
motorized vehicle access, or intersections where a trail crosses a road, or 
locations where users have developed an access point, but no improvements 
have been provided beyond minimal signage for public safety. 

UNPROTECTED MAMMALS: Badger, coyote, gophers, moles, mountain 
beaver, nutria, opossum, porcupine, spotted skunk, striped skunk, weasel and 
yellow-bellied marmot.  For any person owning, leasing, occupying, possessing 
or having charge or dominion over any land (or an agent of this person) who is 
taking or attempting to take coyote, gopher, mountain beaver (boomer), marmot, 
nutria, or porcupine on that property, these six species are considered to be 
predatory animals. 
 
WATER SET:  “Water set” is any trap or snare originally set within a permanent 
water source or a seasonal water source when water is present, such that at least 
a portion of the trap jaws or snare loop is submerged.  If water levels fluctuate, 
any killing trap with a jaw spread of 9" or more originally set in a water set must 
be removed or adjusted such that at least a portion of the trap jaws are submerged 
at the next required trap-check except in tidally influenced areas when set below 
the mean high water mark. 
 
WESTERN OREGON:  All counties west of the summit of the Cascades except 
Klamath and Hood River Counties. 
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FURTAKER HARVEST REPORT INFORMATION. 

UPDATE: ODFW created an online reporting system that allows licensed furtakers to submit their Furtaker 

Harvest Report online.  Submitting a paper report is still an option, although online submission is preferred.  Be 
sure to include your email address in your furtaker license application and Harvest Report to receive email 
confirmation that your report has been received. 

This section contains information on how to complete your Furtaker Harvest Report Form.  If you have any questions please contact 
the Furbearer Program Coordinator at (503) 947-6301. If you lose your form, a new one can be found on the ODFW Website: 
https://myodfw.com/articles/furbearer-trapping-and-hunting. Faxed reports can be sent to (503) 947-6330. 

YOUR FURTAKER HARVEST REPORT PROVIDES VALUABLE INFORMATION TO ENSURE  
SOUND MANAGEMENT OF OREGON’S FURBEARERS 

 

Harvest Report Instructions: 
 
1. Print your name, brand number, and email. 
2. If you did not participate in any of the seasons, and did not pick up any road kills, check the box “I Did Not Hunt or Trap” and mail 

the report form.  Check the ODFW Website to see if inline reporting has become an option. 
3. If you participated in any season you must complete the form as follows, even if you did not harvest an animal. 
 

a) County: Enter the county of harvest next to the appropriate species.  If you need space for additional counties please attach 
additional form(s). 

 
b) Harvest: Enter the total number harvested in each county by method of harvest. If harvest is zero, put 0.  If an animal was 

released from a trap or hunted/treed but not harvested, enter that number in the Number Released column and not the 
Number Harvested column.  

 

c) Nights trapped and days hunted should be reported for target species only, even if you were unsuccessful.   Also report 
the average number of traps set each night.  Please refer to the examples on the following page.  

 
d) Pursuit Season: Record activity anytime you pursue, even if you have no intention of harvesting an animal. 

 
e) Road Kills: Record all road-killed furbearers or unprotected mammals that you take into possession. 

 

Example  
The next page is an example of how to fill out the Furtaker Harvest Report. 

 This furtaker trapped 12 beaver in Lane County and 8 in Douglas County.  Traps were set in each county for 23 days. 

 The furtaker averaged 21 traps in Lane County and 16 traps in Douglas County each night he trapped. 

 They spent 6 days with an average of 6 traps set per night trying to trap gray fox in Polk County. 

 The furtaker had hounds and hunted bobcat and raccoon in 2 counties over 4 days during the season.  They recorded the 
days spent in both counties for both species.  He treed and harvested 3 raccoon but did not tree nor harvest any bobcats. 

 They spent 2 days training their dogs during the pursuit season in Yamhill County.  They treed and released 2 bobcats. 

 They harvested 1 muskrat and 14 nutria in Lane County, but reported no effort because they were taken while beaver 
trapping. 

 One weekend was spent calling in coyotes in Lane County.  They called in and harvested 1 coyote. 

 The furtaker took a road-killed badger into possession in Umatilla County. 

 Two striped skunk were captured and released while attempting to trap gray fox in Polk County. 

https://myodfw.com/articles/furbearer-trapping-and-hunting
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   EXAMPLE 
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ATTENTION BOBCAT HUNTERS AND TRAPPERS 

 
In March 2000, the Canada Lynx was listed as threatened under the federal Endangered Species Act in 14 states, including 
Oregon.  There are no known lynx populations in Oregon at this time, however, individual lynx are known to disperse into 
Oregon occasionally.  

Although rare, the potential exists for Oregon bobcat trappers and hunters to encounter a lynx.  Trappers and hunters must 
know the difference between lynx and bobcat and their sign to avoid catching or killing a lynx.  Please contact ODFW should 
you see a lynx or its sign. 
 
                    LYNX                                                    BOBCAT 

 

 LYNX BOBCAT 
Coloration Gray to light brown. 

Spots light or absent. 
Highly variable, range silver to reddish 
brown. 
Spotting on belly and legs. 

Tail Entire tip black, no barring. Tip black on top only, light underneath, 
usually barred on top. 

Feet Appear too large for size of the 
animal. 

Proportional to size of animal. 

Appearance Hind legs disproportionately 
long, resulting in stooped 
appearance. 

Shoulders and hips often on same 
plane. In winter, can have stocky 
appearance when belly fur is long. 

 
 
Recommendations to Avoid Lynx in Trap Sets 

 Do not set traps or snares for bobcats where lynx tracks are observed  
or lynx are known to be present.  

 Use a #2 or smaller foothold trap, or padded #3 foothold trap.  

 Make marten sets on leaning poles no larger than 6 inches in diameter with  
trap and bait placed at least three feet above the ground or snow level.  

 Do not suspend flags or sight-attractants near traps.  

 Use tainted baits and avoid using parts of rabbits or hares as baits.  
 

Preventing Injury and Releasing Lynx from Traps  

 Check your traps frequently on a regular basis and carry a catchpole to release lynx and other non-target species.  

 Stake the trap so that a lynx cannot get entangled around a solid object (even a small sapling) after being captured.  

 Traps should have tethering chains no longer than 18 inches and chains should include at least two swivels. 

 Trappers must contact ODFW within 48 hours to report the observation. 

LYNX 

TRACK COMPARISON 

BOBCAT 

Note:   

Lynx tracks are similar in size to cougar.  

Pad impressions are less distinct on lynx 

due to heavy fur on feet. 

Track data: Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks, 1999 
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Best Management Practices for Trapping (BMPs) 
WHAT?  

 Based on sound-science and research, BMPs have been developed for over 20 years to inform people about traps 
and trapping systems considered to be state of the art in animal welfare and efficiency.  

WHY?  

 BMPs identify practical traps and trapping techniques that continue to improve efficiency selectivity, and the 

welfare of trapped animals.  

 BMPs provide specifications for traps that meet BMP criteria for individual species in various regions of the United 

States.   

 Through the use of BMP guidelines, trappers can continue to play an important role in  

furbearer management programs across the United States. 

WHERE?    

 BMPs can be found online at the Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies (AFWA)  

Website: www.fishwildlife.org/afwa-inspires/furbearer-management. 

  

 

 

TRAPPER’S CODE OF ETHICS 

This code of ethics was created in a joint effort by Oregon Trappers Association and 
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife. 

1. Set traps only in appropriate locations.  Avoid setting traps near high public use areas such as hiking trails, campgrounds, or 
parks. 

2. Help educate and mentor inexperienced trappers in safe, humane, ethical and effective trapping methods and the attitudes and 
skills essential to be a responsible outdoors person. 

3. On private property, act as an invited guest of the landowner, seeking their permission and conducting one’s self so as to be 
welcome in the future.  On public property, respect the land and acknowledge that multiple public uses occur on that land. 

4. Promote trapping methods that reduce the possibility of catching non-target animals.  Release domestic pets promptly and notify 
the owner or proper authorities when possible. 

5. Obey all wildlife laws and regulations, such as trap-check requirements, and insist that other trappers do likewise. 
6. Respect the area and do not tamper with the equipment of other trappers. 
7. Know and use proper methods of releasing and humanely dispatching animals. 
8. Dispose of animal carcasses properly.  
9. Handle furs with care to avoid waste. 
10. Strive to maintain a good relationship and act as a professional with other outdoor users and the general public at all times. 
11. Support and promote furbearer conservation efforts that will assure good trapping for future generations of Americans. 
12. Be sensitive to the fact that some individuals find some aspects of trapping disturbing and do not display offensive photographs, 

carcasses, or other items. 
13. Stay current with the most up to date methods of humane, target specific and ethical trapping techniques available, including Best 

Management Practices. 
14. Assist landowners who are having problems with predators and other furbearers that have become a nuisance. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.fishwildlife.org/afwa-inspires/furbearer-management
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WOLVES IN OREGON: WHAT TRAPPERS NEED TO KNOW 

 

Differences in Appearance between Wolves and Coyotes 
 

SPECIES WOLF COYOTE 
Weight (lbs.) 70-120 lbs. 20-35 lbs. 

Height at Shoulder 26-34 inches. 16-20 inches. 

Coloration Black, white, all shades of gray and tan, grizzled.  
Never spotted. 

All shades of gray and tan; white or black very rare. 
Never spotted. 

Tail Hangs down or straight out; never curls. Hangs down or straight out; never curls. 

General Appearance Massive, long legged.  First impression at long 
distance is often calf or deer. 

Delicate, medium size, dog-like proportions with foxlike 
face. 

Ears Rounded, relatively short; never hang down. Pointed, relatively long; never hang down. 

Muzzle Large and blocky. Long and pointed. 

Track 4 ½ - 5 inches long with claws. 2-3 inches long with claws. 

 

Gray wolves are managed and protected under the Oregon Wolf 
Conservation and Management Plan and associated technical rules. 
Also, west of Oregon Highways 395/78/95, wolves are federally listed as 
endangered under the federal Endangered Species Act and the U.S. Fish 
and Wildlife Service is the lead management agency.  
 
The 2019 Oregon minimum wolf population was 158 wolves.  Twenty-two 
packs were documented and nineteen of those packs met the criteria as 
breeding pairs.  During 2019, known wolf groups occurred in parts of 
Baker, Douglas, Grant, Jackson, Klamath, Lake, Lane, Morrow, Umatilla, 
Union, Wallowa, and Wasco Counties, but furtakers could observe 
wolves or wolf sign anywhere in Oregon.  Maps of areas of know wolf 
activity in Oregon are available at 
www.dfw.state.or.us/Wolves/population.asp.  If proper precautions are 
observed, wolf presence should not affect most trapping activities.  The 
following tips help minimize the risk of accidental capture. 
 
Avoid trapping in areas with common or recent wolf sign.  Learn how 
to identify wolf sign. Before setting coyote or other large furbearer traps, 
look for wolf sign in the area.  Wolves are highly mobile and can travel 
large distances daily.  However, trapping in areas with common or recent 
wolf sign increases the chance of accidental wolf capture. 

Actual Size 
Wolf Track – 4 ½” to 5” Long 

Improve coyote trapping systems to reduce the chance of capturing 
wolves or losing traps.  Smaller traps for coyotes (#3 or smaller) reduce 
the chance of holding a trapped wolf.  Double staking or cross pinning 
stakes (metal, 18-24 inches long) can prevent trap loss.  Wolves are 
strong enough to pull out shorter stakes, especially in soft ground.  Staked 
traps should have about eight inches (8”) or less of chain and a stout 
swivel system.  Reinforce links by welding if necessary. 
 
When using a drag system, use heavy drags and chains with stout 
swivels.  Make sure all links are welded and swivels are strong.  The 
drag system should be heavy enough to hold a 100+ pound animal.  Traps 
anchored to a drag should have a minimum of seven feet (7’) feet of chain.  
Reinforce links by welding if necessary. 
 
Use a high-quality snare with breakaways.  Snares should be well 
anchored and have a long cable.  Be mindful of where and how the snare 
is placed relative to obstacles such as logs, as these could entangle an 
animal caught incidentally, preventing the breakaway from working 
properly.  Again, avoid hanging snares on trails that have or have had 
wolf sign. 

Actual Size 
Coyote Track – 2” to 3” Long

REPORT WOLF ACTIVITY:   
Because of their knowledge of predators and animal sign, licensed trappers can play an important role in the conservation and management of wolves 
in Oregon.  Please report any wolf observations or sign online through ODFW’s web site (www.dfw.state.or.us/wolves) or by calling the department’s 
Wolf Coordinator at (541) 962-1850, or US Fish and Wildlife Service at (541) 786-3282.  Information such as the number and description of animals 
observed, track measurements, and other sign is extremely valuable to current wolf monitoring efforts.  By working cooperatively, ODFW can improve 
wolf location information while helping trappers avoid accidental capture. 
 

 IF A WOLF IS CAUGHT IN A TRAP, IMMEDIATELY CALL ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: 
ODFW Wolf Coordinator (541) 962-1850 or local ODFW office 

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (541) 786-3282 
Oregon State Police Dispatch Center (541) 664-4600 

http://www.decalsandstickers.co.uk/catalog/images/grey_wolf_tracks.jpg
http://www.decalsandstickers.co.uk/catalog/images/grey_wolf_tracks.jpg
https://dfw.state.or.us/Wolves/population.asp
http://www.dfw.state.or.us/wolves

