The Oregon Seal Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife  
 » ODFW Home    » ODFW News Releases
About Us Fishing Hunting Viewing License/Regs Conservation Living With Wildlife Education
News Releases

Report hunt results by Jan. 31 - $25 penalty for not reporting deer and elk tags

Steve Kilness
Steve Kilness of Forest Grove, one of this year’s winners of the incentive tag, was able to take a large bull elk in the Saddle Mt Unit.
Photo courtesy Steve Kilness
Click on image to see larger.

January 7, 2016

SALEM, Ore.—Any hunter who purchased 2015 big game or turkey tags needs to report their hunt results by the deadline, which is Jan. 31, 2016 for most tags.

Hunters are required to report on each deer, elk, cougar, bear, pronghorn and turkey tag purchased—even if they were not successful or did not hunt. Sports Pac license holders need to report on each big game or turkey tag issued.

Hunters have two ways to report:

  • Online via or Hunters without Internet access who wish to report online can visit an ODFW office with a computer available for Hunter Reporting (ODFW field or regional offices in Adair Village/Corvallis, Bend, Clackamas, La Grande, Portland-Sauvie Island, Roseburg, Salem Headquarters, Springfield, Tillamook.)
  • By telephone: Call 1-866-947-6339 to talk to a customer service representative. Hours: 6 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Pacific Time, seven days a week.

Reporting deadlines are:

  • Jan. 31, 2016 for all 2015 hunts that end by Dec. 31, 2015
  • April 15, 2016 for all 2015 hunts that end between Jan. 1- March 31, 2016

Hunters need the following pieces of information to report, which takes just a couple of minutes:

  • Hunter/Angler ID number (located on ODFW licenses, tags and applications; this is a permanent number that stays the same from year-to-year)
  • The two digit Wildlife Management Unit (WMU) number of the Unit you hunted in most and the Unit you harvested an animal in if successful (see pages 78-79 of 2015 Big Game Regulations or Hunting Unit Maps webpage).
  • The total number of days hunted (including mentoring youth), the number of days hunted in the WMU hunted most, and the number of days hunted in the WMU you harvested an animal in if successful.

$25 penalty for not reporting deer and elk tags

Hunters who fail to report 2015 deer or elk tags on time will be penalized $25 when they purchase a 2017 hunting license. This penalty is assessed once, regardless of the number of unreported tags. 

As of Jan. 6, 2016, about 50% of elk tags, 48% of buck deer tags and 60% of antlerless deer tags had been reported.

“The information hunters provide is used when setting controlled hunt tag numbers and hunting seasons,” said ODFW Gvame Program Manager Tom Thornton. “We really appreciate hunters taking a few minutes of their time to complete the report.”

ODFW used to get this data through phone surveys but these became more difficult and expensive as hunters moved or screened their calls. The mandatory reporting program was put in place in 2007 so these calls could be phased out.

A penalty of $25 was added three years ago because even after several years promoting the program and providing incentives to report, only about 40 percent of tags were being reported on time. This rate was too low to for ODFW to even use the data.

After the penalty was implemented for 2012 tags, rates jumped to 80 percent or more. This has allowed ODFW to phase out its big game survey calls; the agency no longer makes these calls.

Chance to win special big game tag

Hunters that report on time are entered into a drawing to win a special big game tag. ODFW selects three names each year and the winners can choose a deer, elk or pronghorn tag. Hunters who win may hunt in an expanded hunt area and during an extended season, similar to auction and raffle tags that hunters can pay thousands for.

More information on mandatory reporting.




Michelle Dennehy
Oregon Fish and Wildlife
(503) 947-6022

facebook twitter youtube rss feed

About Us | Fishing | Crabbing & Clamming | Big Game Hunting | Game Bird Hunting | Wildlife Viewing | License / Regs | Conservation | Living with Wildlife | Education | Workday Login

ODFW Home | Driving Directions | Employee Directory | Social Media | | File Formats | Employee Webmail | ODFW License Agents | Accessibility

4034 Fairview Industrial Drive SE   ::   Salem, OR 97302   ::    Main Phone (503) 947-6000 or (800) 720-ODFW [6339]

Do you have a question or comment for ODFW? Contact ODFW's Public Service Representative at:
Share your opinion or comments on a Fish and Wildlife Commission issue at:
Do you need this information in an alternative format or language? Contact 503-947-6000 or click here.

   © ODFW. All rights reserved. This page was last updated: 01/07/2016 3:51 PM