What if no classes are currently available on the system for a specific area?
Classes are added on a continual basis, as soon as volunteer instructors provide the information. Keep checking back for a class to be posted. You can also contact the area coordinator in the county where you plan to take the class to get an idea of when information will be posted. (Area coordinator contact information is listed with each county heading on the Hunter Education Classes or Field Days pages). At this time, there is no way to sign up to receive an alert when classes are posted.
When does class registration close?
As soon as classes are full or approximately one week before the class begins.
What if I need to change or cancel the class? Can I get a refund?
Contact ODFW’s hunter education department (503) 947-6028 to change classes. ODFW does not issue refunds.
Do I need to bring the receipt to class?
It’s a good idea to bring the receipt to class, but the instructor will have the names of all registered students, so bringing a receipt isn’t required.
Can I register for two students at once?
No. You will need to register and complete a purchase for each student individually.
How can I contact the instructor?
Instructor contact information is printed on the sales receipt.
What’s the difference between the classroom course and the independent study field day?
The conventional classroom course is 12-16 hours of in-class instruction. The independent field day course is for students doing the online or home study course; the field day takes 5-6 hours and includes live fire exercises.
I lost my receipt, where can I find information on the course I registered for?
Go online to the Hunter Education Classes or Field Days schedule. Courses are posted until they begin.
What if I can’t afford to take the class?
Call ODFW’s Hunter Education Department (503) 947-6028 to ask that the $10 fee be waived.
These programs are funded by the Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Act (Pittman-Robertson) and the Federal Aid in Sport Fish Restoration Act (Wallop-Breaux).
The Oregon Outdoor Skills Program is subject to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, Title IX of the Education Amendments 1972, the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and offers all persons the opportunity to participate in programs and activities regardless of race, color, national origin, age, sex or disability. No individual will be turned away from or otherwise be denied access to or benefit from, any program or activity on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, sex or disability. Complaints of discrimination should be sent to: Chief, Public Civil Rights Division, Department of the Interior, 1849 C Street NW, Washington, DC 20240.